The Mind of Bluesleepy

Good morning to YOU! 21 May 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 9:16 am

I check on Gracie every night before I get into my own bed. I have done it ever since I put her in her own room when she was six weeks old. I rub her back, put a blanket back over her, and tell her quietly that I love her, and I’ll see her in the morning.

Last night this is how I found her:

A girl after my own heart!!!

Can you see what she is hugging to her chest so tightly? It’s a baby version of Ernie from Sesame Street! I love Ernie. He and Grover were my two favorite characters.

I loved the skits when Ernie and Bert would be in their bed, and Ernie would wake Bert up to talk about the miracle of sleep. “Isn’t sleep neat, Bert??” Ernie would ask. He would go on and on and on about how beneficial sleep was, how it recharged us so we’d have enough energy for the next day, how sleep is FUN! All this while poor Bert is still trying to sleep. Finally, Bert gives up trying and starts having a conversation with Ernie. But by this time, Ernie has dropped off to sleep, leaving Bert exhausted and wide awake!!!!

I am easily amused, I know.

Speaking of sleep, some days I am thinking this earlier wake-up time is just not going to work out for me. I’m liking it a lot at this moment because it’s just after 9am, yet I’ve had one cup of coffee already and read all my morning updaters. Grace is fed, and now she’s having a tea party with the dog. We’re able to wake up slowly and take our time in the morning.

When I first started getting up around 8am, Grace would still be asleep or still waking up. She’s very much like me; she needs quite a while to wake up. She will generally mutter to herself or read books to her stuffed animals as her brain starts to kick into gear for the day. Me, I keep hitting the snooze bar and going back to sleep.

Lately, though, the whole plan has started to fall apart. Grace was awake at 7:30 this morning and throwing a conniption fit for whatever reason. I finally went into her room and told her it was too early for her to be awake. It’s one thing if she’s going to play quietly in her crib, and quite another if she’s going to scream and cry! And she was crying for no good reason either. I was thinking she’d thrown out a stuffed animal from her crib that she really wanted, but no, she was crying just to cry.

She laid back down and stayed quiet until I finally got up, but as I tried to snooze for just a few more minutes, the dog decided to had to start barking. I know he had to go outside because I forgot to put him out before bed again. But he wasn’t doing his normal tone of barking. He was almost yipping, which is unusual for my dog. It went straight through my eardrum and bored a hole in my brain every time he yipped.

Not what you want to hear before you’re even awake.

But now I’m awake, and life is good. The dog’s been let out, Grace is no longer fussy, and the cats are fed.

Now if only Seattle would realize it’s supposed to be SPRING!!!

 

6 Responses to “Good morning to YOU!”

  1. Amanda Says:

    How come you moved to WordPress. I thought you had a Gold account?? Anyhow, I can totally relate to both you and Gracie. I need like an hour to wake up before I can fully function in the morning! πŸ™‚

  2. michele Says:

    OMG! too funny about Bert & Ernie. And, how is it that you and I had the same two faves on Seasame Street? I also liked the patron at the restaurant that Grover worked at from time to time.

    i think it’s cool that you’re getting up a bit earlier and taking your time to get ready. i love that about the weekends… no rushing around for us to get out the door by 5:30am!

    πŸ™‚ ps– your box should arrive today or tomorrow

  3. art Says:

    isnt mornings fun? imagine waking at 3 am and not being able to go back to sleep!! wheeeee!!

  4. Blue Opal Says:

    I have to get up for work at 3:45am. So I am pretty lousy at sympathy here, LOL!

  5. Fi Says:

    I have a much treasured photo of Bo asleep on a pile of wooden blocks. You will treasure this one too.

    My boy was a good sleeper but an early riser. All of my kids were. If the sun was up – so were they. You’ll get no sympathy here for a 7.30 wake-up! That was considered a sleep-in in our house.

  6. The other half Says:

    Too cute! makes me miss you girls more and more everyday. i forgot whats its like to get up every morning at the same time. i don’t have a set schedule. 2 weeks and ill have set schedule: wake up next to wife! thats is not going to be hard. KISS KISS


Leave a Reply

