The Mind of Bluesleepy

I really ought to be in bed, but… 27 May 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 12:18 am

How could I go to bed without updating?? It’s an obsession, I tell you.

Today was GREAT! We all arose at roughly the same time, although Grace decided to wake up excessively early. Bah humbug on her. She can just play in her crib. I made a big ol’ breakfast, with bacon and scrambled eggs (with cheese) and strawberries, although I am probably the biggest anti-breakfast person you will ever meet. It’s not that I don’t like to eat breakfast (although I rarely do, and yes, I know it’s bad to skip breakfast); it’s more that I just don’t do breakfast food. I’m not one of these people who goes to Denny’s at dinner time and gets the pancake meal. It’s just not my thing.

After breakfast we headed out with absolutely no idea of where we were going. First we went to the post office to get some postcard stamps only to see that Psycho Mail Clerk was on duty. I wanted to turn around and go to the other post office, but there was a mini farmer’s market going on across the street, so I decided to just suck it up.

We walk into the office and ask Psycho Mail Clerk for two books of postcard stamps. “I don’t have books of postcard stamps,” she says. “All I have are rolls of postcard stamps.”

We responded that we didn’t need that many stamps, and she shrugs and says, “It’s all I’ve got!” with a look on her face, challenging us not to buy the roll of stamps.

I just asked if we could buy the old postcard stamps and then add postage. She agreed to that, but you could tell she was pissed that she couldn’t sell us a roll of postcard stamps.

She’s psycho, I tell you!

Then we headed down to the ferry terminal so I could show her how it works. There was yet another farmer’s market going on at the park nearby, so of course we had to stop. This one was awesome! I bought lavender hand lotion from a lavender farm in Sequim (pronounced “Squim”; it’s where most of the lavender is grown in the Northwest) and a set of handknit baby socks and a hat for my friend R, who’s due in August. I wanted so much more, though! I just couldn’t justify most of what I wanted.

We ate lunch at our local awesome Chinese buffet. I think we almost ate too much. Then we found the trail that I’d wanted to take A on the last time she came to visit. I’m thinking we walked at least two and a half miles, although A doesn’t think it was quite that far. Grace walked the whole way too!!

The only problem I had in walking that far is my shoes are too small. When you walk a lot, you ought to have a fair amount of toe wiggle room. All my sneakers were too short for me, so my toes would hurt if I had to walk a while. We had ended up at the mall after our long hike, and I bought a pair of Nikes in a size 9 to accommodate my toesies. My feet feel so much better. I almost didn’t need to take my sneakers off when I came home!

A also wanted to take me out to dinner to thank me for my hospitality, so we ended up at an Indian restaurant. We ate entirely too much food, but boy, was it good! That’s one thing I like about A; she’s very adventuresome when it comes to food, so we’re not eating hamburgers every single day. There is very little she doesn’t like, and she’s so willing to try something new.

We ate so much at dinner that we had to go on another walk to settle our food. This time we headed down to the water to look at the boats and walk along the boardwalk. I’m thinking there was something going on down there (major Memorial Day parties) because it was absolutely packed. I was somewhat surprised at how freely the liquor was flowing. Is it just something that goes together, alcohol and boating? I’ve never seen so much alcohol in my life outside of a bar.

That’s one thing I don’t understand. We have all these holidays now to commemorate various things. Whether you agree with war or not, Memorial Day remembers those we’ve lost in the wars we’ve fought. Why celebrate or commemorate this day by getting drunk off your ass? What happened to visiting veterans’ cemeteries and making sure their gravestones were well-taken care of? Do we even stop for a moment of silence?

I guess people are too busy drinking.

 

11 Responses to “I really ought to be in bed, but…”

  1. art Says:

    seems like you had a well rounded day! people stopped teaching about respecting and observering memorial day. to these people, its just anutter excuse to get drunk. people are not encouraged to visit veterans graves, and they have no clue as to the true meaning of memorial day. nor do i think that they care. i hope these slobs choke on hot dogs and greasy hamburgers and when they get drunk and drive i hope they end up in jail.

  2. Poolie Says:

    Go in every day and ask her for one postcard stamp. See what happens.

  3. yankee-chick Says:

    You look mahvelous in your cool skirt! And Hubby’s comments are so sweet. What a guy! You’re right. Memorial Day has lost it’s significance for most people (as has Veterans Day). My family is all buried in upstate New York, but I have the most awesome ‘grave tender’ back there. My Grandfather was in WWII and also a Police Officer and my brother was in Viet Nam. The American Legion puts flags on their graves each Memorial Day (as does the Police Dept for Grampa) which is great. But the most heart warming thing is my sister-in -law. My brother died 31 years ago and his wife remarried and has a new family, of course. But she has NEVER missed taking flowers to the cemetary for Tim (my bro) as well as Gramma , Grampa and now my parents. It’s so comforting to know that even tho’ I can’t take care of such things (which have always been so important to my family) sweet Laura always does. So sad that it’s all about BBQ’s and Beer for most people. They could at least save it til after visiting the cemetary and paying their respects (like us Irish folks do!) LOL

  4. chaosdaily Says:

    i dont understand the drinking thing either. around here you will get arrested for drunken boating!

  5. boxx Says:

    Well, going *postal* came from somewhere, right? I don’t know what it is about being a postal worker, but for some reason it makes the employees go crazy. I have been to Sequim, I applied for a job there about 4 years ago.

  6. Blue Opal Says:

    I’m not a drinker (this is the third diary I’ve read this morning and the second one that talks about drinking. Odd trend!) and wouldn’t even think of getting drunk in connection with this holiday. I agree with you, the holiday is not commemorated like it should be. People are entirely too blase about the sacrifice that our young men and women in the military have given, and I think that is a travesty.

  7. The other half Says:

    it is kind of dumb statistic but on memorial day weekend is when most accidents happen to the military (non-hostile). Military people are being killed on a day that remembers people that have been killed in action not behind the wheel. i know the crew here is not drinking tomorrow, but i know some are upset that they cant. thats sad.

    KISS KISS

  8. lisele Says:

    I would love to visit the graves at Normandy as they show at the end of Saving Private Ryan. What a powerful thing that must be, and a constant reminder of the good our soldiers’ sacrifice can do. After all, they still speak French there and not German 😉

  9. Fi Says:

    Doesn’t it piss you off that everything comes in packages of the wrong amount these days. You need 6 screws and have to buy two packets of 4 each. You want 3 batteries and have to fork out for two packs of 2. I can remember the days when stamps came in sheets and the postie just tore off however many you needed. It is bloody annoying.

  10. The other half Says:

    I think email is down, but internet is up – go figure
    i just realized i can contact you this way.
    its 01:49 / 00:49

  11. michele Says:

    good for you for not giving in about the roll of stamps!!


Leave a Reply

