The Mind of Bluesleepy

Not the easiest thing in the world to do 28 May 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 6:13 pm

Do you have any idea how difficult it is to update one’s diary when one has a snoozing toddler in her lap?? I just woke Grace up from her nap (if she sleeps any longer, she won’t go to bed on time), and now she’s cuddled up against me as I type. Poor baby.

You know, I really ought to quit calling her “baby.” I always do that! I’ll say to someone, “Oh, we need a booster for the baby,” or some such. She’s not so much a baby anymore, though…

My company has now left, and I am sad. Now I have a ton of housework to do. Why is that?? She didn’t make a mess. I think I just let everything slide, thinking, “Oh, I’ll do this later.” Now it’s later and I don’t feel like doing it.

Yesterday we wandered around downtown and visited the used bookstore. A is just like me; she can spend literally hours in a bookstore. I think we were only there about an hour, amazingly enough. I found a hardback copy of Ansel Adams’s The Camera, which absolutely had to be purchased. I also found The Outdoor Photographer’s Bible, which received crappy reviews on Amazon. I don’t really care what anyone says about this book. I’m not saying it’s the greatest book out there because it isn’t. But what I like about it is it gives clear examples of why you might want to try a particular technique. There will be one photographic example of one way of doing it, and then another example of the other way, so you can compare them and decide which will be best for you. Plus the images in the book inspire me to get out there and take some damn photos!

After dinner last night, we went for a walk around the neighborhood. Can you believe there is a palm tree just down the street from me?? Don’t believe me?? Here!!!

There is a PALM TREE in my neighborhood!!!

See?? A palm tree!! Whoda thunk there would be a palm tree in Washington state?

I also looked at all the houses for sale in the neighborhood. Just for comparison’s sake, my house is a 2-bedroom, 1-bathroom house that is a total of 860 square feet. We have an attached one-car garage and a hot tub in the back yard, and our lot is quite large for this neighborhood.

We walked past a house that looks almost exactly like ours, with a heck of a lot less curb appeal and a smaller lot. It has a whopping four more square feet than our house, but it is 11 years newer. It’s going for $217,850.

We found another house that has two bedrooms and one bathroom as well, but it is 1200 square feet. It was built the year after ours was. It’s also brand-spankin’ new remodeled with hardwood floors and designer paint colors. The asking price is $259K.

I had been worried that asking $200K for the house would be a little much, but with these numbers, it seems that it’s more than reasonable. I’m hoping that we’ll be able to turn a tidy profit on this house. Keep your fingers crossed for us!!

 

9 Responses to “Not the easiest thing in the world to do”

  1. The other half Says:

    LOVE THE PICTURES ON FLICKR!

    I’m glad your second to last WEEKEND 🙂 was a fun weekend. next weekend just sit back and relax, i am hoping to call you from you know where.

    KISS KISS KISS

  2. twisterjester Says:

    I hope you get the turnaround you want on your house. I’m keeping my fingers crossed! *Hugs*

  3. art Says:

    you should get 225k for your house and not a penny less!!!

  4. boxx Says:

    My kids will always be my *babies* no matter HOW old they get. $200K is an unbelievably LOW price for a house. Have you posted pics of your house? Housing STARTS at 600K around here. (sigh)

  5. Fi Says:

    200K for a house?? OMG you couldn’t get a flat for that here. In fact, you’d be battling to find a vacant block!

  6. Poolie Says:

    200K won’t get you a studio condo here. Truly.

  7. michele Says:

    i don’t know if this will mean anything or not but as i read your entry today, i suddenly had this thought enter my mind: i really wish that you and i had been friends in high school. sounds corny i’m sure, but every time you talk about buying/reading a ‘new’ book, i’m feeling guilty that i’m not. now, i know those two statements don’t go together, but what’ i’m trying to say (and failing miserably at) is that i would have loved to go book shopping with you and share stories and swap novels and have you teach me all the stuff that i didn’t know. 🙂

  8. Amanda Says:

    My Mom works in Real Estate development, and so I have a little knowledge on the fact. You wanna price your house around the prices of the neighborhood. Don’t go too low or buyers will think there is something wrong. And if you fix up the house a little before you move, you should definatley be able to get more than 200k out of it. Good luck with that! Selling a house is hard work!

  9. Caroline Says:

    Ya, 200k is low even for out here!!! The houses in MY neighborhood are going for at least 225k, usually more like 240, and those are for townhouses and they are smaller than my 1900 sq ft! @@! We got “lucky” when we bought ours for just under the 200 mark 2 yrs ago. (golly have I lived here 2 yrs already?) GL with the whole selling thing! And yes, I did have tuna sandwiches yesterday for lunch too!! Only it was homemade!


Leave a Reply

