The Mind of Bluesleepy

Tequila, anyone? 2 July 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 8:18 pm

I am so, so bad.

Last night, a real estate agent called me at 5:30pm to see if she could show my house in 30-45 minutes. I hadn’t done much all day (just a few loads of laundry, etc), so I had to race around a bit to get the house presentable. Plus I hadn’t put any makeup on or anything because I’d had no plans to go anywhere. Instead of taking a walk around the block with my dog, I decided to call my friend across the street to see if I could invite myself over.

When she answered the phone, she seemed hesitant to say yes, but then she informed me I had to bring over beer if I wanted to come over. So I grabbed all the cold beer we had (all of four bottles) and headed over with Grace and my dog.

See, she and my other friend J had been sitting on the verandah and the back deck all day, drinking beer and soaking up the sun. When J saw on the caller ID that it was me, it was she who said, “She can’t come over unless she brings beer!!!”

I assume she was kidding, but I still complied.

I had full intentions of staying maybe thirty minutes, long enough for the prospective buyer to get a good look around at my house. I actually ended up staying until 11:30pm.

Oops.

From beer (of which I only had two bottles), it quickly progressed to liquor. J went home and grabbed stuff to make Cosmopolitans, while I came home to grab some tequila and my margarita mix. For some reason, the tequila hit me hard. I only had two margaritas, and that amount of alcohol plus the two beers would make me tipsy, yes, but not drunk.

Oh, I was feeling no pain last night!!!

I normally don’t do that, as Kurt wasn’t home to keep an eye on Grace. But like I said, that tequila really snuck up on me. Maybe it was because it was the good stuff. She had José Cuervo tequila, while I normally get whatever is cheapest on the bottom shelf of the package store.

We also didn’t eat dinner last night. I tend to eat between 6 and 7pm, and the house showing sort of messed with that. Finally J went home to get some cold fried chicken she had on hand, and T’s husband made up some pizzas and some good beer snacks. Grace ate not much other than sea salt & vinegar chips. We kept trying to get her to eat some pizza, but she was having none of it.

I went to bed as soon as I got home. I had no problems falling asleep, but come 4am, I was awake. Totally and completely. But at the same time, I was tired as all hell. I could not find a comfortable position in my bed at all, not even when I scooted over to Kurt’s side, so I moved to the couch in the living room. That didn’t work, so I went back to the bed. I still couldn’t get comfortable, so I tried the living room again, this time putting on the tv. Finally I fell asleep around 5:45am. I woke up again at 7:30am when my alarm started going off, and by then I was ready to sleep in my own bed.

It was just not fun, being totally exhausted and not able to sleep. I think I’ll be a bit more moderate in my alcohol consumption for quite a while.  (Photos of the “party” on the right.)

Today we went to the mall. I wanted another pair of Crocs sandals (I got them in the pearl/celery, so now Caroline and I have matching shoes. YAY!). I really had no intentions of shopping. Kurt made a beeline for the play area with Grace, and I followed more slowly, poking my head into the shoe store just for grins and chuckles.

Finally I caught up to Kurt, and we sat there watching the kids run amok. The woman sitting next to me started chatting to me a bit, and she seemed like a cool person. Her husband is in the Navy too, and she just moved here a week ago. I asked her where she moved from, and she said, “Norfolk.”

Folks, she said it the right way. She did not say, “Nor-folk,” as any non-native will say. She said it properly: “Naw-fuck.” Pardon my French, but hey, it’s how you say it!!! At least if you’re talking about Norfolk, Virginia. If you’re talking about Norfolk, Nebraska, it’s pronounced more like “Nor-fork.”

I got so excited.

It was so cool sitting and talking to her! She knew exactly where Kurt and I had lived when we lived in Portsmouth. She had worked at the Norfolk Naval Base and lived in Virginia Beach. She was telling me some story and mentioned she’d gone to the Pembroke Mall to buy something. And I knew exactly what she was talking about!

I gave her my number so we could meet again, and she invited me to a Creative Memories party at her house this Saturday. She’s trying to build her business, so I’m going to invite a couple of my friends to try to help her out.

It’s the least I can do for a fellow Navy wife. I have been in her predicament, and I know how hard it is to meet people here. It’s especially difficult here because people aren’t as friendly as they are other places.

It just sucks that I’m moving in a month. *wink*

 

7 Responses to “Tequila, anyone?”

  1. twisterjester Says:

    I’m trying to make a coherent comment but at this point my eyes are crossing – so please excuse the brain death. I’m glad you got out and did some social stuff 🙂 Sounds like you had fun and you DESERVE it.

  2. michele Says:

    YES!!!! That freakin’ rocks that you found someone who says: “Naw-fuck”

    Ben’s cousin, Chas does the Creative Memories thing…the scrapbooks are gorgeous when they’re done, but unfortunately I never got into it because they’re time consuming and expensive for all the little parts & pieces. However, I’m sooooo glad that you’re going to a party!

    When you get to RI, you should go on the Tastefully Simple website and look for a consultant and then go to a tasting party!

    Guess you and José got a little too close for comfort, eh? 😉

    (((ree)))

    ps– did Kurt tell you I called last night?

  3. boxx9000 Says:

    There’s nothing wrong with a little drinking party with the girlfriends (as long as it isn’t a daily thing!) It’s summer…you’re moving….You DESREVE a little party now and then. I wish I was there. I wish *I* was buying your house.

  4. Poolie Says:

    Viva tequila!

  5. Terri Says:

    Margarita’s and cosmo’s! Yuummmy! The last margarita I had was on my b’day and it was one weak sister. 😦 I’m SO glad you had fun!! Mama’s have to take the fun where we can find it. 🙂

  6. […] the woman I met at the play place who knows how to say Norfolk properly??  She came up to my house today and brought her son to play […]


Leave a Reply

