The Mind of Bluesleepy

Life is always better with sushi! 7 July 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 4:13 pm

Yesterday we had to leave the house for yet another showing. We were told we could stay here while it’s being shown, but my mom (a former real estate agent) told us it’s much better to get the hell out of Dodge. So we do.

I was dying for some sushi. I don’t know what made me think of it, but I wanted it badly. And we needed to head to town anyhow to run some errands, which landed us at this little extremely good Japanese restaurant and sushi bar.

Kurt got the daily special, which was really a lot of food. They gave us the pickled bean sprouts or whatever they are (damn good is what they are), as well as miso soup. I adore miso soup. I swear, I used to be Japanese in another life. But then Kurt got a chicken croquette on top of salad, rice, tempura vegetables, and chicken teriyaki as well. All of that for $7.50!

I splurged and got the sushi lunch as well as an extra salmon roll. The sushi lunch is six pieces (chef’s choice) with a cucumber roll. Oh, boy, did it hit the spot!! The only one I can’t eat is the squid sushi. I just can’t stomach the rubbery texture of raw squid. Eww. Everything else is absolutely delicious. So Kurt ate my squid sushi. He loves calamari anyhow.

The only thing is, this is the first time I’d had sushi with wasabi already inside each piece. Granted, it wasn’t very much, like just the barest smear of green on the rice. But every so often, it was enough to stab me in the nose, in that nerve inside your nostrils, and knock me on my butt!

But it was gooooooooooooooooooooooooood!!

I want more.

Grace ate several pieces of my cucumber roll, and apparently the wasabi didn’t faze her at all. She absolutely loves sushi. When we go to the all-you-can-eat Chinese buffet, I’ll get her several pieces of imitation crab sushi, and she always asks for more. I don’t give her the raw stuff yet, just because her immune system isn’t quite as good as mine, but I want to start her on it soon. Kurt and I like sushi too much to have a child who’s grossed out by it.

After we had lunch, we went to the mall just to get links taken out of my new watch because I have the world’s tiniest wrists for a chubby person. I swear, I have a 7″ wrist. I wish my ankles were as petite. Unfortunately, I have to wear long anklets because I have such thick ankles.

I made the mistake of walking past the MAC counter in Macy’s. I didn’t even realize we had a MAC counter!! So now I can indulge my obsession for makeup without having to take the ferry to a Sephora store. This is probably not a good thing for Kurt’s checkbook.

I asked him that since we saved $30 in ferry fees if I could use that extra $30 for more makeup. He just sort of rolled his eyes at me.

I really just wanted to look at their eyeliner. Remember that really obnoxious turquoise liner that Kurt picked out for me a few weeks ago? They have a ton of different colors in the same formulation. Deep purple, bright purple, gunmetal grey, bronze, gold, silver, lime green… Name it, and they’ve got it. My intentions were just to pick out one more eyeliner. But then the MAC lady showed me the new limited-edition colors, and I was a goner.

I wasn’t sure how to use these bright new colors, so the MAC lady sat me down and did my makeup. I have never before had a makeover like that, except the ones my sister would give me when I’d go to visit her. It was so neat having someone do that too! I learned some new tricks for my makeup, which is always good.

My MAC makeover!

She even found me a new powder foundation, although she insists I have yellowish skin, where I always thought I had pinkish. The new foundation is also two shades darker than my sister’s, which is odd because I’ve always been as white as Caspar the Friendly Ghost, while Michele tends to be more on the normal side of light. But the new foundation seems to work really well, so I won’t complain.

Close-up of my new colors

So yeah, my makeup is hella bright. It’s not as bright today as it was yesterday since I have a lighter hand, but Kurt’s not home to take photos of me today. He’s got duty again, which gives me a bit of a break!

The house was shown again today, which is a good thing, but it’s just a wee bit frustrating when all you want to do is come home and put the baby down for a nap. I came home after I thought they were done and gone, but when I didn’t find a business card in the house, I decided to leave again. Right as I was leaving, they showed up, so I just drove around in the car for another 20 minutes or so. That should be it for today, though.

I don’t get too annoyed, though. The more it shows, the better chance the house has of getting sold!!!!

 

8 Responses to “Life is always better with sushi!”

  1. art Says:

    purty pics!! i hate sushi!! ewwwww!! hahaha!! well, i do!!

  2. boxx9000 Says:

    I LOVE SUSHI! (California roll with brown rice easy on the soy sauce)

  3. oldewoman Says:

    Don’t you just love getting your make-up done? You look wonderful!

  4. The other half Says:

    HOTTNESS!

  5. Michele Says:

    I had no IDEA that the makeover by the MAC girl would look quite so awesome! Getting your makeup done by a cosmetic person can be quite hit or miss in my experience. However, I *LOVE* it!!! It looks awesome. You really can pull off the bright colors.

    Yeah, I’m still in awe that she recommended the NC colors and in shades 2x darker than mine. Weird. But, if it works then go with it!!

    Love ya!

  6. yankeechick Says:

    You look gorgeous!!! I love those bright colors on you. You can really pull it off!! Make overs can be such fun and it’s so interesting to learn new techniques and be brave enough to try new colors. I had one experience a few years ago where a Mary Kay lady sent me home looking like a Kewpie Doll!!! Other than that, I’ve had some pretty good luck. I like watching the makeup shows on QVC, too for picking up tips (and of course products!).

  7. kitchenlogic Says:

    Silly gal, I can resize my jewelry just for you! I must have also been Japanese in a former life because, lord, do I love the sushi! Unfortunately, no one else in my family will eat it. Or my friends, either. What is wrong with them! Can I have your hair?

  8. twisterjester Says:

    You look bee-ooo-tiful! And I hear you about the wrists. Mine are small, too, and ditto for the thick ankles. Though my ankle thickness these days is due mostly to swelling. I have crappy circulation.

    And I LOVE LOVE LOVE sushi. Love it. LOVE it.


Leave a Reply

