The Mind of Bluesleepy

Humdrum housework 16 July 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 12:45 pm

I really don’t like housework.  I haven’t really run into anyone who likes it, but I really, really don’t like doing it.  Of course, being a housewife, it’s sort of my job, so I have to do it.

Or I could be that slacker wife on Dr Phil last week, who did nothing all day and had her husband do all the housework and child-rearing, even though he had a full-time job.

Then again, maybe not.  I have a feeling I wouldn’t have a husband anymore.

But now that we’re selling the house, guess what I have to do lots of??  That’s right, folks — housework.  Not fun.

Today I have been one busy little bee, though!  First thing I did was bathe the dog.  You should have seen the dirt that came off the poor guy.  I swear this little 20-pound dog had probably 10 pounds of dirt on him, and he doesn’t even dig in the yard or anything!  I don’t know where it all came from!  But now he’s soft and clean and sweet-smelling.  He’s still pretty pissed at me, though.  He hates baths.

Then it was time to vacuum the house.  I love that my house is so small because then I can plug in the vacuum just once and do the whole house.  I always hated doing my dad’s house because I would try to get just a few more inches with the cord, and it’d come popping out of the wall.  Plus my dad had three floors to vacuum.

I tend to vacuum the kitchen as well if I have the vacuum out already because it’s easier than sweeping.  I have two cats and a dog; I get pet hair everywhere.  The vacuum sucks it all up, while sweeping tends to fling it up into the air.

I had a friend once who vacuumed her dogs.  It really cut down on the pet hair around her home, and the dogs really enjoyed it.  Every night they knew to come to her so she could vacuum them down.  I wish I could do that with my dog, but he’s scared of the vacuum.  Too loud, I’m guessing.

Once the kitchen was vacuumed, it was time to mop.  And this time I did the whole nine yards, instead of doing a half-assed job with the Swiffer.

Then I threw a load of laundry into the washer and headed into Grace’s room.  I went through her drawers, sorting out what doesn’t fit anymore and deciding what to keep and what to donate to charity.  The charity truck is coming by on Wednesday, so I wanted to have it done before then.  Her drawers were getting awfully full anyhow.  I’m too good a shopper!  I find things on clearance for just a few dollars, and I can’t pass up a good deal.   I also changed her crib sheet and mattress cover, and remade her bed.  That’s harder than it sounds because she’s got a ton of crap in her bed!!  Of course, she can’t live without the ten thousand stuffed animals, so I’ve got to find a way to organize them to make them look neat.

Now the house is pristine and lovely-looking… and of course, no one will call to look at the house today.  Oh well.  I always feel better when the house is clean, so I’m glad I did it.  Now I can relax and play on the computer and watch tv all afternoon without feeling guilty.

Woo hoo!!!

 

3 Responses to “Humdrum housework”

  1. michele Says:

    awesome! wow, you WERE busy! Actually, she needs 10,001 stuffed animals. Hee, hee… 🙂

  2. twisterjester Says:

    I hate the housework but like you, feel SOOOO much better when the house is cleaned and smells fresh 🙂

  3. The other half Says:

    Thanks for doing some much work. the dog thanks you too

    no Bon Bons for you!

    KISS KISS


Leave a Reply

