The Mind of Bluesleepy

After the festival 23 July 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 8:08 pm

Once we got done with the festival in Sequim on Sunday, we headed home. I have to admit that I got sort of lost on the way to Sequim, which led to us going through the small town of Chimacum. It worked out; the little town is home to the Chimacum Cafe, a very yummy place to have lunch.

But on the way home, I figured we’d go home the “right” way. However, Kurt had got it into his head that he wanted to stop in Port Townsend. It’s a cute town with very old buildings in its downtown, and quite a few Victorian homes in its residential area. It’s very pretty.

The Public House, where we had dinner

We ended up eating dinner here, where I had the local sausage platter and a very strong coffee-flavored margarita. Yes, that sounds nasty, but it was much yummier than it sounds. It also got me rather tipsy. That led us to have to walk around a bit so I could let the alcohol process through my system. Kurt had had a beer too, so we were pretty much in the same boat.

Here’s a gardening tip for those of you who love to garden: If you have a spare empty beer keg laying around, why not use it as a flower planter?

Got an empty beer keg laying around???

We saw this outside a bar. It cracked me up.

I just ventured over to Flickr in another tab in order to look up the links for the photos I want to embed, where I saw something under Everyone’s Photos that piqued my interest. It looked like someone in the zero-gravity machine at Space Camp, and I was wondering if it was indeed Space Camp.

Sure enough, it was.

The part that got me, however, is Space Camp is celebrating its 25th birthday this year, according to this random girl’s photos. I went to Space Camp 18 years ago. For some reason, that makes me feel old.

In other news, I had the most amazing dinner courtesy of your friend and mine, the Pogo Queen, Chocolate Chaos. I was playing pool with her earlier today to get the badge for this week, and I mentioned I needed to look up a recipe for salmon since we’d gotten some at the commissary yesterday. She suggested sprinkling dill on the salmon and laying on some lemon slices. She also uses garlic and onion salt, along with green or colored peppers. I didn’t have the peppers, and I left off the garlic and onion salt too. After I sprinkled on the dill, I also drizzled on some extra-virgin olive oil because I roll like that. Then I covered the salmon with an entire lemon, thinly sliced, and baked it.

Oh, holy cow, was that good! I don’t normally like fish, but I seem to be able to tolerate salmon and tuna, along with some of the more mild white fish. Occasionally I’ll see salmon on a buffet and want to try some, but it is almost always overcooked and dry. This salmon tonight turned out so juicy and yummy!

So thank you, Chaos.

Kurt went to work today. He’s now stationed temporarily at the base closest to my house. He was flabbergasted that it only took him 20 minutes to get to work today instead of his usual two hours. Now he’s working at the Reserve Center, only he’s not actually working. The guy in charge says he barely has enough work to keep the guys assigned there working until lunch every day, so he really doesn’t need Kurt. He was home by 10:15am this morning. From now on, he just has to call in each morning at 8am to see if he’s needed.

Now I know why women get full-time jobs when their husbands retire from their careers. I’m not sure how much of this together time I can take. *wink*

PS — I am on page 59 of Harry Potter. It’s not that I’m a slow reader; it’s just that I haven’t made the time to read. Bad me.

 

6 Responses to “After the festival”

  1. michele Says:

    another delicious way to prepare salmon is to cook it on a cedar plank. my favorite restaurant prepares it this way; they drizzle it ever so lightly with olive oil and a wee bit of salt and cook it on the cedar. then they also broil a half a lemon which you squeeze over the salmon just before you eat it. yum-o!

    i’m glad you had a fun time at the festival! i wish i coulda gone with you despite all the lavender there. *wink*

  2. david Says:

    p 330 here. course I’ll be interupted today — the actual owner wants it back. 😛

    If one margarita gets you that tipsy, you definitely need to come hang out with me for a night. I could use a cheap date for a change 😉

  3. Caroline Says:

    Yes, I think I’m about pg 150 at Harry Potter but then I started it Sunday afternoon and Schuyler watched the kids for an hour or two that and it’s the only book I’m reading right now so that helps too! I saw some wood planks for sale (to cook salmon on) somewhere, I want to say the NEX but I’m not sure.

  4. boxx9000 Says:

    I used to love salmon until I went vegetarian and now I don’t eat any meat at all. (nothing with a face) Our oceans really are overfished and polluted so fish probably isn’t as healthy for us as it should be. We used to tell my son that salmon was *pink shark* and he believed us until he was having dinner at a friend’s house and got into an argument over pink shark v. salmon. hehehehehe.

  5. twisterjester Says:

    I love seafood, though salmon isn’t my favorite. Still, the recipe sounds seriously yummy!

  6. Fi Says:

    I would never have thought of dill with fish. I must try it.


Leave a Reply

