The Mind of Bluesleepy

My house smells so yummy right now 12 August 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 3:50 pm

I’m getting all domesticated again.

Me, I don’t like to do housework.  I don’t really know anyone who does like it, but I really don’t like it.  I do just enough to make sure the house is picked up at all times, and I’ll vacuum every few days now that our house could show at any moment.

Deep cleaning?  Well, I don’t do much of that at all.  I have a friend who does a deep clean at least once a week, which always boggles my mind since she insists on keeping her house extremely clean anyhow.  But I don’t scrub walls unless they’re something on them that’s noticeable, and I don’t steam clean my carpets all the time.

But today I have been one busy little bee.  I’ve done two loads of laundry, folded one, reinstalled Grace’s car seat into the van (long story), done a bit of grocery shopping, and managed to stage one heck of a dinner.   I’d bought a pot roast while at the commissary a few days ago, and I really needed to cook it.  So I investigated the possibilities in my cookbooks and chose a recipe.

I know it’s odd to be cooking a pot roast in the oven for 3½ hours in the depths of summer.  The thing is, it’s not summer here anymore.  We had our few hot days, and now we’re sliding gently into autumn.  Currently it’s only 71º, which is as warm as it’s going to get today.  Last night we ended up at our neighbors’ house until almost 11pm, and by 6pm I was freezing my buns off in their back yard.  I had to come home and put jeans and a sweatshirt on.  By 9pm, I had to borrow a blanket.  It was cold.

So now I’m baking a pot roast, and it smells so darn good I wish my blog had smell-a-vision.  The liquid the meat is simmering in is made up of beef broth, chicken broth, onion, carrot, celery, garlic, and thyme.  It’s making me so hungry!  In another two hours, I’m to add potatoes, parsnips, and more carrots.

I can’t wait.

Kurt was also being rather domesticated today.  He wanted to set out on the street the coffeetable and the computer chair we no longer need, as well as the weight set he got from our neighbor a couple of years ago and used precisely twice.  Somehow that ended up into his reorganizing the entire garage.

At one point, he went to reach down behind something, and he cut his hand on a piece of broken mug.  He didn’t think anything of it till blood starting dripping off his hand a few minutes later.  He came in just to show me, and at first I thought he’d really gashed his hand.  But fortunately it’s a small, shallow cut.  It just bled a lot.

Once he was finished in the garage, I played nurse and bandaged him up.  He’s got a duct tape Band-aid (thanks for letting me know where to get them, Chaos!) on his hand right now.  I guess that’s far more manly than a regular, flesh-colored Band-aid.

I tell you what, though, it looks weird to see a strip of duct tape on Kurt’s hand!

Yesterday was Tristan’s birthday party, and I am pleased to report that he’s doing pretty well.  I was surprised at how normal he seemed.  I could tell he wasn’t quite as happy-go-lucky as he had been, and he got tired much more quickly than he normally would, but that’s kind of to be expected.  His meds don’t help either.  His mother said his one medication makes him really hyper followed by really tired.  He’s either bouncing off the walls or he’s asleep.  But she figures the symptoms will ease as his body gets accustomed to the meds.

What is kind of nice, yet bittersweet, is Tristan’s entire family mentioned that while they’re sad that Kurt and I have to be separated next week, they’re glad that I’m still going to be around and possibly taking art class with Grace next semester.  I didn’t realize they would like me quite so much.  Now we have a play date for Tuesday to go to the beach again.

But Kurt leaves for Rhode Island on Saturday. *sigh*

 

6 Responses to “My house smells so yummy right now”

  1. art Says:

    ill be over for some yummy pot roast!!! heheheee!!!

  2. chaosdaily Says:

    did you make blondies to go with the pot roast?

  3. Fi Says:

    I’ve only ever made one potroast (it isn’t really an Aussie thing). I got the recipe from one of those recipe email thingies that go round occasionally. The meat was cooked in Coke! It sounds weird but it was yummy as. You should try it.

  4. Blue Opal Says:

    Mmmmm, that sounds yummy! I don’t cook my pot roast in the oven – I use a crock pot – so it doesn’t generally heat the kitchen too much, plus I can put it on to cook before I leave for work and it’s about perfect by the time I get home, even if I’m an hour or two late. 😉

  5. boxx9000 Says:

    I LIKE cleaning. I don’t mind it at all because I REALLY LIKE how the house looks when it is all neat and tidy. However, I do NOT like cooking or grocery shopping at all. I am so thankful that Dave likes to cook. I don’t mind cleaning up the kitchen afterwards at all.

  6. michele Says:

    i bet the house smelled dee-lish!


Leave a Reply

