The Mind of Bluesleepy

Bzz bzz bzz busy bee! 23 August 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 2:32 pm

I can’t believe it’s only 2:15.  It feels like the whole day’s gone already.

Part of it is because I actually got up at a decent time.  The septic people were scheduled for sometime between 8am and noon, and I figured it’d be a good idea if I were at least dressed by the time they showed up.  Amazingly enough, I was not only dressed, but I had my hair styled (such as I style it — which consists mainly of throwing some cream in it to de-frizz it and spraying it so it stays out of my face) and my makeup on.

Go me.

I had just gotten Grace out of bed when the septic people showed up.  I guess Kurt misunderstood what they were asking him over the phone because he told them the septic was uncovered, when really it sits under 8″ of soil.  So they were a little miffed that they had more work to do that they weren’t scheduled to do.  Oh well.  It also cost me another $80 just to have them dig out the cover to the tank, and that’s what miffed me.  I would have done it myself, had I known it was going to run me that much money.

But they told us we took good care of the septic.  Our sludge levels were actually a little on the low side, but then I told them it’s generally just me and Grace in the house, so that made sense to them.  It only took about ten minutes to pump all the stuff out of the tank.  Those pump trucks are amazing!

Then at 11am the buyer’s appraiser came by to make sure that the price of the house was in line with the current prices.  The bank won’t extend a loan for a house that’s overpriced.  The appraiser was this very dapper, well-dressed older guy.  Crisp white shirt, khaki dress pants, brown dress shoes, and a very nice contemporary tie.  He also had gorgeous white hair.  The only minor drawback was he had a pin in his collar that read “God is ♥.”

Besides, I’m married, and he’s too old anyhow.  But he was handsome.

I helped out the buyer’s appraiser, holding the measuring tape for him and telling him which appliances are staying and which are going.  The whole thing took probably 20 minutes.

Once he left, it was time to grab a bite to eat before the assessor for the moving company showed up!

The assessor was a wee bit off.  He really reminded me of Lumberger in Office Space, how he kept droning, “Yeahhhhh…  if you could get those TPS reports to me…  yeahhhhhhh.”  This guy droned just like that.  Very strange.

Also, he had just finished a cigarette before he came into the house.

I’m not an anti-smoking Nazi, really I’m not.  But I really don’t like it when a smoker just finishes a cigarette and comes into my house, unless of course they’re staying with me and they just finished smoking on my back deck.  When that happens, the smoker ends up bringing all the smoke still clinging to his clothes into my house.

Yuck.

End of rant.

I guess we have way more stuff than we realized.  Before he came out here, it was estimated that we had 5,500 lbs of stuff.  Now the assessor is estimating 10,500.  Ack.  I hope we’re still within our limits.  I asked him, and he seemed to think we were fine, so I guess I’ll go with that.

Thank God we don’t have a piano.

Now I just have to figure out what we’re taking with us.  I know they won’t take cleaning supplies, which is fine as I’ll only take my bottle of Trader Joe’s cleaner with me.  The rest the new owners can have, along with all the cans of paint the previous owners left us.

I need to get Kurt to detach everything from the walls, too.  I’m just glad we don’t have to do the packing!

 

6 Responses to “Bzz bzz bzz busy bee!”

  1. chaosdaily Says:

    yeah not having to pack is quite a bonus!

  2. purple chai Says:

    If and when I ever leave this house, I’m only going feet first, or if someone comes in and packs for me.

  3. yankeechick Says:

    On one hand it is so cool that you don’t have to pack, but…..don’t you hate having ‘strangers’ messing with your treasures? But I’m so glad things are finally coming together for ou!

  4. art Says:

    how can the assessor be that much off?? maybe you should get another accessor? how do they determine that anyhow? i say, weigh the truck empty, then load all the stuff on the truck, then weigh it again, thata way, you will know exactly how much things weigh!!

  5. Lilmisskewl Says:

    Moving sucks, then with the stress of buying & selling… ugh… aren’t you glad it’s almost over!?! For now anyway, until next time?

    I told Hank I am not moving again until they either put me in a home or put me in the ground! That’s it! 🙂

  6. whatdayisit Says:

    Years ago when I worked for a moving company, they had a base estimate on the number of rooms and then added for extra heavy items i.e. piano, gym equipment. And they did weigh the empty truck and then the full truck to get the exact weight so the charges would be accurate. don’t know how it is done now but I would think it would be similar. The assessment is really just to pre-plan the room needed in the truck or the size of the truck to be used. Having him overestimate the weight is probably a good thing because there should be plenty of room for your things.
    Sound like everything else that was planned went well.


Leave a Reply

