The Mind of Bluesleepy

I can hear the ocean… 28 August 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 12:25 pm

This morning I woke up at 7:30am. That’s somewhat normal — my alarm goes off at 7:30. I just hit snooze until 9am.

However, I kept hearing a strange noise, and I couldn’t figure out what it was.  Finally I realized that it was the sound of waves crashing onto the beach.

Oh my word, Grace has set the alarm on the radio in her room.

I bolted into her room to shut off her alarm before it woke her up.  I didn’t even stop to put my glasses on, so I had to get about an inch from the display on her radio to see what I was doing.  I hit the Off button and headed back to my nice warm bed.

I could still hear the ocean.

Finally my sleep-fogged brain realized that it was my alarm that had been reset to play ocean sounds instead of the classical radio station I normally have it set to.  So I turned over and tried to go back to sleep, since I’d gone to bed around 1am last night.

It took a while, but the next thing I know, the phone’s ringing and it’s Caroline.  Without her, I still would have been asleep at 10.  Not good.

I am currently reading The Thrall’s Tale by Judith Lindbergh.  When I bought it at Borders a few weeks ago, the cashier told me I was really going to love it, and she was excited I was buying it.

The book is about a slave in the era of Viking exploration, when Greenland was first settled.  It’s written in the voice of not only the slave, but also her daughter and the seeress that the slave serves.  So you get a view of things from three different angles.

I have been slogging through this book.  There are times that I have managed to really get into it, but in general I’m just reading.  It’s not drawing me in.  As a result, I tend to get distracted, and I’ll think about other things instead of the words I’m reading.

I know I don’t particularly like the style in which it’s written.   The author loves to use the word “nay” instead of “no.”  She also twists grammar around, which irritates my grammar-obsessed brain to no end.  At one point, the daughter Bibrau goes to sit with the seeress when she’s feeling ill, and the author writes, “Bibrau weary-wakes to stumble-sit beside her.”  The use of the words “weary-wakes” and “stumble-sit” annoy me to no end.  And such words are throughout the entire book.

But maybe someone else will enjoy it.  To that end, I am willing to send it to whomever of my readers will read it and try to prove me wrong, that this is a good book.  I would love for someone to read this and thoroughly enjoy it.  So please leave me a comment with an email address for you, and I’ll email you to get your snail mail addy to send this book to you.

Please prove me wrong.  I want so much to like this book.  But I’m just not feeling it.

 

6 Responses to “I can hear the ocean…”

  1. chaosdaily Says:

    im not sure i like weary-wakes and stumble-sit either….

  2. Kurt Says:

    dont you just love being confused in the morning. you start the day off right!

    :-* :-*

  3. art Says:

    at night i tell zipper, its time to go sleepy-sleep, and when its time to eat i say, lets have some yum-yum-t-tums!! hehehee!!!

  4. Terri Says:

    I hate it when I’m really looking forward to a book and it’s just not floating my boat. There’s little more disappointing!

    Hey, do you use Shelfari.com? It’s pretty fun. 🙂

  5. michele Says:

    i’ve ran into books like that before… where you keep trying to concentrate and yet you find yourself distracted instead. yep. i understand. it’s part of why i couldn’t get through a lot of Terry Brooks’ books—the language mucked me up!

  6. whatdayisit Says:

    Gosh, so far no takers on the free book!! I have been known to put down books because I didn’t like the language or the sentence structure too. Lots of books by English authors I can’t handle because of that. Loved Mauve Binchy books, though…..maybe it is the Irish in me. LOL!


Leave a Reply

