The Mind of Bluesleepy

Plans for the weekend 31 August 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 10:02 pm

I actually have plans for the weekend! How cool is that??

My good friend April is coming up from Portland for one last visit. I am so sad to be saying goodbye to her. She’s been wonderful, really she has been.

See, she and my mom went to the same tiny college in Wisconsin. During their four years, they got to be fairly good friends. But as with most long-term friendships, eventually things settled down into just a Christmas card every year.

Then I had Grace, along with all the issues that arose after her birth. Kurt had been sent to San Diego with the ship just 10 days after I gave birth, and at Grace’s two-week appointment we found out she’d lost well over a pound. This is not good when you’re only eight pounds to begin with. I was slowly starving my daughter to death, as my milk had just never come in. I was putting her to breast just about every time she cried, but there was nothing in my breast to give her.

I found that out the hard way.

After Grace’s doctor’s appointment, I called my mother in a flood of tears. She informed me she’d get on the next flight out that she could, and four days later she arrived.

It was while she was visiting that my mom got the bright idea of calling up her friend April from college. She was really excited to see her, so I agreed to drive down to Centralia where we would meet up with her.

I think a year or so went by before I saw April again, when she stopped by my house while visiting more friends near Seattle. It was during that visit that she and I really clicked. That night we talked till well after midnight, across a huge expanse of topics.

Then I went to visit her in Portland this past January, and she came up for my birthday in February, as well as Memorial Day weekend. Each visit is filled with fun adventures and lots of talking. It’s amazing the things we can talk about — everything from politics to God to sexuality to the latest books we’ve read. And if we disagree on a topic, we generally state our opinion, and leave it at that. We don’t try to convince the other person of the rightness of our position.

It’s amazing how well we get along. We don’t seem to have a whole lot in common. She’s in her mid-50s, never been married, has a career, and doesn’t even own a pet. I am 28, I have a husband, a child, am a stay-at-home mother, and have 3 pets. But somehow there is just that meeting of the minds.

This weekend will be a bittersweet occasion. I’m so excited to see April, but I know it will be quite some time before I see her again. It’s that way with all my friends. Slowly I’ve been saying goodbye and wondering how long they’ll remember me. I know how hard it is to keep up a friendship when several thousand miles separates you. But hopefully it will happen.

At least I know I will always have my online friends!! Y’all don’t care whether I’m on the East Coast or the West!

In other news, I got to hold a 9-day-old baby today. Don’t I look just wonderful with a tiny baby in my arms?? It’s getting time for #2, I think!

Don't I look lovely with a brand new baby in my arms???

 

7 Responses to “Plans for the weekend”

  1. Kurt Says:

    This picture makes me miss you so much. I cant wait to get home and give you a HUGE kiss. We will work out something with getting you # 2.

    :-* :-*

  2. acaldwell Says:

    you look natural in that pic!!! cutie!!

  3. shipjumper Says:

    #2!!??? Hmmmmm……have fun!! Sounds as if ‘the man’ is ready to fill that desire. Woot woot!! Have fun this weekend with your friend hon. And yes, I’m sure the two of you will stay in touch. Miles mean nothing now days.

  4. Amanda Says:

    I totally understand the friendship thing. Of course I do, I’ve had to up and move and say goodbye too. I wondered myself if I’d actually keep in touch with people. I think if it wasn’t for the internet, I probably would only keep in touch with like 2 people. Military life is so freaking hard. If people aren’t leaving you, then you are leaving them. And just when you get close to someone again, they leave or you leave and hell it’s just hard. My best friend is from Idaho, and never wants to move. We are SO VERY CLOSE, we talk for hours every single day. It kills me because deep down in my heart, I know I will never live close to her again, and our relationship will always be long distance. I hope you deal with this moving thing better than me. I was really depressed for months after moving here to Colorado. Sometimes I still get depressed. Shouldn’t there be a spouse support thing for us women that go through this??? HA!
    Anyhow, the pic! SO CUTE!! Makes me wanna hold my baby boy! And you look great! I love your hair! Hopefully Number 2 can come for you soon after the move!! 🙂 ((((LOVES)))

  5. whatdayisit Says:

    I can imagine how hard it must be to move and leave old friends and make new ones. Hope it will be a good visit with your friend.
    From comment #1, it sounds like you might have a new baby to befriend in a few months too! LOL

    Enjoy your weekend.

  6. lisele Says:

    You look perfect with a baby in your arms! Gracie needs a sibling…

  7. Blue Opal Says:

    I know it’ll be hard for you to leave your friend – but if she’s smart she’ll keep up with you here online and it’ll make things a little easier! *Hugs* And you just look lovely, period. Your eyes are so gorgeous. I am jealous!


Leave a Reply

