The Mind of Bluesleepy

Day 1 — Washington to Idaho 7 September 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 11:29 pm

Greetings from Moscow!!!

No, not Moscow, Russia. Wouldn’t that be cool, though? However, I am still in the good ol’ United States, headed toward Moscow, Idaho. And let me tell you, it’s not easy to type on a laptop while you’re in a moving vehicle, especially when you have issues with a laptop keyboard to begin with.

The plan has changed somewhat, as you might have guessed. The movers we had today were amazingly efficient. They came in to the house, investigated how they were going to put it on the truck, and got to work immediately. In fact, the one guy didn’t take a smoke break till noon!!

I did like our girl packers yesterday, but every time the loser male packer would take a smoke break, one or the other of them would take one too, and they always stretched out to 15 or 20 minutes. I don’t begrudge people their smoke breaks, but I know for it doesn’t take 15 or 20 minutes to smoke one cigarette.

But I digress.

The packers started putting things on the truck at 8:45 this morning. They were done right at 1pm. Amazing!

At about 10am, I was over at J’s house to see the quilt she’s working on for Grace one last time. Kurt came over to chat too, and then started musing about trying to get to Spokane tonight since the packers were going to be done so early. We had assumed that the movers would be working till 4pm today, which would postpone our departure until tomorrow morning. But we’d discussed last night that we needed to leave by 7am tomorrow to get to Yellowstone on time. Why not break the trip up and get to Spokane tonight?

So that’s what we did. However, we were informed that the drive to Pullman along Hwy 26 was much prettier than taking I-90 all the way to Spokane. That’s how we ended up with a motel reservation in Moscow, Idaho.

I’m kind of sad we left earlier than planned. If everything had worked out according to the original plan, we were to stay one more night with our friend Debbie and then head out in the morning. I was going to take the whole family out to dinner as a thank-you for letting us stay at her house for two straight nights, but now we’ve already left. And we left before Debbie and her husband could come home from work, so we didn’t even get to say a proper goodbye to them.

But I’m tired of goodbyes. I’ve been crying all day. I cried when I said goodbye to my friend J. She’s been there through thick and thin, my caretaker during my first deployment as a Navy wife, my shoulder to cry on when I was going through some family issues, my go-to woman when I’m bored and I just need to talk. She is Grace’s honorary “auntie,” having taken such an interest in my pregnancy that I invited her into my delivery room so she could experience childbirth for herself. From the moment Gracie popped her head out into the world, J’s been right there for her. Any time I needed a break from her when Kurt was deployed, J was more than willing to take her for a couple of hours and entertain her. It’s meant so much to me.

Then I had to say goodbye to my neighbor TC. I didn’t get quite as close to her as I did to J, butwe were still good friends. She invited me to barbeques and parties when Kurt was gone, making sure I had plans for Easter dinner instead of staying home all by my lonesome. She loved having me bring my dog Koolit as well, so during the Fourth of July I didn’t have to worry about leaving him home by himself; I could bring him with me so he could play with TC’s dog. Anything I needed, TC would do her best to help me with.

I also said goodbye to my mail lady and good friend S, the one who’d helped me so much during the softball game. I chatted with her a bit at the mailbox, but then the movers finished their work and I had to go back in to vacuum the house. I saw her again at the post office, where I stopped to say goodbye to the postmaster, who’s become an honorary grandma to Gracie. I bawled as I said goodbye to the postmaster, and then again when S had to go back to work.

And in the midst of packing, my other friend ST, who works at my favorite used bookstore, stopped by my house to give me some coffee milk syrup and to bid me goodbye and safe journeys. I even cried saying goodbye to her.

Plus my house, the very first house Kurt and I bought and made into a home, is no longer our own.

I’m amazed I still have makeup on at this point.

But the trip is going well. We have plenty of room in our new minivan, and we’re making good time to Moscow. Grace was getting a bit fussy the last hour or so, but she’s incredibly overtired from the barbeque last night, and she was woken early by Debbie’s husband as he went off to work. She ended up in one of those moods where she didn’t know which end was up – she wanted this, but then she didn’t want it, and then she would cry because she didn’t know what she wanted. Poor girl. Now she’s asleep, and all is quiet. Except for the cats crying in their cage in the back, but that’s easy to tune out.

I’m still amazed that tomorrow I will be in Yellowstone. All my life I’ve been hearing about it and seeing it on tv, and tomorrow I’ll be there. How exciting!!!

 

9 Responses to “Day 1 — Washington to Idaho”

  1. Miss Hiss Says:

    Guard your pic-a-nic baskets with your life tomorrow, baby! And have a ball as you wend your way east. Love, R xxx

  2. acaldwell Says:

    you will LOVE yellowstone!! i used to cook at the old faithful inn, and i gotta tell ya the food is great!!! get ya camera ready!!! safe travels!!

  3. yankeechick Says:

    Travel safe and have a ball!!

  4. spicoli007 Says:

    One door closes and another is opened. Sending good vibes your way for a safe trip. Also, well wishes for lots of new adventures for you and your loved ones. Love, Peace, and Happiness, ~Boxx

  5. chaosdaily Says:

    *sniff* you made me cry too! glad things are going well, though!

  6. terri T. Says:

    So you are on the road …..hope you love all the special places you will be seeing and take lots of photos. This will be a trip to remember, for sure.
    I am positive you will make more new friends once you get to RI. It is always hard to say goodbye to old friends, though. You could send your friends who had you at their house a gift certificate for a restaurant as a thank you.

  7. Poolie Says:

    Have a safe trip. Road trip updates are good! Keep them coming!

  8. Fi Says:

    You’re going to visit Yogi!! YAY

  9. Michele Says:

    Man, i got teary-eyed just reading this!!

    Ok, damnit… ART and CHAOS even have icons now!! I want one! How do I get one/make one????

    LOVE YOU!! MISS YOU!!

    PLEASE CALL ME TOMORROW!!!!!


Leave a Reply

