The Mind of Bluesleepy

Day 6 and Day 7 14 September 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 3:00 pm

There’s nothing too spectacular to report regarding Day 6, Chicago to Pennsylvania. The drive was filled with more cornfields, more cows, more horses. It was a gorgeous day to drive, though.

The most amusing part of the day was meeting a baby at an oasis where we had lunch. She was at the table next to us, and of course, Kurt and I had to ooh and ahh over her. She was just adorable, probably about a year old, and had the most adorable blue eyes.

The next time we stopped for a bathroom break, we saw the same baby and her family again!!!

I told the mother that we weren’t stalking her, really we weren’t.

My grandma told me that it would take four hours through Ohio and three and a half through Pennsylvania. That’s exactly how long it took us to get to Grandma’s house too.

Grandma had a pot roast keeping warm in the oven, with this really yummy butternut squash side dish and some mashed potatoes. I don’t like squash, but this stuff was good! I really liked it.

Grace had so much fun at my grandparents’ house. She kept telling us all that the recliners were her chairs, that no one was able to sit in them. When one of us would sit in a recliner, she would yell at us and say, “That’s my chair!!” Then Grandpa successfully reclaimed his chair. Grace decided it was now a good time to start spinning poor Grandpa around in the recliner as fast as she could go. And she also thought it was a great idea to try to pull out poor Grandpa’s hair!

Grace trying to pull poor Grandpa's hair out

My poor grandfather. He’s 82 years old, and can’t resist a pretty girl.

On Day 7, my grandparents took us down to a nearby park, where I took some lovely photos of the Juniata River. They live in such a gorgeous area; I was lucky to be able to capture some of it on “film.”

A lovely place to picnic

I told my grandparents in the afternoon that we were thinking to go ahead and head to DC that evening after dinner. Grandma confessed that she hadn’t thought of what she was doing for dinner, so would pizza be okay??

Pizza is always okay!

Grandma and I drove down to Pizza Hut to pick up a couple of pizzas and left Grace with Kurt and Grandpa. By the time we got back, Grace had a black eye.

No one knows where she got it from. Kurt had to use the restroom, Grandpa was busy doing something else, and by the time they met back up with Grace, she managed to black her eye.

Toddlers.

After dinner we headed down to DC. Streets & Trips, which has been fairly reliable up to this point, took us this weird way through Pennsylvania along these tiny little roads. I knew it wasn’t the way Dad has been taking for the last 25 years, so I was a little nervous. But my nervousness was misplaced, and we managed to get down to DC in just about three hours. I think that’s a record!

So now we’re here in DC. I have all the wireless I could possibly desire. I love it!! I just come into the living room, wake up the laptop, and there’s the internet. It’s the greatest thing since sliced bread.

Tomorrow — we go on Dad’s new boat! I should have lovely photos of the Potomac River tomorrow to share.

 

6 Responses to “Day 6 and Day 7”

  1. Michele Says:

    i just LOVE the expression on Grandpa’s face! I’m glad you’re having a good visit with our family. Miss you & love you!

  2. chaosdaily Says:

    amazing that grace got a black eye and didnt scream bloody murder! and im trying to get to pogo for you, but im having trouble finishing my own!!!

  3. purple chai Says:

    My husband’s first cousin also worked in the Pentagon — Army — and in an office that was hit, but he was out of state on some assignment that day.

    Sounds like you’re having a great trip. Adorable picture of Grace with your grandfather.

  4. Caroline Says:

    You were really stalking that family with the baby! I know you! Ha ha ha ha ha ha. . And be by your phone, I may call you today with news since I’ve had contractions all night off and on!

  5. art Says:

    wanna see where i lived at when i was in DEE CEE?? goto 1743 18th st, NW, thats 18th and riggs!! i like DEE CEE nice town!!

  6. terri T. Says:

    Your trip continues to sound so adventurous. I understand what you mean about the franchised motels. We have used Holiday Inn Express for a few years and even those, at times, have been less than attractive. Also had the experience of no Internet. In Portland, we had to take our laptop into the lobby (such as it was) to get the wireless Internet.


Leave a Reply

