The Mind of Bluesleepy

A day on the Potomac 16 September 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 9:31 pm

For the record, Mark is pretty conservative when it comes to showing his undies. He almost always makes sure that his shirt is pulled down over the waistband so you don’t see his undies, and his pants aren’t dropped but a little bit. Instead of around his true waist, like a woman would wear classic-fit jeans, his hang more around his hips, sort of like low-riders for us ladies.

I saw a boy once in Wendy’s sitting down in a booth. The waistband of his jeans were literally around his upper thighs, exposing his undies (and his butt!) to the world.

Ewww.

Mark’s not nearly that bad. He used to be — he used to be all into the whole “huge shirt with ginormous pants” thing. Now he wears somewhat tight-fitting shirts with loose pants and just the right pair of sneakers.

He spends more time on his outfit than I do. I sort of look through my shirts and grab one, all the while mentally deciding which pants and what shoes I’ll wear with them. Time spent? Probably five minutes. Ten if I feel I have to iron the shirt or if I see a stain on the shirt.

Mark’s admitted to spending up to an hour deciding on his outfit.

Hey, it brings in the girls! He is never lacking for female company. He’s doing something right!

Today we successfully went out on the boat. Dad’s so proud of himself for finding an oil leak and tightening up the appropriate bolt. Kurt spent much of yesterday re-wiring the brake lights on the trailer so that they actually work.

We headed down the marina and launched the boat into the Potomac River. It was an absolutely gorgeous day to go.

GORGEOUS day for a boat ride

Grace loved the entire day!! She would stick her head into the wind, get tired of that, and head back inside. She was in and out and in and out and in and out and in and out… She loves that kind of independence.

I spent my time photographing. Of course, I had my circular polarizer on my lens, giving me those rich blues and vibrant greens in my shots. I took something like 150 photos today. Thank goodness for digital. I used to spend so much money on film processing, out of my measly allowance.

Mt Vernon, home of George Washington, from the Potomac

We went past most of the big sights — Mount Vernon in Virginia, where George Washington lived, as well as the Washington Monument, the Jefferson Memorial, and the Lincoln Memorial. We even went past the Kennedy Center and the Watergate before tying up in Georgetown to have lunch. There we were surrounded by the “beautiful people,” which always makes me a little uncomfortable. I hate being judged by the clothes I wear or the purse I carry because really, what does it matter?

Then it was time to head back to the dock. I fell asleep inside the boat, and Grace did too. I was so disoriented when I woke up, and it didn’t help that my watch was still on Pacific time. But we had a blast!! More photos from today can be seen HERE.

 

6 Responses to “A day on the Potomac”

  1. art Says:

    so you are doing the touristy stuff!! good dealie!! when you was in georgetown, did any of the snotty ones say anything to you? hehehee!! i know you will have a good comeback for em!!! i saved some pics!!

  2. Caroline Says:

    o0o0o0o0o0o Deb and I were in DC about 7 yrs ago? Pre kids and I remember shopping in Georgetown with the “beautiful people” and feeling all self conscience. (did I spell that right?) Anyhow, my momma’s coming and she wants to go to DC so you’ll have to tell me what to do in November!!!!

  3. whatdayisit Says:

    Your moving trip continues with such great pictures. Are you getting anxious to get settled in your new place to live?

  4. michele Says:

    i’m glad you got to go out on Dad’s boat. give everyone a hug for me.

  5. yankeechick Says:

    What a great day you had and as always beautiful photos. Keep on with the good times, girly girl!

  6. Angela Says:

    You take the most fantastic pictures — that shot of Mt. Vernon is absolutely gorgeous!

    Love the pictures of you, Kurt, and Mark out and about. The bowling pictures make me nostalgic. 😉 I don’t think I’ll ever get used to seeing grown-up pictures of Mark, I will always remember him as a cute little kid!


Leave a Reply

