The Mind of Bluesleepy

We’re on our way to Rhode Island! 17 September 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 5:52 pm

(Ten extra credit points if you get the reference in the title.)

Yep, it’s that time again, folks. It’s time for me to do laundry and re-pack the suitcases. Tomorrow we head into the Great Unknown, otherwise known as Rhode Island.

I’m a little sad that my time here in DC is over. I wouldn’t ever want to live here again (there does come a time when a daughter needs to move out and move on with her life, and I have definitely reached that point), but it’s a nice vacation. Since it’s not my house, I don’t have to do a whole lot, and honestly there isn’t much that can be done with my dad’s house even if I wanted to. So that leaves me plenty of time to just go and do fun things with my parents and my brother.

Even Koolit is enjoying his time in DC

Even my dog is enjoying his time here. Technically he’s not supposed to be on the couch, but I think my mom’s given up with trying to shoo him down. He just jumps right back up again, since he’s used to sleeping on the couch in my house. I don’t get why you wouldn’t let animals up on your couches. They’re going to do it when you’re not there anyhow. They’re just like kids!!!

Today was nothing terribly exciting. After Kurt worked on the boat a little bit with my dad, we decided to beat feet and head out to the mall. Growing up, we always went to the mall closest to the house, and it was a good mall. Lots of stores, fairly clean, good merchandise… It was a nice place to be.

I’m not a mall snob, but I am not fond of going to ghetto malls. And unfortunately, my childhood mall has turned into exactly that.

Even the Macy’s in that mall is sketchy.

Instead we went to Tysons Corner, a very upscale and ritzy place to be. It’s not quite as ritzy as Tysons Galleria, where the uber-rich people shop, but it’s still pretty ritzy. It was so bright and clean and spiffy, and just generally gorgeous. I loved it.

I spent the majority of my time in Sephora, drooling over all the makeup they have there. They seemed to have acquired a few more makeup lines since the last time I was there, which is nice because I was able to play with new makeup! That’s why I love Sephora so much — everything has a tester, so you don’t have to guess what color things are through the packaging.

We met a woman and her four kids (ages 4, 3, 2, and just under a year — what was she thinking??) at the play area in the mall. As we walked away, she noticed my Sephora bag and handed me a Mary Kay flyer, saying that her prices are better than Sephora. That’s surely the case, but MK doesn’t carry the bright colors and the glitter that I like to wear. They’re geared more towards women who want to be more natural in their makeup.

Besides, I already have a MK lady. I can’t cheat on her! That’s just not right!

The only downside to the day was getting home. We’d gone to the mall by way of the Beltway and had no problems since it was noon by the time we left Dad’s house. We tried coming home on the Beltway at around 4pm today, which was the height of madness. I have no clue what we were thinking. I finally exited the Beltway at a point where I thought I knew where I was, and of course, I was hopelessly lost. But Mom called us to ask a question, and we were able to get directions from her.

It took us over an hour to get home. Grrrrr. And Dad wonders why I don’t want to move back here!

But now we’re home, and I’m working on getting the rest of our stuff together. Kurt already packed the van to where we just have to throw in our suitcases. It’s a sad thing, really. And so much work is staring at me once we get to Rhode Island. Plus I’ll have to start over again, find my way around, make new friends, explore new things.

It’ll be an adventure!

 

12 Responses to “We’re on our way to Rhode Island!”

  1. Caroline Says:

    Oh you’ll like it there. .. downtown Newport reminds me of Poulsbo a bit and I am totally coming to visit you in the spring when Moira has spring break!

  2. poolagirl Says:

    Adventure indeed! Exciting and expasperating at the same time.

  3. art Says:

    you will love it!!! Adventure Awaits!!! once you settle in, you will be all right!!! heres a reference for ya, “The History of Battery E, First Regiment, Rhode Island Light Artillery, in the war of 1861 and 1865, to preserve the union!!!” by george lewis, 1892.
    neener!!! neener!!! neener!!! wheeeee!!! aint i smart! safe travells, and good luck!!!

  4. twisterjester Says:

    I adore MK makeup but can’t afford to so much as think about it *sigh*

  5. michele Says:

    1)Ok..is the reference to the title: WOOT! RI!

    2)I am not ashamed to admit that I *AM* a mall snob!

    3)Yes, that mall is ghetto!

    4)Have a great drive to RI and I’ll talk to you later!

    LOVE YOU!!! *muah*

    ps– if you like Urban Decay, you should try Too Faced. They have a lot of stuff you’d like.

  6. spicoli007 Says:

    (Re:) Dave went to Junior High School in RI. His family lived in North Kingstown. Will you visit Cosmic? I saw a baby picture of you at your sister’s site and it looked just like Grace.

  7. Angela Says:

    Hey, you have at least one built-in friend anxiously awaiting your arrival! 😉

    Ghetto malls…I hear you on that. Newport News comes to mind! I work right down the road from an extremely snobby mall (we’re even getting a Saks Fifth Avenue!) and it’s a fantastic place to hang out on a rainy day. I can’t afford to shop in most of the stores, but they have a Chick-Fil-A in the food court, which makes it superawesome. 😉

    Girlie, you have to take me make-up shopping, I am in desperate need of a makeover! I need help finding nice subdued grown-up-professional blah blah blah stuff that’s easy enough for me to throw on in 5 minutes every morning!

  8. Angela Says:

    I can’t believe I forgot the best part…the amazingly WICKED AWESOME (hee) Wrentham Village Outlets are just about an hour away from you, and an hour away from me. I foresee many fabulous shopping trips in our future. 😉

  9. shipjumper Says:

    Anxiously awaiting your arrival and all the stories you will share of the new friends you will be making! Drive safe!

  10. whatdayisit Says:

    Sounds like you already have a welcoming committee of blog friends once you arrive in RI. Have a ball on the final part of your long journey. I look forward to hearing about your new place.

  11. Cosmic Says:

    I so wish I were feeling well enough for a little day trip. Newpoprt is only about 40 minutes from me. I wold like to be a welcoming party of one, but alas, I’m not quite up for it yet. I will make it there eventually, I promise! For what it’s worth, RHODE ISLAND WELCOMES YOU!!!!!!


Leave a Reply

