The Mind of Bluesleepy

Two-pet policy 27 September 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 12:21 pm

I have found one thing to dislike about the house. As I have mentioned before, my old house was less than 900 sq ft. Of that less than 900 sq ft, probably half of it was carpeted.

It took me all of ten minutes to vacuum the entire house (including the kitchen), and I never had to move the cord.

My new house is roughly 1400 sq ft, and everything but the bathrooms, kitchen, and laundry room is carpeted. It took me probably almost half an hour to vacuum it all, plus I had to move the cord.

There is something to be said for small homes.

I am loving the kitchen, though. We had a galley kitchen before, which means we had two rows of cabinetry facing one another. Now I have a square of a kitchen, with cabinetry on two walls forming an L. The other two walls have entryways cut into them, but in between is a glorious amount of open floor space. Plus Kurt could sit in the kitchen while I’m cooking and not be in my way.

Last night was Salsa Chicken and Rice Casserole. It’s an easy thing to make, with layers of rice, chicken, a sauce (made of salsa, cream of mushroom soup, and diced tomatoes), and cheese. I also throw in chili powder and cumin (what my brother-in-law calls “ass spice” because he hates the smell of it in the jar) while the chicken is browning in the pan to give it more of a kick. Kurt is a huge fan of highly-flavored food.

I’ve made it before, but maybe not while Kurt was home. He raved over it, which makes me think I haven’t made it for him before. He liked it so well he wanted to finish the entire pan.

Have I mentioned that my carpet is a medium brown Berber? In a way, that’s a good thing. It hides all the dirt, and since it’s multi-colored there is no way a stain would show. But at the same time, it’s not so good. It’s so effective in hiding stains and spots that when we first moved in and Koolit started marking (for some unknown reason), I couldn’t find the spots to clean unless I either walked over them or got down on my hands and knees and used my nose.

Not fun.

At least you can’t see any of the spots. Before we had white Berber, and every single drop of dirt was highly visible. We ended up getting it professionally cleaned right before we moved, and it was amazing how different and clean it looked! ‘

It’s so unrewarding to vacuum Berber carpet. You can’t tell if the dirt’s gone because the carpet is the color of dirt, and there are no lovely lines left by the vacuum cleaner because there is no pile to be lifted.

All that work and nothing to show for it.

But whilst I was vacuuming (I said “whilst” and you didn’t — neener!), I looked over at my couch and noticed this:

I know we're only allowed two pets...

I know we have a two-pet rule, but this is ridiculous! I guess Storm is fearful of being thrown out, being our third pet, so he’s hiding from the property managers. He crawled up in there himself, so I have no idea what he’s thinking.

Or maybe he’s just hiding from Grace. She has an annoying habit of picking him up, which he doesn’t care for.

Poor Storm.

 

6 Responses to “Two-pet policy”

  1. whatdayisit Says:

    So glad you are loving your new home (except for the carpet, LOL). My house is 1531 s.f. and I have to move the cord once when I vacumn from one end of the house to the other…and sometimes I cheat and don’t vacumn the guest room all the time or I would have to move the cord again!.
    Loved the picture of your cat…I have 3 cats and have found two of them do that, hide under a comforter at times as if I can’t see the huge lump! The third cat would probably do the same but she is so fat; she can’t jump up on the bed unless she is really determined!.

  2. Terri Says:

    That recipe sounds delish! Do you use whole chicken pieces or shred it? I need details, woman!

  3. Caroline Says:

    that’s funny, poor storm. It took me a minute to realize he was hiding under the blanket though, must be that I’m tired!!!

  4. oleandlena Says:

    That chicken recipe sounds wonderful. Want to share the details? I’d love them.

  5. art Says:

    poor storm! he misses his old home!! i love all things chicken!!!

  6. cardiogirl Says:

    I love how the cat is hiding under the blanket. If I can’t see them, it means I’m invisible!

    Kids and cats must think alike — that’s exactly the game I play with my 2-year-old.

    Oh yeah, I also enjoyed the assessment of the new house which I like to boil down to one sentence fragment: “plus I had to move the cord.”


Leave a Reply

