The Mind of Bluesleepy

Mmmm casserole… 28 September 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 5:35 pm

Who doesn’t like a casserole??

Okay, I do know a few people who don’t like them. My friend J’s husband wasn’t fond of casseroles. He said his mother always made them, so he wouldn’t let J make them for dinner.

Every so often, he wouldn’t be home for dinner, and every time that happened, she made tuna noodle casserole. I was lucky enough to be invited to a few of those dinners.

I love tuna noodle casserole.

I am actually looking for some good casserole recipes. Some folks (thanks, Terri!) have already shared favorite recipes with me, for which I am grateful. If you have any good recipes that your family loves, and you’d like to share with me, please email them to me at karylmaree at hotmail dot com. Our only requirement is that they not have nuts integral to the recipe, as Grace has a nut and peanut allergy. It’s okay if they’re just used as a garnish since I can easily leave them out, but if you think it’s the nuts that make the recipe, then it’s probably not a good recipe for us.

Speaking of nuts, when I was at Walmart a couple of days ago, I stopped at the Dunkin Donuts inside to get a cup of coffee. The woman behind the counter was so taken with Grace’s cuteness that she gave her a couple of doughnut holes. Of course, I asked if they had nuts in them, which sparked a discussion between me and the clerk about allergies. Her grandson as well suffers from a peanut allergy, as well as allergies to wheat and soy and milk and a zillion other things. He also has the peanut allergy trifecta. Apparently a lot of children who suffer from a peanut allergy also suffer from asthma and eczema. If your kid has two of the three, you’re supposed to watch them very carefully in case they develop the third.

Have I mentioned that Grace has eczema?

It’s not bad, not like some people have. Her legs are rather rough in texture, and she’s getting the “chicken skin” on her upper arms that Kurt has too. But she has never had baby soft skin, except on her trunk.

So I’ve been keeping an eye on her very closely in case she develops asthma. The woman at Dunkin Donuts assured me that if she ever develops asthma, I would know. She would wheeze when she ran, or she would complain of her chest hurting. Fortunately she’s never showed even a minor sign of wheezing or chest pains. And she runs everywhere.

But I’m still nervous.

A couple just walked past our home with their small son on his trike, and each parent had a dog on a leash. Only they weren’t dogs — they were horses! They were that big! I’m thinking they were Great Danes, if Great Danes come in black. But with only 1400 sq ft per house, and a small backyard, why would you want such a large dog?

Things that make you go hmmmmmmmmmmmm….

And now, for your edification and enjoyment, here is the recipe for my Salsa Chicken & Rice Casserole!

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

4 skinless, boneless chicken breast halves

2 cups shredded Mexican-blend cheese

1 can condensed cream of mushroom soup

1 can diced tomatoes

1 onion, chopped

1 jar (16oz) salsa

4 cups cooked rice

1. Preheat oven to 350º. Lightly grease a 9×13” pan.

2. Cut chicken into bite-size pieces and sauté with onion until cooked. Add cumin and chili powder to the chicken when cooked and allow spices to become fragrant. Remove from heat.

3. In a medium bowl, mix together the cream of mushroom soup with the salsa and the diced tomatoes. Layer half of the rice, half of the chicken mixture, half of the sauce mixture, and half of the cheese in the prepared pan. Repeat layers, ending with cheese.

4. Bake in preheated oven for 40 minutes, or until bubbly.

 

4 Responses to “Mmmm casserole…”

  1. chaosdaily Says:

    ever see bloodhounds? man those dogs are big!!

  2. Poolie Says:

    Get a can of Spaghettio’s. Open the can. Put into a pan. Heat. Serve. Serves 2.

  3. Tracey Says:

    Mmm, that sounds good.

    We have several casseroles that we like, and when I say “we”, I mean my husband and I, because our kids like their foods to all be separate from one another. It’s a trial.

    We like Chicken Divan (broccoli, chicken, cream/shroom soup, crispy topping), Hash Brown Cassrole (hash browns, cream/shroom soup, cheese, crispy topping, chicken if you want it to be a main dish), a no-name dish (peas, potatoes, hamburger meat, mushrooms), and there’s a Mexican one too, I think. Let me know if any appeal, and I’ll scare up recipes.

    It’s starting to get just a little cooler here, and when it does, I won’t mind using the oven again. Bring on the casseroles!

    And what about crock-pot cooking? Do you do any of that?

  4. whatdayisit Says:

    My husband won’t eat food that is mixed up either so I don’t make casseroles or spaghetti or chili unless I want to eat the whole thing myself. I am lucky he eats pizza on occasion! Now I am hungry for all the casseroles you mentioned and in the comments. Guess I will make myself something and eat it all week!


Leave a Reply

