The Mind of Bluesleepy

Make new friends, but keep the old 1 October 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 10:44 am

Happy October, everyone!!

I think October has to be my favorite month. The leaves are changing, the air smells fresh and clean, the colors are vibrant. There is just something about this month I can’t resist.

I guess that’s why I was married in October! On the 12th, to be exact.

And three years ago, I was a week overdue with Grace, wondering when (if ever!!) she was going to make her appearance. She finally came into the world two weeks late on 7 October after a fun day of being induced into labor. The perfect early anniversary present, I’d say!!!

There’s a tree in my front yard that shades the house. It’s still mostly covered in green leaves, but the leaves on the far ends of each branch are just starting to change color to crimson. That’s something I really missed in Washington — we have so many evergreen trees out there that there is no real autumn. You know it’s fall because the rain starts again.

Speaking of lovely fall days, yesterday was one of the most beautiful. My good friend Angela from college (I just realized we’ve known each other for ten years now! WOW!) lives near Boston, and was so stoked to hear that we were moving to New England. This was the first weekend both of us had free, so she found this neat little apple farm to visit.

It’s called The Big Apple Farm, and it’s in Wrentham, Massachusetts. It’s a working apple farm featuring all kinds of different apple varieties. There was a chart up in the store, showing what varieties had “landed” (available for purchase now), which had “departed” (the season was over), and which were “on time” to be picked later — just like in the airport! Very clever, if you ask me.

The Big Apple Farm in Wrentham, Mass

I bought a new apple variety called Cortland. The chart said they were good for eating, baking, and making applesauce and pies! I really want to try my hand at baking apples, which is why I went with those. Plus my favorite apple, the Fuji, aren’t arriving until 15 October, so I had to go with something new.

I’ll let you know what I think after I try them.

We also bought a homemade pickle from the store. Angela and I had full intentions of sharing it, but after biting into it, it was a wonder we ate any at all! It was like eating straight vinegar! I liked it, but then I like a lot of vinegar. But there was only so much I could eat of it. Kurt ended up eating most of it, of course.

After we explored the store thoroughly, it was time to venture outside. Grace immediately spotted the horses that were available for rides! She looks like a natural horsewoman:

Grace feels so comfortable on Shadow she gives me a wave!!

She rode a small horse named Shadow, led by that little girl in the photo. She went around the track twice, and loved every second of it.

We also took a horse-drawn hay ride around the property. Wow, talk about a bumpy ride! The scenery was gorgeous, but I am sure glad we have cars to ride around in, instead of wagons pulled by horses. My boobs wouldn’t stop jiggling the entire way!

But we had a blast. It was so nice to get back together with Angela. She has been a true friend throughout some of my darkest days, and she still sticks with me! I was floored by how easily we got along yesterday too. It had been probably five years since we were together, and neither of us are the greatest of correspondents. We’d send each other emails maybe once every six months to a year.

Yesterday it was like we were never apart. She’d crack a joke, and I’d bust out laughing. Or I would mutter something under my breath, and she would end up giggling. It was just like old times!

I guess the Girl Scouts were right — Make new friends, but keep the old. One is silver and the other’s gold!

Angela and Karyl

 

9 Responses to “Make new friends, but keep the old”

  1. Angela Says:

    The sheer level of (wicked) awesomeness in that last picture is overwhelming. 😉

    I am still grinning ear to ear over how much 5 years and our slacker email habits haven’t changed either of us a single bit – it’s like those Tequila Rose pictures were only a month ago instead of years ago. Have I mentioned yet that I am SO GLAD YOU ARE HERE?? 🙂 I look forward to many, many days of fun, and over the next 3 years I fully intend to follow through on my promise (or was that a threat?) to teach Gracie “wicked awesome”.

  2. whatdayisit Says:

    It sounds like you had a wonderful day and isn’t it so great when you can pick up a friendship right where it left off a few years ago? Hope you two do have many days of sharing and giggling. You look good in the picture together

  3. karmacat Says:

    I use Cortlands in my apple pie!

  4. Caroline Says:

    I remember meeting her once!! I’m so glad you got to reunite with her again and hang out!! How fun!

  5. Terri Says:

    We got married on 10/12 too! Well, we got married in August and then had our big wedding on the 12. I get TWO anniversaries! Which is good, because the one in August is usually a bust. So he has a good couple months to plan something gooood! 😉

    It looks so gorgeous there! *sigh*

  6. art Says:

    what a pretty farm!!! its wonderful that you and angela got reunited!! she looks good!! gracie looks natural on the horse!!

  7. Poolie Says:

    What a great day! I think you have a true equestrian on your hands!

  8. twisterjester Says:

    I love October and November both. And like you, I miss seeing the leaves change. We have none of that here – neither the colors of fall nor trees with leaves!

  9. michele Says:

    You know, that’s funny… October is my favorite month, too. I always wanted to be married in October and it just so happened to work out for me. 🙂 I love your photos.

    I’ll look at flickr when I have time and when I’m feeling better. Still a little ucky so I’ll likely take half a day off again today.

    🙂


Leave a Reply

