The Mind of Bluesleepy

Happy happy birthday, to ART! 2 October 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 2:05 pm

So please head on over to Art’s page to wish him a happy birthday!  Go ahead… I’ll wait..

La dee dahhhh…

OK, are you back?  Thanks!

Aside from it being everyone’s favorite drivel-producer’s birthday, today is not so much a good day for me.

It’s just so much piled on me right now.  I know I have to be optimistic that things will get better, that I just moved here, that it’s a new adventure I am embarking upon.

I am trying to be optimistic.  But sometimes things just get to be too much.

I feel like such a wuss most of the time when I feel like this, that I should be stronger than this, that I should be able to withstand these sorts of feelings.  I’ve got to be stronger than this — I’m a wife, I’m a mother, I don’t have time to lay in bed all day, though that’s what I would rather be doing.

As much as I was ready to leave Washington, I wasn’t really ready to leave my friends.  Those were the folks that kept me sane when Kurt was out to sea.  It’s hard to stay friends when you live so far-flung from everyone.

I know this is what I signed up for when I became a Navy wife, so I ought not to complain.  And I do know things will get better, and it won’t take long till I get back to what I had in Washington.

It’s just hard to see that today.  Tomorrow… it will be better tomorrow.

 

10 Responses to “Happy happy birthday, to ART!”

  1. twisterjester Says:

    *Hugs* Hang in there. If you need somebody to talk to, email and I’ll send you a phone number. I’m off work today and am always up for talking to an online friend 🙂

  2. purple chai Says:

    We all feel that way – oh, I should be stronger, I should do this better. It’s crap. We are the way we are, and if other people look stronger, it’s the illusion they want us to see. Things will get better, but this is rough time. Hope it eases up a bit from day to day.

  3. chaosdaily Says:

    youre right, it will get better!

  4. Lena Says:

    The one thing that I found when Ole was in the Navy, and I’m sure you’ve found it also in your travels and numerous moves, is that military people are all pretty friendly. After all they’re all in the same boat – no pun intended. You haven’t been there very long, so you need to give yourself a bit of time to adjust. Aren’t there some wives clubs or organizations that you could use to get acquainted? How about some of the hobby shops – I always found it fun to go do something at one of the hobby shps and I was always able to get acquainted that way. I know it’s difficult, and I know that everyone has already said this, but it will get better, you’ve just got to have a little patience. Is hubby out to sea at the moment? It seems that the guys always make friends faster because they’re thrown into the group of guys they work with. Is there one of the guys who is married that he works with that maybe you could go out to dinner with or maybe invite over for an evening? As far as everything being piled on you – don’t feel alone there. I have a lot of days like that – overwhelmed – especially right now trying to get organized for our upcoming trip. You know how much men do for those kinds of things!! NOT! Anyway, just remember the one day at a time rule. And don’t set your goals so high each day that it’s impossible to accomplish them. I set one goal per day and if I accomplish more I consider it a great day. Hope you’re feeling better soon emotionally. Don’t let it get you down, okay?

  5. Michele Says:

    sweetie, i am sorry you’re feeling down. you know you can always call me when you’re blue. or green. or magenta. ha ha. it is tough leaving friends behind but i’m glad that at least while you were in Washington, you made some really great connections. before long, you’ll be doing the same there in Rhode Island.

    and bottom line… you ALWAYS have me for a friend no matter where *I* live!!!!!!!

    LOVE YOU!!! *muah*

  6. art Says:

    thanks for the birthday greetings!!! as you know, you just got there, give it a sporting chance. the area you live in is beautiful!!! if ya get bored, go for a country drive!! its fall, and i can bet you will find the foliage changing pretty colours!!! new england has the best fall foliage areas!!! (((((HUGS))))

  7. Poolie Says:

    Hugs to you. I can only imagine what it’s like for you.

  8. david Says:

    purple_chai prolly said it best.

    I think I know exactly what you mean and you know you’ve been there for me when feeling the same. Don’t hesitate for a second to let me return the favor. 😉

    I do have two thoughts to toss in though:
    1)Never apologize for feeling how you feel, it’s like apologizing for breathing.
    2)The important thing isn’t whether you /should/ feel better/stronger/faster, but that you /want/ to feel better. That’s a far better indicator of how things’ll turn out. It’s when you give up and don’t even want to feel better that you’re in real trouble.

    (hug)

    If it helps, I’ll be optimistic for you, and you can take a day off to wallow, okay? ‘Cause I have infinite faith in you and your friend-making and -keeping abilities (I mean you’ve kept me around this long, and I’m notorious for dropping off the face of the earth so you must be good) 😉

  9. Other Half Says:

    loved the opening lines. KISS KISS

  10. The Other Half Says:

    (oops, clicked wrong button)

    i see you have a lot of good friends. you have to put up with more crap than most and you handle it better than than most could. no matter what, i am there for you.

    **thanks to everyone for supporting a great woman.**


Leave a Reply

