The Mind of Bluesleepy

A better day today 3 October 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 10:57 am

You know, it’s so much easier to do laundry in an actual laundry room. When I lived in Washington, the washer and dryer were in a closet shut away with bifold doors right in the hallway leading from the main part of the house back to the bathroom and the bedrooms. When I was doing laundry, I would have to leave the hampers right in the middle of the hallway, which meant I had to dodge them every time I went back to the bathroom or my bedroom. Grace would end up stealing them as well, and sometimes the cats would leap into them. It just wasn’t a very convenient thing.

Now I have an entire laundry room. The door can be shut (although not all the way so the cats have access to their litter box), which really cuts down on the noise. I can sit here in the living room and watch tv without having to turn it all the way up just to hear it, like I had to do when the appliances were in the hallway laundry closet. Also it seems as though they’re working better too. I know for sure the dryer is. Kurt thinks the vent in the old house was clogged because it would take at least two long cycles to dry even a medium-sized load that didn’t even have jeans in it. It didn’t help that the laundry closet was in the middle of the house, and the hot air had to be vented a really long way to get outside. In this house, the vent is connected right to the outside. I can put my dark load (with several pairs of jeans) in the dryer and set it to Very Dry, and they’ll be dry! Amazing, really.

So yes, today is a better day. I’m still not 100%, but at least I’m getting things accomplished. I’m not laying on the couch doing nothing, which is sort of what I did while Kurt was home yesterday. I’ve done two loads of laundry and gotten my grocery list written up, and I plan on getting my blondies baked for my Ms Cheez-It neighbor who was so kind when we were moving in. Also I plan on calling my new acquaintance that I met at the mall later tonight. She had called me on Sunday, but we were out with Angela, and then I just got into my funk. It’s hard for me to make calls on the best of days, anyway.

I really appreciate all the words of concern and advice y’all left in my comments yesterday. It does help to see that people do care.

Part of what helped break me out of my funk was going out to dinner yesterday. Kurt and I didn’t know where we wanted to go; we are really tired of chain restaurants after eating at those kinds of places the entire trip across country. Besides, Newport should have some pretty good places to eat, right?

So we headed out and found the perfect place to eat! The Newport Tokyo House — Sushi and Sashimi. Mmmm yummy! I was so worried moving here to Rhode Island that I would lose out on all my yummy Japanese restaurants back in Washington, since there are a lot of Japanese immigrants there. Plus my favorite restaurant had the perfect lunch — six pieces of hand-rolled sushi, with a tuna roll, served with miso soup and a salad of pickled bean sprouts. Kurt almost always got the lunch special, which changed every day, but had plenty of food for him, plus some to share with Grace.

The Newport Tokyo House had a bento box dinner, the same thing as the lunch special that Kurt used to get. He chose the asparagus beef, which had as its main entree thin slices of beef wrapped around crispy bits of asparagus. Oh my, was it GOOD! He let me nibble off his plate. I got the Sashimi and Sushi combo, which was six pieces of sushi, six pieces of sashimi, and a California roll. My only minor quibble with the meal was that the wasabi wasn’t already on my sushi. When I’d get the sushi special in Washington, there would be just enough wasabi on each piece of sushi, and it was heavenly. I find it hard to add just the right amount of wasabi to my sushi. I either get way too much, at which point my mouth is on fire, or I don’t get enough and I can’t taste it.

After dinner we headed back home, but I was able to snap a couple of really good shots of the Newport Bridge lit up at night. I love how it looks! It reminds me of the Christmas lights that Navy ships put up during the holidays to look more festive. I really need to use my tripod to get a great shot, but these handheld ones were still pretty darn good, if I say so myself!

The Newport Bridge

 

7 Responses to “A better day today”

  1. whatdayisit Says:

    What a beautiful picture. I bet you could take some of the ships when they are decorated for the holidays and use them as Christmas cards. You have a real gift of photography.
    I was glad to hear that you were feeling better. Just think of all the changes you have gone through this year…no wonder you feel a bit out of sorts. You have just made a major move across country and are getting settled into a new place to live. Give yourself a break. Soon you will have found all kinds of new friensd and great places to go for dinner and for shopping. Besides the holidays will be coming up soon and being in an Eastern climate; you will have the enjoyment of a real New England winter…LOL!

  2. Caroline Says:

    Okay, so now I’m all wanting to come visit you. . .:) I’ll have to make a point to visit you in a few months!

  3. Catie Says:

    Heh. Sushi is very important. I would not be okay with someone else applying wasabi, though. I mix it with my soy sauce.

    Your photo turned out great.

  4. art Says:

    issit christmas yet? lookit that pic!!! its beautiful!!

  5. yankeechick Says:

    Ah yes!! Lots of great new photo opportunities for our Ace Photographer!!! Score!!

    So glad you’re feeling better, little Buddy. It’s bound to be a bit overwhelming, even for someone as optimistic and upbeat as you! {{Hugs}}

  6. Angela Says:

    I’m so glad you’re feeling better sweetie. 🙂 We definitely need to have a sushi date soon – that place looks fantastic! And how cute is Gracie with those chopsticks? Love it! 🙂

    Hope you have a fantastic time with Ms. Cheez-It and Ms. Mall!

  7. The Other Half Says:

    can we go back for lunch? MMM MMM

    cant wait till the other side is open!

    Kiss cubed


Leave a Reply

