The Mind of Bluesleepy

Happy birthday, Grace! 8 October 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 5:36 pm

Yesterday was my daughter Grace’s birthday.

Grace grins when the cake is set in front of her

She turned 3.  Oh, my God, where has the time gone?  For those of you who might be interested in reading (or re-reading) the drama surrounding Grace’s birth, you can check out the story here.

Heh.  Grace just came up to the computer desk, saw the photo above, and started singing, “Happy birthday, Gracie!”  She’s just too darn cute for her own good.

Since we don’t really know anyone here (I did call the lady I met at the Children’s Place so we could get our kids together, but her phone number’s been disconnected), we just had a family day.

So we went bowling!  The bowling alley on base is really quite nice, and it’s very child-friendly.  They have bowling shoes tiny enough for Grace, and everything in the alley is computerized so the bumpers only come up when it’s Grace’s turn.  I know that’s pretty standard nowadays, but my mom was surprised such a thing existed.  Also they had a ramp the littler ones could use to help them get the ball down the alley.  Grace did pretty well.  I think she bowled somewhere in the 60s both games.  My second game I did well and bowled a 117, but Kurt won both games.  I was hoping I’d win the second game, but he pulled a win out of his butt.

After bowling we came home and had dinner.  Of course, what’s a birthday without cake??  I’d made her a double-layer chocolate cake with chocolate frosting.  That was Kurt’s request, since Grace is too little to ask for a specific flavor.  She loved the cake, and made a total mess of herself.

We got her a kitchen set as her birthday present, which took me probably two hours to put together last night.  I am not looking forward to Christmases spent putting everything together.  Man, what a pain in the butt!  But it’s all put together now, and I think it’s Grace’s favorite present.

I just can’t believe she’s three already.  My, how time flies.  I guess it’s time to start working on #2…

 

9 Responses to “Happy birthday, Grace!”

  1. purple chai Says:

    Happy Birthday, Grace!

  2. purple chai Says:

    I just read your childbirth story — wow, that must have been scary, but how wonderful that it was resolved so quickly. I don’t know how I would have dealt with my husband going away for five weeks when the first baby was two weeks old! I was still barely up and around by then.

  3. art Says:

    awww happy birthday gracie!! that cake looks so yummithy!!! did u save me a piece? hehehe!!! 🙂

  4. boxx Says:

    HAPPY #3 BIRTHAY to GRACE!

  5. Lena Says:

    Happy birthday Gracie. Tell your Mommy to enjoy every minute she has with you at this age because you grow so fast. I can’t believe MY baby is almost 32 years old!!

  6. Caroline Says:

    I love that pic! It’s so wonderful! And p.s. Moira said you could go with her to China!

  7. Poolie Says:

    Happy birthday to a real sweetie! And her parents too! They had a little bit to do with it.

  8. yankeechick Says:

    Happy Birthday Pretty Gracie!!!

    That cake looks wonderful. I’ll bet she loved it! You’re such a sweet Mama. I’ve never seen little ones like her bowl before. That must be a real Hoot!! How funny!!

  9. karmacat Says:

    Belated birthday wishes to Grace!


Leave a Reply

