The Mind of Bluesleepy

Pink is the new black 9 October 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 3:25 pm

Thanks for all the kind birthday greetings for Gracie! She had a blast on her birthday. She told everyone that it was her birthday, which cracked me up. I was also surprised that she seemed to get that her birthday only lasted one day. But then she is a pretty bright little girl.

Now if only we could get her potty-trained…

I got me a new cell phone! I am so excited.

See, while we were out and about on Saturday, I put my phone in one of the cupholders in the van, which is what I always do. I didn’t realize that there was a lot of water in there from the condensation dripping off the water bottle. Oops. I had gone into the Stop & Shop grocery store (which I like to call “Stop & Rob” — tee hee!) to grab some fixin’s for dinner when I realized my phone wasn’t working properly. The four-way button wouldn’t work, and I couldn’t use the 1, the 2, or the 3. Those are the numbers I use most, as 1 is speed-dial for my voicemail, 2 is speed-dial for Kurt, and 3 is speed-dial for my sister Michele.

Not to mention that just after Christmas, while Kurt was still out to sea with the Navy for seven months, a piece of my phone broke off. There was a little post that presses into a button when the clamshell phone closes to turn off the main screen. That little post went AWOL. I jerry-rigged it for lo these many months with a tiny wad of paper and some packing tape, which worked just fine but it wasn’t very pretty against a bright red phone. Plus the oils and makeup from my face would end up lifting the tape off the phone, causing me to try to reposition this very teeny wad of paper with my humongous sausage fingers.

Fortunately we keep our phones for quite some time (two years is about average for us), so Sprint was willing to extend us a $200 credit per phone. And joy of joys, my chosen phone comes in PINK!!!!

Behold, my shiny new phone:

Isn’t it just lovely? Kurt has the same one, only his is silver, in honor of the Oakland Raiders. That, and the only other choice was gold. Kurt’s not really into bling.

I am not quite sure where this fascination with pink is coming from. I used to despise the color as far too “girly.” I always sympathized with Laura Ingalls Wilder, who was incredibly envious of her sister Mary who received all the blue hair ribbons since it looked so pretty against her blonde hair. Laura, being a brunette, got pink.

Ever since I had Grace, though, pink seems to be my color. It also helps that now pink is paired with brown, and I think that color combination is simply beautiful. And I like pink in all shades — bright candy pink, baby pink, soft rose, fuchsia pink, hot magenta, carnation pink… the list goes on and on.

I also love to buy breast cancer awareness products whenever I can, which come in pink. I even have a watch made by Guess that has pink ribbons of hope all over its face, and I wear it every day during the month of October, whether it matches my outfit or not. A few years ago, my grandma was diagnosed with a lump. She had surgery to remove it, which was completely successful. But too many women are affected by this disease. If I spend a few dollars extra on something, and support Marn in her run for the cure every year, then maybe Grace will never have to worry about being diagnosed with breast cancer.

It’s my theory, anyhow.

 

6 Responses to “Pink is the new black”

  1. chaosdaily Says:

    cotton candy pink! thanks for the chocolate and the dirt!!!

  2. chaosdaily Says:

    oh and kid has almost the exact same phone, and she loves it!

  3. Michele Says:

    woah! maybe we ARE related after all. 😉 I used to think pink was too girly too but now i love it! that’s so cool…

    your phone is really pretty. mine is just black. when i got my phone, the pink Sanyo they had was more of a bubble-gum pink instead of a pretty, petal pink like yours is. plus, yours is metallic, too!

    love you!
    *muah*

  4. art Says:

    pretty in pink!!! woo hoo!!

  5. karmacat Says:

    Oooooh — pretty phone!

  6. whatdayisit Says:

    Very cute phone and a great way to celebrate Breast Cancer month too.
    Congrats on Gracie’s 3rd birthday. What a fun age she is now, as you already know. A bowling party for just a few was perfect….no crying kids or cleanup to do at home. Gracie got lots of attention and you were not exhausted by all the drama.


Leave a Reply

