The Mind of Bluesleepy

Who moved my cheese?? 15 October 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 10:13 pm
Tags: , ,

That’s the absolute worst thing about moving — you lose everything.  Sure, most of your stuff (if you’re lucky) gets from Point A to Point B in fine condition, but where the hell is it?  Here I sit at the computer desk we had in Washington, but there is nothing on it that was there just a few months ago.

So where is it all?

You got me!

I remember moving when I was a kid, and looking for something in our new home.  I was absolutely positive that the object in question was on this shelf on my hutch over the desk.  So I would go right to that spot — only to realize that the object had been there in the last house, or the house before that.

Sometimes I think it would behoove me to buy all new furniture each time I move.  Aside from being prohibitively expensive, it sure would solve my dilemma!

In other news in the world of Karyl, I have met a new friend.  Kurt works with a fellow Chief of the same rate who is married and has an 18-month-old daughter.  This Chief, whom we’ll call JC, is a pretty cool guy, and I seem to get along well with his wife, TC.  And their daughter is just too damn cute for words.

I met JC one day as I picked up Kurt from work (one of the benefits of living five minutes from the base is I can take him to and from work if necessary, and especially when he goes back to work after lunch).  JC was just coming out of the building, and Kurt wanted me to meet him.  He mentioned that they were probably going to run up to Providence to see the soapbox races and wondered if we wanted to tag along.  Not having anything else to do this weekend, we said sure.

I am so glad we went.  It was fun seeing these wacky and crazy human-powered vehicles come flying through the finish line, and to giggle at the opening skits broadcast on large tvs throughout the course.  I think my favorite vehicle featured a man in a tub with his buddy on a toilet next to him.  They weren’t anywhere near the fastest, but for me they were the most clever.

Hanging out with JC and his wife went well.  I’m always shy when I meet someone new, especially when faced with someone who is fashionable, slender, and pretty.  I always feel like the Queen of Dorks, being short, quirky in my dress, and “pleasingly plump.”

It doesn’t help that for much of my life, I was the Queen of Dorks, being just un-dorky enough that dorky guys really dug me.

It’s a good thing I have a thing for dorks.

TC is pretty, platinum blonde, normal sized (ie, not chubby, but not skinny), and tall.  They kept teasing me all day, and tried to get me closer to the course so I could actually see what was going on.   I seem to be a magnet for tall men, however, because as soon as I got into a position where I thought I could see, a tall man would wander right into my line of sight and block all chance that I had of knowing what was going on.

But apparently my personality more than made up for my lack of stature and my overabundance of dorkitude.  After the races were over, we eventually ended up at a bar/restaurant that the two of them like to frequent when they’re in town.

It’s not a bar-bar, in that it has a complete restaurant menu and many old people at the tables.  I point this out lest KLo’s  holier-than-thou commenter comes down on me for taking my toddler into a bar.  Like there are worse things in this world.  I grew up in a bar, for cryin’ out loud, and I’m none the worse for it.

But I did end up having four Sam Adams Oktoberfest beers at the bar.  Kurt was driving, and damn, those beers were good.   I love me a good amber beer; what can I say?  I initially was only going to have three, which is my usual limit, but one of the regulars bought TC a beer, and it takes her forever to drink a beer sometimes.  JC felt so sorry for me that he bought me one more beer.

He ended up finishing it, though.  I can only drink a beer so quickly.

We were invited back to their place to watch movies.  But getting back to our part of the state meant about an hour to a two-hour interval between the last beer at the bar and my first beer at their place.  Too much time had elapsed, and I couldn’t drink even half of my beer, though it was yet another Oktoberfest.  Instead I started feeling a bit woozy and dehydrated, so it was water for the rest of the night for me.

Yes, folks, I am a party-pooper, and I am getting old.  Instead of beer I chose water.  Shame on me.

A great time was had by all, though things started getting a wee bit fuzzy for our hosts.  We ran into them today at the store, and TC was concerned she’d thrown us out.  We had simply decided at 2:30am that we were tired, and we wanted to sleep in our own bed.

Grace slept till 11am the next morning, having stayed up till midnight.  Kurt and I both slept in, which threw the rest of our day off.  But it was definitely worth it.

Tomorrow I’m heading back up to Providence with my new friend.  That is, of course, after Grace’s 3-year well-baby visit to the pediatrician.  This is a new doctor for us, which always causes me concern.  I like to pick a doctor and stick with it, so seeing someone new usually stresses me out a bit.  Now I’ll have to explain the complications at birth and her various quirks.  I’ll need a referral to a dermatologist to keep an eye on her enormous birthmark, and one for a pediatric allergist to keep abreast of her nut and peanut allergy.

Fun stuff.

At least I don’t pay for these things.  Thank God for small blessings!

 

5 Responses to “Who moved my cheese??”

  1. twisterjester Says:

    Dammit, everybody’s moving but me. 😦 It’s my turn next, okay???

  2. oleandlena Says:

    I’m so glad you found someone to socialize with. Sounds like you had a great time – and tsk, tsk, taking your child into a bar (just kidding of course).

  3. Poolie Says:

    Glad things are falling into place for you, keed!

  4. cardiogirl Says:

    Get out, KLo has a holier-than-thou commenter?! Glad I haven’t run into that person.

  5. kitchenlogic Says:

    Wait! Why would I come down on you for bringing your kid into a bar? I love bars! I believe kids should hang out in bars if I’m going to be drinking, rather than being at home, getting into my own stash of booze! You better go and tell cardiogirl that I’m not a holier-than-thou commenter! Or am I?


Leave a Reply

