The Mind of Bluesleepy

Driving like maniacs 17 October 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 10:27 pm

Driving around here is for the birds, I’m telling ya.

I have no idea why people are in such a hurry around here, but boy, are they!  And the roads here are just not equipped to handle crazy drivers.  I feel like I’m taking my life into my hands every time I get into a vehicle, as of course I am, no matter where I am.

Most of the roads here are either two-lane (one in each direction) or four-lane.  The four-lane roads do not have a “suicide lane” for those turning left, so you’ll be traveling along, happy as a clam, in the left lane, when BAM!  Someone stops dead in front of you to turn left.

I nearly rear-ended someone when I found myself in that exact position, the very first time I ventured out alone after moving here.  And because I stopped dead in my own lane, I almost caused an accident by being rear-ended by the person behind me, who wasn’t paying attention either.

My heart didn’t stop pounding for at least an hour afterward.

Roads here also do not have shoulders.  You’d think that would be impossible, but there aren’t any.  When you’re in the right lane, you’re hugging the edge, with just inches dividing the white fog line and the curb.  You also feel almost like you’re on a rocking boat, since your right tires are constantly dipping down and up as you hit the storm drains.

If a road doesn’t have any shoulders, you ask, what happens when someone gets pulled over for speeding? Why, they simply stop dead in the middle of the right lane!

That in itself boggles my brain.  I can’t imagine it.  Why not just continue on till you reach a side street or a parking lot, and then pull over for the cop?  I’ve seen so many people pulled over in front of a business, who simply stopped dead in the travel lanes.

This I don’t get.   Isn’t it very dangerous for the cop to be stopped dead in a travel lane?

Have I also mentioned that people here love to drive like psycho crazy maniacs?   On our way up to Providence yesterday, I was driving, and I was going just over the speed limit.  I think it was a 55mph zone and I was going something like 62.  I was also in the right lane.  But this white Mustang came flying up behind me and camped out on my tail.  It was so close to me I couldn’t even see its headlights in my rearview mirror.

I figured since I was in the right lane, and no one was in the left lane, it would pass me.  That would make sense, right?  For some reason, the Mustang wanted to be in the right lane, and the driver wanted to stay on my tail.  I don’t know if she was trying to make me move faster or what, but I wasn’t going to budge.  I was in the slow lane; it was okay that I was going so slow.

That is, if you consider 7 mph over the speed limit “slow.”

On our way home, we were chatting about this and that, as girls do, when a car came flying out of nowhere and startled me so badly I stopped talking.  I didn’t see it coming.  All I heard was a bit of a whine until it flew past me, this little hatchback going probably 85mph.  It scared the crap outta me.  It kept weaving in and out of traffic, dodging around the slower cars on the highway.

Crazy idiot.

People don’t like to drive the speed limit in general.  There’s this one four-lane road near my house, which is called a highway.  I don’t know why it’s named that; the speed limit is a paltry 25mph.  It’s a speed trap, too, with cops sitting at the bottom of a rise each and every day.  No one seems to notice the cops, though.  I’ll be heading down the road, and someone will fly past me at close to 50.

I’m just glad we don’t live on a main street.  It’s nice and quiet where I live, the way I like it!

 

3 Responses to “Driving like maniacs”

  1. michele Says:

    i think people are starting to drive like maniacs no matter WHERE you live. everyone is in a big hurry to go nowhere. sick, i tell ya…just sick!

  2. art Says:

    see why i gave up driving!!

  3. karmacat Says:

    Ha! I knew this entry was coming. Frankly, I expected it sooner.

    I think I know your nearby “highway” to which you refer. If it’s the road I’m thinking of, there have been several fatalities there in recent years. Despite the ever-present cops, some late night speed demon ends up wrapped around a tree. They should install a series of traffic lights for no reason other than to get drivers to slow down and stop at regular intervals.

    Good luck and keep being a good defensive driver.


Leave a Reply

