The Mind of Bluesleepy

Mmmm loppers 22 October 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 8:08 pm

Maybe I should rent Kurt out to all you people. Oh holy cow, was our dinner last night good.

See, we both like to cook. I tend to gravitate towards home-style, comfort food with a gourmet twist. Like we’ll have a pasta & chicken stir-fry with a salad on the side, only the salad will have both capers and feta cheese on it. Sometimes olives too, when I remember to cut them up.

Kurt, on the other hand, is completely gourmet. I’m not sure where this comes from, as we both grew up in households where homestyle food was the norm. So his gourmet tastes sort of come way out of left field.

Then again, his brother is now a professional chef, so maybe it’s in the blood somehow.

That’s how we ended up with lobsters for dinner. Kurt’s inner gourmet chef was rearing its head!

Behold, my anniversary dinner:

My anniversary dinner!

OK, so it looks sort of goofy with the dinner rolls just perched on the edge of the plate like that, but the taste was amazing. Kurt had managed to cook the lobster just perfectly. The meat was still juicy, not dried out at all, and it was incredibly sweet. He’d also grilled the tails (they’re supposed to be straight, but we lost our skewers in the move), and there was just a hint of smoky goodness in each bite.

I’m drooling just thinking about it.

The green beans are fresh, and they’re laying on top of an artichoke puree that was really very good as well. Over on the side is the bowl of mango curry dipping sauce. We found that while it was really, really good, the strong flavor really overpowered the gentle sweetness of the lobster. We didn’t eat much of it because of that.

And yes, I did turn off the game during dinner. Kurt even filled some bowls with water and floated tealights in them to create more ambiance. Let me tell you — it was quite romantic.

But then there was the matter of the extra mango curry dipping sauce. It was way too good to get rid of, so what could we do with it?

This is where my small culinary skills took over. I sauteed up some bite-sized pieces of chicken breast till it was browned, parboiled some carrots till they were tender, and chopped up a couple of heads of fresh broccoli. Once the chicken was browned, I chucked the carrots, the fresh broccoli, and half a bag of frozen cauliflower into the pan with the chicken, along with the mango curry sauce Kurt made last night. I simmered it for ten minutes to cook the cauliflower and the broccoli, and then served it over rice.

See what you can make with a little ingenuity?

Dinner!!  Day 2

I’m also somewhat impressed with myself for coming up with this dinner all on my own anyhow. Usually I’m the type who has to follow a recipe to the T, and if I don’t have a recipe, I get a little nervous. But it worked out tonight!

Maybe I will make a decent housewife one day. *wink*

 

11 Responses to “Mmmm loppers”

  1. art Says:

    wow!!! thats so amazing!!! looking good!!!

  2. twisterjester Says:

    BOTH meals sound pretty good to me!

  3. Poolie Says:

    OMG! You need to rent him!

  4. Fi Says:

    Can you send the rental agreement please!! He can cook for me any day.

  5. michele Says:

    i am salivating as i read this….

    damn you! lol!

  6. cosmicgrandma Says:

    Being that I was born and brought up in Maine, Lobster is a given as one of my favorite foods, but I must have mine boiled. Yours does sound much more interesting than mine, though.

  7. Angela Says:

    Rent-a-Kurt! You two introduced me to the joys of the Food Network (squeesan!) and it’s amazing at what you guys come up with. Your chicken, broccoli, and carrot dish looks spectacular!

    I used to have a great recipe for a chicken, pineapple, and veggie stirfy…not quite a curry, but still completely yummy. πŸ™‚ I always had a hard time getting it just right, if I can dig it out I’ll send it over to see if you and Kurt can perfect it!

  8. cardiogirl Says:

    Wow, you COMPLETELY lost me at parboiled. No clue what that means. But I am in awe of both of your culinary powers.

  9. whatdayisit Says:

    I wanna come to your house and EAT! Both dishes sounded and looked delish….too bad we don’t have scent-on-a-blog. Well,maybe it is a good thing that I can’t smell the food, my mouth is already watering and my stomach is screaming YES, YES, OH HELL YES!!!!

  10. clairec23 Says:

    I’ve never tasted lobster but my stomach started rumbling when I saw yours πŸ™‚

    That was sweet by the way, I got a takeaway for my anniversary πŸ˜€


Leave a Reply

