The Mind of Bluesleepy

Remnants of Hurricane Noel 3 November 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 5:21 pm

Thank you all for the kind comments regarding my grandpa and his decline. Fortunately my grandparents live in retirement community with different levels of medical attention, so should my grandpa get to be too much for my grandma, they could easily move into another area of the community and they’d have all the help they need. My grandparents went through hell with my grandma’s parents as they aged and became infirm, so they made sure they had plans in place for when they got to be too frail. Also my parents have taken out long-term care insurance so they’ll never be a burden on us.

I feel very fortunate to have family who looked ahead to the future, but it still sucks.

At the moment, we are getting buffeted by the remnants of Hurricane Noel. It’s really very blustery out there. My poor tree is now almost completely leafless.

We awoke this morning to rain sputtering against the window above our heads. The other windows in our bedroom were dry, which showed us how much the wind was blowing the rain around.

It was just one of those mornings where we lazed around all morning long. I had newspapers to catch up on, and Kurt found random stuff to watch on tv. Finally sometime after noon, I did a bit of housework and got ready to go.

And it was off to look at the effects of the hurricane!

Kurt drove us down to Easton’s Beach, where the wind was blowing so hard that the whitecaps were spraying water as they crested. I was trying to take photos, but it was hard even to stand upright!! I’d get set to take a photo, only to be blown sideways and ruin my shot.

Gracie loved it, of course.

You can see me at the edge of the video, bracing myself against the sea wall.  It was really that windy!!!

We also took a trip down Ocean Drive to check out how the homes there were holding up. I took more photos from the beach down there. Some crazy people were down on the rocks with the waves crashing all around. I wasn’t brave enough to do that. I stayed on the high land.

We ended up at a local pizzeria for lunch. There was an older couple at the table next to us who kept talking about the storm, and how the breakers were increasing in size. As we were about to leave, the gent beckoned me over to him. I was worried that he’d yell at me for how loud Grace can be (because some people are rude enough to do that here), but instead he slid a photo over to me and told me to give it to Gracie later, since she had kept looking at him all through the meal.

It was a shot of the gent himself, all done up as Santa Claus!! He must have been a professional Santa, since he had a long white beard with the matching white hair.

How cool to meet Santa Claus in November! In lay clothes, no less.

After lunch, we went back to Easton’s Beach to see how big the breakers were really getting. Some goofballs were out there trying to surf, which I thought was probably not the best idea in the world.

Now we’re ensconced back in our home. I sure am thankful to have a snug and warm home during weather like this.

PS — I’ll have the photos I took today posted on Flickr probably later tonight. Check back if you’re interested!

 

9 Responses to “Remnants of Hurricane Noel”

  1. hissandtell Says:

    Santa in his street clothes, ay — wow. I always wondered how the elusive old chap managed to sneak around without being recognised. (All that red velvet and white fur trim is a bit of a giveaway, after all!) What did Gracie think when you showed her the photo? If she kept looking at him throughout the meal, obviously she was onto him! Love, R xxx

  2. cardiogirl Says:

    What a cutie Gracie is! Isn’t that great just watching her love the elements? Kids are great like that aren’t they.

    She’s not concerned about her hair whipping around, it’s just fun to run in circles and enjoy the wind! I wish I could be more like that.

  3. cardiogirl Says:

    p.s. We’ve been watching “SpongeBob Christmas” and there’s a song they sing that has been running through my head.

    The lyrics are simple enough:

    Santa’s comin’ tonight, tonight
    Santa’s comin tonight

    Santa’s comin’ tonight tonight
    Santa’s comin’ tonight

    I have no idea what the tune is, I think it’s its own tune, but it’s so familiar to me (since they watch it over and over) that it sounds familiar like it might be Jingle Bells or something.

    Anyway, that’s my Santa tail here in November.

  4. cardiogirl Says:

    Geez, I can spell. That’s my Santa TALE.

  5. oleandlena Says:

    Gracie is a doll.

  6. Michele Says:

    I. Still. Want. That. Baby!!!!!!

  7. twisterjester Says:

    Gracie has the right approach. Best way to weather a storm is to enjoy the heck out of it!

  8. twisterjester Says:

    Gracie has the right approach. Best way to weather a storm is to enjoy the heck out of it!

    Grrr… Your comments section is messing up. I tried to post this before but got an error. Hopefully you actually GET it this time.


Leave a Reply

