The Mind of Bluesleepy

But I don’t WANNA!!! 14 November 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 5:08 pm

It’s just one of those days today.

For one thing, the trash people haven’t come by to pick up the trash yet. I don’t know why this is; ever since we moved here, it’s been picked up promptly at 9am. The latest it’s ever been is noon, but here it is after 4pm and it’s still not picked up. It’s not a huge deal, but it’s rather windy today so there are all kinds of lightweight recyclables tumbling around the neighborhood.

Our neighborhood now looks rather ghetto.

Now Pogo isn’t working. We’ve been having an ongoing problem with it. At first, if I just shut off my firewall momentarily, I could get a game to load and all was well. Then that didn’t work anymore. Chaos told me she sometimes has issues with Pogo and Firefox, and if she simply restarts Firefox, she can get into a room. Sometimes that works, but more often it doesn’t.

A couple of days ago, we couldn’t get into a Pogo room to save our lives. I was chatting online with Chaos when she reminded me that the Pogo help desk always recommends clearing your cache and Java log as a first step. So I did that — thereby losing all the information saved in various forms. Now I have to manually type in my screenname and web address when I want to leave a comment on someone’s blog. And it was for naught as well; I still couldn’t get into Pogo.

Last night we couldn’t get into Pogo using either computer. It had been an issue limited to the laptop, but last night the desktop was acting up as well. We rebooted the cable modem, and finally we were able to load a Pogo room on both computers.

This morning, I had no issues. This afternoon, I’m back to having issues. And I can get in to a Pogo room on the desktop in the office, but not on the laptop.

Grrrr. And I hate having issues like this because I never know how to fix it. There are so many things that could be going wrong. It could be the firewall, it could be Pogo, it could be my laptop, it could be some weird software conflict on the laptop, it could be Cox, it could be any number of things.

Hmph.

I am not a happy camper.

Then today my friend TC, the one who wanted me to watch her daughter for her, called to see how we were doing. I was sort of hoping that it would be one of those friendships that would just naturally sort of fall apart. I know that sounds mean to say, but I honestly don’t have a whole lot in common with this girl. She is a very nice girl, but we are just so very different. For one thing, she and her husband love to drink. They have alcohol on their persons everywhere they go. They know where the nearest place to get a beer is everywhere they go. If they don’t drink when they’re going out, they don’t want to go.

I was really surprised when she called me today because I hadn’t heard from her in so long. But we had a nice conversation on the phone. She mentioned that maybe we could get together tonight since her husband had class and she had the night off from work. I didn’t really commit myself either way; when she mentioned getting together, I said, “Maybe.”

Also she mentioned that she has plenty of chips and Kool-Aid on hand for the girls.  I’m not a junk food nazi, but I try my damnedest to feed Grace a healthy diet.  I have never let her have Kool-Aid, and I plan on her not having it until she at least starts school.  My friend feeds her daughter all sorts of junky stuff, yet she’s only 18 months old.  I figure there’s plenty of time for Grace to pig out on junk food — like when she’s in elementary school and buying hot lunch or going over to her friends’ houses.  For now, I want to keep her pretty healthy.
Fortunately we can’t stay long. Kurt’s got lots of school work to do. I know the theory would be for me to leave him at home so I can go by myself, but that’s not going to happen. Kurt’s school-work is my reason to not stay out till the wee hours of the evening, drinking the night away. Plus I am supposed to make another batch of blondies (thanks for your awesome recipe, Chaos!) for some sort of bake-sale thing that’s going on at Kurt’s work tomorrow.

I think that’s so funny — the mess (ie, the group of Chief Petty Officers at his current command) decided to raise money by having a bake-sale. I guess it’s not just elementary schools that have bake-sales!

In other news, I got Pogo to work just now by shutting off the firewall. *sigh* At least it’s working!

EDIT — TC just called me, and when I said we couldn’t stay late enough to watch a movie, she said we should reschedule for another time. Maybe next time I’ll be in a better mood. *crosses fingers*

 

6 Responses to “But I don’t WANNA!!!”

  1. purple chai Says:

    Well, I agree with you. Chips and Kool-Aid for an 18 month old seems a little over the top.

  2. it might be your router, too…. try unplugging it and let it sit for 20 seconds or so..

  3. Rosietoes Says:

    Hi Sweetie! Welcome to my pages! As for the trash, in some cities, they don’t pick up the day after a legal holiday. They should pick it up tomorrow though!

  4. acaldwell Says:

    use innernet explorer!!! all other browsers are evil!!!

  5. Blue Opal Says:

    Keep your Firefox. IE (as I’m sure you already know if you use Firefox,) is a computer killer. As for the kool aid and chips, I wouldn’t recommend it for a regular diet, though once in a while probably won’t hurt her. I think the bigger issue is that you’re not really comfortable with this woman. You seem pretty level-headed to me. I’m guessing your instincts are right and hanging out with these folks isn’t a great idea.

  6. cardiogirl Says:

    I hate it when the computer gets all technical on me and I just want it to turn on and do what it normally does. That’s when I reserve the right to just be a girl and give it the finger.

    Oooh, might I get a look-see at that blondie recipe, maybe, please?


Leave a Reply

