The Mind of Bluesleepy

I’ve been interviewed 19 November 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 10:59 am

Yesterday, Fi wrote an entry in which she was interviewed by one of her readers, and she responded to the questions that had been posed. Since I have been suffering from a wee bit of writer’s blog lately, I decided to participate as well. Here are her questions and my answers:

1. The Navy has been a big part of your life. What would be your reaction and advice if a grown-up Gracie wanted to enlist or marry into the services?

I would be excessively proud of Grace if she decided to join the military, although I would worry about her because it’s not an easy life. The Navy has been a big part of my life, as I grew up in a Navy household with both of my parents serving as officers, and then I married into it. I think the military has a lot to offer, and I am thankful every day for the benefits that we receive because of Kurt’s service. I would advice Grace to keep an open mind. Don’t listen to all the naysayers who are in the Navy. Enjoy the opportunities presented and make the most of every day. Yes, it’s difficult to be married to someone who’s gone all the time, but you can’t beat the perks. I would never have moved across country to Washington state and then here to Rhode Island if we hadn’t been military.

2. You are good at sharing your faults and weaknesses with us. What are your strengths?

Hmm, guilty as charged here. I’m not quite sure why I talk so much about my faults and weaknesses. Maybe it’s because when I was growing up, that was basically all that was pointed out to me. But I know I have some good qualities to offer. For one thing, I feel I am a good friend. I am willing to listen and lend an ear whenever it’s needed. Also, I try my best not to be judgmental. I feel it’s not my business to tell people how to live their lives. When you point a finger at someone, you’ve got three fingers pointing right back at yourself. I’m very quick to learn something new, and I’m always up for an adventure. I am smart, I am funny, I think people like to be around me, and I try my best to put people at ease.

3. Being the mum of a toddler, you get very little time to yourself. If you had one whole day without Grace and Kurt, how would you spend it?

Ideally, I would travel down to the nation’s capital with my good friend Angela to take in all the museums down there. It’s a very difficult thing to see a museum with a toddler! But if that weren’t possible, I have a backup plan — Grace and Kurt would go somewhere for a Daddy-Daughter Day, and I would stay at home by myself. I would watch a couple of shows, stitch on my projects, ignore all housework and cooking duties, take a bubble bath, and read for a while. I would just enjoy the quiet and solitude.

4. You take some great photos, and seem to enjoy doing so. Can you share your two all-time favorite snaps and explain where they come from and why they have meaning to you?

This was probably the most difficult of all the questions posed to me. I had to go through nearly three years of digital photos to find the answer to this question. And I think I am going to cheat and post three, instead of two.

My favorite photo -- Italy 1997 [scan]

This is my favorite photo of all time. For my high school graduation, my parents allowed me to travel to Italy on a school trip. We were gone for ten days over spring break, March 1997. The group consisted of students from an English class (I was a teacher’s aide for the English teacher, which is how I got to go), some Art History students, and some Photography students. At this point in time, I didn’t really have a clue what I was doing with a camera. I just knew that I loved to take photos, and I always had a camera with me. My father allowed me to take his Minolta 35mm SLR camera to Italy with me, which is what I shot this photo with.

I didn’t get along with any of the other group members. For whatever reason, I was excluded from just about everything, and basically just hung around on the fringes. I didn’t much care; I was in ITALY.

I love this photo for the beauty of it. I saw it and immediately knew I could capture the stunning quality of what I was seeing. But the photography students laughed at me and told me the light was too low, that this photo would never turn out.

A couple of weeks after I came home, I got my film back, and there was the image, exactly as I had wanted to capture it. And ever since, I have loved this photo — not only because of the beauty of it, but because I followed my gut and didn’t listen to what the naysayers were telling me. It reminds me to go with it and try — you’ve got nothing to lose by just trying.

.
.
.
.
.
.

.

.

.

.

.
.

Grass waving in the wind

Here’s another photo I absolutely adore. Kurt and I were driving around on June 15th of this year when we still lived in Washington. He had just gotten home from a seven-month deployment one week before. Sunset is very late in the summer in Washington; it was nearly 9pm when I shot this photo, and Grace was getting cranky.

 

We were driving through the reservation town of Suquamish, very close to our home, when I noticed how gorgeous the light was becoming. Right then we came around the corner where Suquamish opens up onto the water, and I asked Kurt to pull over. You could see Seattle silhouetted against the darkening sky on the other side of the Puget Sound, but if you looked a little farther south, you saw Mount Rainier all lit up with the pink light. In fact, if you squint just a wee bit, the brighter pink mound in the background of this photo is Mount Rainier.

 

I love this photo because I love Mount Rainier in general. Growing up on the East Coast, we never had mountains like this. And it’s not something you see every day. The weather usually doesn’t cooperate for you to see this gorgeous mountain, so when you do get a chance to see it, it’s even more lovely. Also, Kurt was the inspiration for this photo. I had been taking a bunch of photos of the mountain in sharp focus when Kurt asked, “What would happen if you focused on the grass instead of the mountain?” And this is what happened. You can’t really tell that what’s between the grass and the mountain is a hill down to the water covered in trash that people have chucked out of their car. All you see is the beauty of the moment.

 

 

Grace admires the finished product

And I know the assignment was just two photos, but I couldn’t resist throwing in one of Grace as well. I love this photo for many reasons. First, it’s my daughter — how could I not love it? She’s a beautiful little girl! But I also love how I captured the excitement of a two-year-old discovering the world around her. This was the first time she’d gotten her face painted; I don’t think she even realized you could paint your face! She sat so very still as the clown (whose name was also Gracie when she’s not in costume) worked her magic. Right as she looked in the mirror to see the butterfly painted on her face, I snapped this shot.

And I love this photo.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

So there is my interview!! If you want to join in on the fun, simply leave me your email in my comments, and I will do my best to come up with interview questions based on the reading of your blog.

 

7 Responses to “I’ve been interviewed”

  1. Fi Says:

    Thanks for sharing all of that. And the cheat of three photos is allowed because they are all so great.

  2. oleandlena Says:

    Fantastic photos. You are truly an artist.

  3. Elle Says:

    Enjoyed the interview, Blue! And the photos were awesome as well. The Italy one — don’t you just love it when the naysayers are WRONG!! The idea Kurt had was inspired (they do that every so often!!) and Gracie is just all over adorable!

  4. michele Says:

    GREAT interview! And Ms. Fi is an EXCELLENT interviewer! I really like how it felt like a real interview!

    (I, too am suffering from writer’s block on my diary page)

    Love you!
    xoxoxoxo

  5. Angela Says:

    You are a beautiful, fabulous, brilliant woman, and I adore you. šŸ™‚ I LOVE those pictures, and of course you’re allowed to cheat since a gorgeous picture of Gracie is involved!

    We definitely need to do that museum trip in the spring when the days are longer and the weather is more travel-friendly! Heck…we could take an overnight trip to NYC and hit up the Met. I’m not sure if you’ve been before (you probably have!) but it is PHENOMENAL.

  6. purple chai Says:

    The funny thing is that all day I was thinking “That toast water would go down just about right right now!”

  7. acaldwell Says:

    good stuff here!!! the pics are beautiful!!


Leave a Reply

