The Mind of Bluesleepy

Be the blog! 25 November 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 5:28 pm

CardioGirl has bestowed upon me the Be The Blog award!

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

To quote CG, “The blogging badge was made by Mark at Me and My Drum to be given to bloggers who make their blog their own, stay with it, interact with their readers and have fun. Mark also said that these bloggers are showing time and time again that they are true to themselves and that they ARE their blog.”

I am so thrilled. And so because I think it’s such a nifty award to receive, I shall bestow it on a few more blogs myself!

In no particular order I nominate:

Art, of the Daily Drivel

Chaos

YankeeChick

Poolagirl


And now on to other news. I am feeling better today, for which I am hugely grateful. I woke up with a sore throat and a bit of a cough, but now my cough is gone. I have a bit of a runny nose, but that’s nothing that a wad of Kleenex can’t fix.

But I was having a nightmare this morning before my alarm went off. I was driving down the road when all of a sudden a police car began to stop traffic behind me. I kept going, since I was ahead of the police car, when all of a sudden I had to stop. A car accident had occurred, and the entire road was blocked. Only my car and three others had made it past the police cordon, and we could see everything. I didn’t want to see everything. I saw a man missing an arm and both his feet. He was laying on the hood of his car and every so often, he would jump off the hood and hop on the stumps of his legs, though I know that’s impossible for someone in his condition to do. But in my dream, he was agitated and looking for his wife.

Then my alarm went off, but after such a bloody and horrific dream, there was no way I was going back to sleep. It was a shame, really — I was really looking forward to being able to sleep in, after spending the last three nights in the same room as my daughter. And when she wants to be awake, she’s anything but quiet.

So I got up, and we eventually made our way to Wal-Mart and the Christmas Tree Shoppe for decorations. I found the neatest looking stockings; they look hand-knit, though of course they’re not. We got the old-fashioned big lightbulbs to hang on the eaves of the house, and attempted to stretch a net of lights over one of our bushes. Those are the lights we got at Wal-Mart — and they don’t work. Big surprise there.

I don’t know when we’ll get around to putting up the tree. I still need to work on a few more Christmas ornaments for my ornament exchange, and I know Kurt’s got schoolwork to do. I don’t feel much pressure to get it done now, though we normally have it up the day after Thanksgiving. It’s not even December yet!! We’ve got time.

Speaking of Christmas, I will be sending Christmas cards out to all my friends!! If you would like a hand-addressed, beautiful Christmas card arriving in your snail mail box, please email your address to bluesleepy@gmail.com, and I will make sure you get one. I promise I will never redistribute your address or send you unwanted crap. C’mon — you know you want a Christmas card! This offer is open to all who read me, regardless of where you are in the world.

How do you all decorate for the holidays? Let me know!

 

8 Responses to “Be the blog!”

  1. chaosdaily Says:

    i think you already have my address. and the book is called.. cut to the quick, but dianne emley.

  2. acaldwell Says:

    you got my addy too!! and i decorate by dusting off the tables, and doing the dishes!!

  3. cardiogirl Says:

    Hey I’m in. I’m going to e-mail you my address next. That dream was something else. Don’t you hate the feeling you get from a dream like that and how it’s hard to shake it the rest of the day. Yuck.

    Here’s to a peaceful night of dreaming!

  4. yankeechick Says:

    Thanks for the award!! I am so humbly honored. And my blog is ME alright! Happy or sad, silly or stupid, crazy or pissed off…….you poor guys get it all!!

    Christmas cards with everyone is gonna be such fun!

  5. Fi Says:

    Cardio got it very right. A well deserved award.

    How do we decorate for the holidays? Much less now that the kids are grown. We used to go the whole hog with tinsel over every window, ceiling and door, lanterns and fairylights. Now we stick to a tree in the diningroom, my babushka (?sp) santa dolls on bookcases and a wreath on the door. And cards stuck in the bookshelf too. Very minimalist these days.

  6. sleepyjane Says:

    Hey there! First of all, congrats on the award! And I’m sorry you had flu! It’s horrible, as you can recall I had it last week and this cough just won’t go away.

    Okay, so I live in South Africa. I have to say, from what I have seen you guys (over seas) go all out on decorations. We don’t really, we just have a tree mostly. This year we won’t even have one because we’re going on holiday over Christmas.

  7. michele Says:

    of course I *know* I’m already on that list…right?!? 😉

  8. whatdayisit Says:

    It sounds like you had a wonderful family Thanksgiving….can’t wait for all the pictures.
    I went to Wal-Mart today and found several things for gifts. I seldom venture to that store but was pleased with what I found today.
    Take care…hope the cold goes away quickly.


Leave a Reply

