The Mind of Bluesleepy

Business trip Day 1 3 December 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 7:11 pm

It’s so weird to be in this house and not have Kurt home.  It’s odd period because this is the longest Kurt and I have been apart since he returned home from a seven-month deployment in June.

It’s somewhat nice because now I have a little bit of time to myself.  I love Kurt dearly, and I love to have him around.  At the same time, I don’t get a whole lot of time to myself when he’s home.  By the time he comes home at 11:30am for lunch, I’ve only been up a few hours, and sometimes I don’t even have my hair styled or my makeup on.  He doesn’t go back to work till 1:30pm, and he usually is home by 3 or 4pm.

So much for a quiet day at home.

Kurt left on a week-long business trip this morning.  I was really concerned about him getting to the airport this morning, what with the nasty weather we were having.  We were supposed to get a wintry mix last night, and there was a good chance of icing in the hours before sunrise.  Kurt’s flight was scheduled for 6am, so he left the house around 4 this morning.

I woke up at 3:30am to make sure he was getting up, and all I could hear was the wind whipping around the house.  It was especially loud coming through the baby monitor, making me think that the front of the house was really getting hammered.  I was so nervous that Kurt and his coworker would go off into the ditch on their way to the airport that I insisted that Kurt text me as soon as he got there.

And sure enough, when I got up this morning, there was a text message waiting for me!

At this moment, he is safely arrived in Orlando, Florida, where he is meeting with a civilian company who is developing some educational software for the Navy.  He is considered to be the resident Expert on Frigates (a type of ship) at his new command, which is why he was selected to go on this business trip.  He is going to help this company develop their software and make sure they have their information straight.

He called me earlier to complain about the heat.  I just had to laugh, poor guy.  See, even though he spent six years living full-time in Arizona, and going back to visit for the last fifteen, he abhors the heat.  He really does.  We have been known to get irritated at each other because he’s overheating and I’m freezing.  And I’m not that sensitive to the cold, either!

(See, Michele, you could never have married Kurt!!  You would be freezing your butt off, but he’d be comfortable — or you’d be comfortable and he’d be roasting to death!!!)

I had to laugh, though, because Rhode Island has certainly made a turn towards winter.  All week long, while Kurt is sweating to death in 80º Florida, I’ll be shivering in temperatures that stay in the 30s.   Kurt’s been looking forward to wintry weather since we moved here too, and the first week we get some, he has to go south.

Poor guy.

I have realized something today, however.  As much as I whined and complained about being lonely in Washington while Kurt was deployed, I realize I had a pretty good support system going on.  Sure, the people I knew were basically acquaintances who have seemed to have forgotten me already (well, some of them), but they really brightened my day when I needed a lift.  If I was feeling sad, I always knew I could head to the bakery for lunch to chat with Tanya the owner or Stacy, and then stop in at the bookstore to see Susan and get a new book.  Or I could find something to mail to my sister or to Caroline, and pop in at the post office to see Brenda.  Every Friday we had art class, and though I found the teacher to be crotchety at the outset, I ended up really liking her and enjoying spending time with her.

I know I’ll get to the same place here in Rhode Island; I just need to give it time.  I’m so thankful, however, that this week Kurt’s gone isn’t a six-month deployment.  I just don’t know what I would do.

 

4 Responses to “Business trip Day 1”

  1. Terri Says:

    Michael works so many hours, sometimes I forget what he looks like. LOL Even with all those hours away from home, I don’t know how I would manage if we were military and he was deployed out. You’re amazing! Enjoy your time just you and the kiddo knowing Kurt will be home soon.

  2. sleepyjane Says:

    It’s so weird that it’s winter there and over here winter just passed.

    ‘Von’s, (the lady that works with me) husband works in Sudan and he’s gone three months at a time. I know how hard it is on her so I can’t imagine 7 months.

    Enjoy your time alone though! A week does fly by so he’ll be home in no time. 🙂

  3. clairec23 Says:

    I’d hate to be alone for even that long, I hate him going to work. Mostly because I’m the cold one and he’s just like a hot water bottle sitting beside me warming me up, it’s great 😛

  4. michele Says:

    Just so you know, this week the weather has cooled. Right now it’s a mild 75º and tonight it’s supposed to be 58º. This means that it’s about 5º-10º even cooler in Orlando because it’s further north and because it’s more inland.

    Maybe I couldn’t have married Kurt for the temperature control, but don’t forget that *MY* husband is the same way!!!


Leave a Reply

