The Mind of Bluesleepy

Another day 7 December 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 1:19 pm

Wow, I really appreciate all the comments on yesterday’s post. It’s so good to know I am not alone in feeling this way. I guess I figured I was unique, when really apparently we all go through this.

I guess I just thought that I’m going to be 30 in just over a year; shouldn’t I have most of this figured out by now? But no — life is a process, and you just take every day, one at a time.

I’m so glad to have this space in which to vent, and all my cyber friends. Thanks for listening. I hold it in most of the time, thinking that no one wants to hear my kvetching. Thank you for not running screaming the other way when I finally do let my feelings out.

So today is another day, and I’ve actually gotten some things done. Last night I stayed up till after 2am, which was the absolute worst thing I could have done. When I’m depressed, it’s hard for me to want to go to bed, which sounds counter-intuitive. But for some reason, I never want to go to bed when I’m depressed. I guess maybe my brain is worried I won’t get back up again.

I slept in till 9:30am. Somehow I shut my alarm off, instead of hitting snooze. I jumped in the shower, got clean, and retrieved Grace from her crib. So far this morning I’ve had my coffee, fed and dressed Grace, dressed myself, styled my hair, and put on my makeup. Not only that, but I’ve also cleaned my two bathrooms and Swiffered the floors. Not bad for three hours.

Today I’m going to grab some lunch here at the house because I don’t feel like eating out in town, and once I’m done with that, I’m going to Target. I need some things I can’t get here at my Walmart, and Newport doesn’t have a Target. I need to figure out how to get to Massachusetts, though, since I’m tired of going to the Target in Warwick. They’re pretty much equidistant from my house.

Kurt should be home sometime today. His flight lands at 10:30pm, so hopefully he’ll be home by midnight. He could also go standby on an earlier flight if they get done early. He did that when he flew home from San Diego after his last long deployment; he was supposed to land at 7pm in Seattle, but he got an earlier flight and landed at 4pm. I had to really scramble around to get to Seattle to pick him up, but today he’s got a ride home. I don’t even really have to be home when he arrives.

Oh wait. He left his keys here, I think. I do have to be home so I can let him in the house!

Thanks again, everyone. All your words of compassion and advice really touched me. It’s much easier going though life when you know you have people there for you.

Here’s a photo I took earlier today that really made me smile. I hope it does the same for you.

“Look, Mommy — I’ve got the cat!!!”

 

17 Responses to “Another day”

  1. freshhell Says:

    Lovely photo! Cute cat (and daughter, of course)!

  2. Margie Says:

    Keep going, girl. You’ve done a good job today. Have fun shopping. I looked at some more of your pics today, of your tree, etc. At least you have gifts under yours, there’s not one under mine yet. Aahh, well, there will be though. Glad you are feeling better.

  3. whatdayisit Says:

    Everyone has those blue days…fat and ugly…I’m not good enough…whatever you want to call it. Glad that you are aware of those moods and are doing something about it.
    I think you are a wonderful wife, mother, cook and housekeeper. You do way more than most do so give yourself some credit. Plan a great meal for tomorrow to celebrate Kurt’s coming home again. Loved the picture too!

  4. clairec23 Says:

    I’m glad your feeling better. Nobody ever figures it all out and we’re allowed a day off every now and then anyway!!

    Have you heard Cardiogirl’s new audio thingy? Listening to us embarrass ourselves should cheer you up no end!!

  5. Rosietoes Says:

    OMG! Your cat looks like my Miss Porsche! Does your kitty really have blue eyes? That is so unusual for a tabby. What isn’t unusual is that tabbies get fat easily. I knew a tabby named Willie, he weighed 23 pounds, and his belly touched the ground as he walked!

  6. cardiogirl Says:

    Look how sweet Grace’s smile is and look how cute those toes are!

  7. Poolie Says:

    How sweet! How totally sweet!

  8. purple chai Says:

    The cat is as big as Grace!

  9. clairec23 Says:

    The picture didn’t load up for me before. That cat is HUGE!! Or is my perspective out of whack? Grace is so cute, she reminds me of my little girl (all cute girls remind me of my little girl 😉 ) but seriously she has the exact same nose!

  10. oleandlena Says:

    What an adorable picture. Your kitty is huge and looks like my Senior Citizen Simon. Glad you’re doing better.

  11. acaldwell Says:

    lovely pics!! you can vent at me anytime!!

  12. Blue Opal Says:

    Gorgeous picture! I am playing catch-up ina big way, but glad to see you’re feeling a little better today. And as to the depression, I hear ya. Live it daily.

  13. twisterjester Says:

    Gaahh. It ate my commnt. But for the record, I’m glad you’re feeling a little better today than you were yesterday *Hugs*

  14. Aw, what a cutie! Well done for getting up and about despite feeling down.

  15. sleepyjane Says:

    Adorable picture, but not more than Grace! =) She’s beautiful! ((HUGS))

  16. yankeechick Says:

    I feel so bad that i am just now getting caught up on reading and missed our post from Thursday! I feel like pond scum!!! You are always SO, SO supportive of me and here I was MIA when you were having a Melt Down. Even tho’ you have no shortage of support here, I feel bad not doing my part…you’re such a special gal, I’ve always admired how strong you are to have overcome and put aside what your ‘parents’ put you through. You have emerged to become an awesome wife and most excellent mother! Chin up, Sweetie! Hugs and smooches!!

  17. michele Says:

    my goodness! i guess i don’t need to worry about commenting.. you have such a big fan base!!!

    love you!


Leave a Reply

