The Mind of Bluesleepy

Snow snow snow!!! 15 December 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 5:04 pm

We ended up getting just 6″ of snow on Thursday. The snow turned to sleet in the late afternoon. By the time we went out to play in the stuff around 3:30pm, the sleet was really coming down. You know how snow is always silent as it falls? The sleet coming down almost made it sound as though the trees were hissing. It was a really odd sound.

Grace thoroughly enjoyed the snow

I had Grace all bundled up to play in the snow. I had found a great deal online last year of a coat with matching snowpants for just $25. It was supposed to be $75!!! I bought a 4T, knowing they would be big, and hoping they would last her two winters. They are huge on her this year, but not overwhelmingly so.

So her coat and her snowpants, along with a hat, a hood, mittens, and boots, made me say to her, “Put your arms down when you get to school!!!”

Grace did love playing in the stuff. We got her to make one snowangel, though it really didn’t turn out well. She much preferred to throw snowballs and eat the snow.

Yesterday afternoon I decided it was time to shovel the driveway. Kurt figured it would melt, which it did start to do, what with the temperatures being up at 40º. But I was worried it would freeze overnight.

I was out there about half an hour before I had to take a break. I was sweating, and I couldn’t hardly breathe. I came back inside and promptly began bitching about shoveling to my good friend (and fellow sexy woman) Angela.

She’s lived in Boston her whole life. She has little sympathy for us wusses.

Then I saw my neighbor out there shoveling, the female half, the one who isn’t drunk all the time. And she was shoveling in her uniform!!

I figured if she could shovel in her uniform, I could shovel too!

So out I went again, and this time, I got the driveway finished. My neighbor and I really worked together to clear the whole thing since it’s a double driveway serving both houses. It also helped to have someone to talk to and to vent to about how much it sucks to shovel snow. She’s going to LA on Monday for her Christmas vacation; I doubt she’ll have much snow to shovel there!

Her husband went out to get salt from the self-help area, and they even gave me some! So we salted the cleared driveway, and stood back to admire our handiwork. By this time Kurt was home. See, that’s why I was the one out there shoveling; the poor guy was at work!  But now my back hurts; wahhh wahhh.

Kurt got Gracie to help him build a snowman. He even grabbed some charcoal briquets and used them for eyes and buttons. Very clever man, he is.

By the time we got home from our trip to the post office, our snowman had mysteriously acquired a scarf. And it’s pink — so maybe we have a snow-woman!!

Gracie poses with the snowman she and Daddy made!!!

And now we wait for the next storm to hit — supposedly tonight. Wish us luck!

 

10 Responses to “Snow snow snow!!!”

  1. hissandtell Says:

    Too adorable for words. And I’m as jealous as I can be: I wish *I* had a fluffly-hooded pink snowcoat and snowpants — and some snow to wear them in! Love, R xxx

  2. chaosdaily Says:

    Oh, Hiss is right. Too adorable! But too cold!

  3. Rosietoes Says:

    OMG! She is SOOOO adorable! And who knows, maybe your snowman is really a drag queen! Look at his arms thrown wide! With the pink scarf, it just screams, Look at me! Aren’t I simply fabulous!??”

    Then again, perhaps I just have drag queens on the mind these days! *lol*

  4. art Says:

    whatta cutie pie!!!

  5. Andrea Says:

    I’ve got to tell you that this is my seventh New England winter and I still bitch about the snow. Some of us just aren’t cut out for it.

    Those pictures of Grace are adorable!

  6. clairec23 Says:

    The picture with the snowman is extra cute. I love it! She looks so tall too! And the snowman/woman is stylin’ 😉

    We haven’t gotten snow yet, we rarely do in December and it never sticks anyway. I feel bad for you having to clear up the driveway but I bet you felt really proud of yourself afterwards.

  7. twisterjester Says:

    Grace looks just too cute!!! I love the snowman, too. And I hope you get this comment, since WordPress apparently has issues with me. A-freaking-gain.

  8. whatdayisit Says:

    What a wonderful surprise about the pink scarf on your snowperson! Great pictures of Gracie in her pretty pink snowsuit too! I hope you still love the snow if you continue to get several inches. It’s fun when you can stay cozy and warm in the house with your little family. Hope the drunk stays on his side of the driveway…maybe it will be quiet if your neighbors are going to LA for the holiday.

  9. whatdayisit Says:

    I forgot to tell you. I am going to do the five things meme….just got backed up. I have it on my Wordperfect to work on and will let you know when it is posted. I didn’t forget, honest!

  10. michele Says:

    i’m very jealous… we got snow for about 15min in NYC then it turned to freezing rain. YUCK! and it was bitter cold!!! i was a Michele-a-cicle!!! (though the hand warmers were awesome and helpful! thanks againg for them)


Leave a Reply

