The Mind of Bluesleepy

Merry Christmas to YOU! 25 December 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 7:48 pm

Wow, what a day!!

Yesterday afternoon, Kurt had found an all-you-can-eat Chinese buffet in Fall River, Mass., and thinking that it was larger than the one here in our own town, he convinced me to try it. Not having anything better to do on Christmas Eve, we headed out.

The buffet turned out to be the same size as the one here, but the food wasn’t as good. No matter — we decided to head to the mall just to check it out. It made the trip to Massachusetts worth it, especially when we found some good deals on clothes for Grace.

Last night, however, Kurt started to feel ill. Not one to let it slow him, he still got really excited to give me my “big” gift for Christmas — a cookbooklet dating from 1896, called The Enterprising Housekeeper. I was so excited and thrilled!! I read it from cover to cover as we sat on the couch together.

As we were getting ready to go to bed around 1am, Kurt started feeling worse and worse. I started getting really worried about him. Off and on all night he would wake up to try to find a more comfortable position in which to sleep. His stomach was really hurting him, and he kept waking up to go to the restroom. Of course, I kept waking up too, hoping I could ease his pain somewhat. But there was nothing I could do. I felt so helpless.

After quite a sleepless night, we finally rolled out of bed at 9am. We opened all our presents after getting dressed, and Santa was quite good to us. Kurt got speakers for his Zune (like an iPod, but made by Microsoft), as well as a case for it. Grace got a zillion toys, of course, and a digital camera from her “auntie” Caroline. She’s taken so many photos of various body parts of ours. It’s a good thing she doesn’t have her own Flickr account!!

Among other things, I got a bendable tripod for my camera which will wrap around just about anything, like a fence or a pole. I even used it tonight to take a photo of the three of us at dinner! I wrapped the tripod around a chair back. It worked like a charm too! My sister got me a reprint of the 1896 edition of the Fannie Farmer cookbook. I think the reprint is from the 1940s, though I can’t be sure. It’s not dated. [EDIT: I just looked it up online, and this reprint dates from 1973.]

By this time, I felt like I had a touch of what Kurt’s got, and neither of us had any energy. We managed to get Grace down for a nap (and she even slept!), and Kurt and I were couch bums for much of the afternoon.

Finally I got up enough energy to make my dinner. I got this recipe for a Boned Stuffed Turkey Breast out of Parade Magazine (the thing that comes in the Sunday paper), and it sounded really good. I had to de-bone the turkey breast I bought, which was intimidating, but I managed to do well enough. Then I laid a stuffing of spinach, bacon (it was supposed to be ham, but I mis-read the recipe), and golden raisins on the breast and tied it up with twine. Halfway through the roasting time, I added potatoes to the pan so they could roast too.

Main Entree

To round out the meal, I made homemade muffin-style biscuits, zucchini & yellow squash, and homemade gravy. It was all really good — but no one had much of an appetite. I had one slice of the stuffed turkey with some potatoes and two biscuits, and I was done. Kurt had a little more, but nothing like he can normally eat. Grace barely ate either. Kurt and I didn’t have anything to eat all day, and all Grace had eaten was some oatmeal for breakfast.

So I don’t know what’s wrong with us. Hopefully it’ll pass quickly.

But now our Christmas is over and done with. We don’t really do a huge production, which makes for a much happier momma (me!). And besides, as long as you’re with your family and people you love, that’s what Christmas all about!

I sure hope each and every one of you had a happy and enjoyable Christmas. (Photos can be seen HERE if you’re interested.)

 

10 Responses to “Merry Christmas to YOU!”

  1. chaosdaily Says:

    sounds a bit like food poisoning…. did you all eat the same thing at the chinese restaurant?

  2. twisterjester Says:

    I’m glad to hear you’re feeling better now. It’s something about Christmas and holidays – I used to be sick every year. This year was low stress and I felt great!

  3. cosmicgrandma Says:

    The photos are amazing! I think my favorite was the last one with the three of you at the table. What a beautiful family you are!!

  4. oleandlena Says:

    I love Chinese buffets, but have learned not to trust them a lot. Sometimes that food sits for just too long. I’m with Chaos, it does sound like it could be a light case of food poisoning. I love the pictures, especially the one of Kurt getting in a “festive mood.” I’m glad you had a nice Christmas. Our was no quiet and relaxing. I love it that way.

  5. Poolie Says:

    You are just so dang cute! And thanks SO MUCH for the ornament! It is dang cute too!

  6. art Says:

    yea i rarely goto a chinese buffet anymore. seems like food poisioning.

  7. Aimee Says:

    Hope you guys feel better! Merry Christmas.

  8. terri Says:

    By now you probably don’t really care what caused you all to feel a bit “punky” but I bet you won’t go to that particular Chinese restaurant again . The rolled turkey breast looked and sounds delicious. Maybe you can enjoy it now that a day has past.
    Your Christmas this year sounded lovely and very stressfree.
    The description of Christmas past was beautiful. I felt like I was there too. My favorite church growing up was also an older church (with some modernization over the years) but it had choir lofts and a real organ with all the huge pipes all around the pulpit….it still has the most beautifil stained glass windows to look at while the sermon is going on. I used to love the candlelight midnight Christmas Eve service…the choir sang the Messiah…..it is giving me chills right now just remembering it.

  9. cardiogirl Says:

    Merry Ho Ho and I’m sorry to hear you were all under the weather. Hopefully you have bounced back by now (the 27th) and are feeling tip top!

    Are you going to post one of Gracie’s pictures?

  10. Alicia Says:

    My hubby was born in Fall River, MA and we were there once for a wedding…I’ve been to that Chinese buffet — it’s famous in Fall River. Did not get sick, but sorry that Kurt did.

    Next time you are there (if you ever go back), you HAVE to stop at Tony’s bakery and get a loaf of the sweet bread. It’s incredible!!!

    xoxo


Leave a Reply

