The Mind of Bluesleepy

Blocked and impeded 7 January 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 2:41 pm

I’m having one of those days. One of those days where I feel as though I’m being thwarted at every turn.

First, I’m out of food. All those rants I just wrote, and my fridge is just about empty. My pantry is full, but for every recipe I find, it needs something I don’t have. I don’t even have whole tomatoes with which to make my world famous chili! And I’m never without whole tomatoes. I can still make my chili; I’ll just have to use diced tomatoes instead.

That is, if I have the beans for it.

What is in my pantry if I don’t have these staples, like whole tomatoes and beans?! I know I have something like four cans of light coconut milk. Why?? Because it’s something I can’t easily pick up at the commissary, so I would grab a can or two every time I went to the foo-foo grocery store or to World Market.

We don’t have a World Market here; there are none in all of New England! The closest one is in Maryland. Can you imagine??? Gahhh.

Hmmm, what else do I have in my pantry? I know I have artichoke hearts, which means I could make my special artichoke chicken recipe. (Mix ¾ cup mayonnaise [don’t use the reduced-fat or fat-free stuff] and ¾ cup grated parmesan. Drain a can of artichoke hearts and chop each one into fourths. Add to mayonnaise-and-cheese mixture. Grease an ovensafe pan, add four boneless, skinless chicken breasts, and spread mixture over chicken. Bake at 350º for 35 to 40 minutes, or until done.) I’ve got cans and cans and cans of diced tomatoes. Two ginormous cans of crushed tomatoes, though I can’t remember the last time I used crushed tomatoes. Chicken broth, tomato sauce, refried beans, mackerel for the dog, canned salmon for salmon patties, even baby corn!! Tomato paste, though I hate using a tablespoon of tomato paste just to have the rest of the can go bad. I’ve gone to using tomato paste in a tube, which stays good indefinitely. Also it tastes better than the stuff you get in a can, mainly because you don’t have that canned flavor.

All this food, and no idea what to make. Except for artichoke chicken, which will mostly be what we have for dinner tonight.

At least I could also make my famous rolls — as long as I remember to add the yeast this time!! Needless to say, last night’s rolls did not turn out. They found a new home in the garbage can. I probably should have put them out for the birds like my mom would have done, but I don’t have a convenient ravine to chuck them down. And if animals come nosing around my backyard, my dog goes nutzoid.

See?? Thwarted at every turn!!!

I don’t have all the ingredients for most recipes I want to make. I desperately need to go to the commissary, and amazingly enough, I am in the mood to go! But the commissary isn’t open on Mondays. Grrr.

THEN! I went into the laundry room to put away the load in the dryer, switch the load from the washer into the dryer, and put a load of Grace’s clothes in the wash. But the load in the dryer wasn’t yet dry!! FOILED AGAIN!

By the time that load is dry, I’ll forget about it or get lazy and the laundry will never get done.

I did manage to go for a walk at lunch with Kurt and Grace. At least we got out of the house and got moving. We stay inside too much, and we really need to take advantage of these dry and (relatively) warm days. Who knows how much playing outside Grace will be able to do once winter hits in earnest??

Speaking of Grace, my daughter has to be one of the nuttiest people I know. I should categorize this story under “Why the hell do I buy her toys anyway?” because yet again, she’s found another non-toy to play with.

This time, it’s those clips you buy to seal open bags. We’d gotten these orange clips from Target, in their $1 section, since we’re always needing new ones. Kurt insisted he put them on the fridge high enough that Grace shouldn’t have been able to reach them, but somehow she did.

Usually she hangs them in her hair, but today she found a new place onto which to clip them:

It would appear as though I am a cruel mom...
What will she come up with next??

I am so confused why she did this, with all four of them to boot! You would think it would hurt, but not enough, apparently. She then followed up by putting them on her fingers.

My daughter ain’t right. More proof that she takes after her momma!!!!

 

14 Responses to “Blocked and impeded”

  1. sleepyjane Says:

    Ha! My first thought after I saw the picture was: ‘THAT must hurt!’ but it seems that the grip isn’t too tight! And I think it’s adorable! SHE’S adorable! 🙂

    Oh I’d love to shop at World Market, but we don’t have them here. This is the first I’ve ever heard of it. I really like the studio day sofa they have on the home page when you open the link.

    And aint it the truth – when you actually DO want to go to the store – they’re closed. It happened to me this sunday. The stores here close early on sundays and I wanted to go buy some wood…long story. So I had to go without. 🙂

  2. whatdayisit Says:

    Sounds like you are doing no better than I am. I need to start dinner, I don’t feel inspired but I have to use up some food I bought for Christmas!!!! Yikes…guess I had better get it ready for the oven right now so I don’t put it off for another day.

    Loved the picture of Gracie….thank goodness she didn’t try to “clip” the dog’s ears….

  3. MilitaryMom Says:

    Love the picture! She reminds me of my daughter when she was younger. Now she just rolls her eyes at me.

    Doesn’t it just erk you that the commissary is closed on Mondays? We have a habit lately of going to the NCO club on Mondays sometimes because they have kids eat free, and we aways forget to go to the store on Sunday! And A World Market? Yeah, right, in MInot? NOT!

  4. clairec23 Says:

    Seriously, she’s a perfect match for my boy. He’s always clipping things to himself, I look at him and just feel his pain but he never seems to care. That would hurt me…

  5. acaldwell Says:

    aw them things dont look like they are hurting her at all!!!! hehee!!! cute pic!! im forcing myself to cook at home and NOT eat out!!

  6. Marie Says:

    I don’t think I’ve ever seen a recipe that called for crushed tomatoes. I bought some on accident once and it was basically tomato sauce?

  7. Suzi Says:

    That child looks just crazy enough to eat beanless coconut-artichoke-chicken chili!

  8. Gopheroo Says:

    LOL – That’s *so* cute, and totally something Babybear would do, seriously. In fact, he would gather all my mini butterfly hair clips, and he would attach those to his fingers and toes.

    The chicken sounds tasteeeeeeeee.

  9. Aimee Says:

    I’m stealing that recipe too! Oh and guess what’s in the slow cooker waiting for me to turn it on right now? Yup your Italian chicken recipe.

  10. Elle Says:

    Artichoke Chicken! Artichokes are my top fave in the universe food!!! I will have to steal,too. Um, except I’m out of cheese. Dern. Maybe it is the universe blocking and impeding.
    Grace is too cute! And Max had a clip fetish about her age, too. I’d have to have a round up every couple of days; roaming the house with a folded-over bag of Doritos!

  11. twisterjester Says:

    Totally cracking up here *G* I’ve never met an artichoke I like, but I’d be game to try the artichoke chicken, simply because I love chicken. We shall see :-p

  12. michele Says:

    I use that EXACT brand of tomate paste in a tube. I agree, it has a much better flavor and you can taste the difference in recipes when you use it.

    sorry you had one of those days!

    Love you!

  13. Aimee Says:

    Okay, the family raved about the slow cooker recipe! RAVED! We just tossed it all on a bed of noodles. Yum. And, did I mention that the bag clips look painful? Yikes. Either she’s super tough or they aren’t as strong as they look. Very cute picture!

  14. Angela Says:

    Ooooh, the chicken sounds so good! Between that recipe, and the recipe for the Dinner Rolls of the Gods (seriously, those are YUMMY), I am amassing quite the collection from you!

    Hee, “thwart”. That’s just one of those fun words to say.

    OK, I’m behind the rest of the group here, I don’t know what World Market is — is it similar to Whole Foods/Trader Joe’s?


Leave a Reply

