The Mind of Bluesleepy

Up and at ’em! 10 January 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 11:43 am

Shockingly enough, I was up at 8:30am. It’s amazing, really. I actually feel as though I got enough sleep, which should be true since I think I got at least eight hours. I don’t recall exactly when I put my book away for the night, but I know I got into bed before midnight.

And now I feel as though I’ve really gotten a lot accomplished, though that isn’t exactly true. I’ve managed to get showered and dressed, put my makeup on and styled my hair. My hair took forever to do again; I have no idea what’s wrong, but it just doesn’t want to do a darn thing lately. It took me forty-five minutes on Tuesday to style my hair to my satisfaction, when it normally takes no more than 15 minutes. And that’s starting from wet and having to blow-dry it! I just had a cut a few weeks ago; it shouldn’t need a cut already. Part of the problem is most of the time, my hair sort of falls into place where I like it, and then I just hairspray the bejesus out of it to make it stay. Lately it hasn’t been falling into place, and I have zero skills to make it do anything.

I’ve got half a mind to cut it all off and go back to spiking it. Get up, shower, and rub gel through it. How hard is that??

But now Kurt is requesting I go back to long-ish hair with bangs, like I had when Grace was born. I can handle that.

I’ve got grandiose plans for the day as well. Vacuum the entire house, fold Grace’s laundry (which has been languishing in a hamper for the last few days), get it put away in her drawers, and clean up some of the assorted crap that seems to accumulate each day. It’s already 11:15 and I haven’t done any of it, but my intentions are good.

What am I talking about? I still haven’t managed to read my blogs yet!

Why did I get up so early, you ask? The answer is two-fold. First, Kurt put in a trouble call to Maintenance yesterday. When we first moved in, I was excited that the master bathroom included a tub. The few few weeks, I was all about taking a bath in the evening, complete with lavender bath salts, to relax. But then I realized that our tub was messed up — ten minutes after climbing into my nice, hot, lavender-scented bath, I would be laying in only about an inch of water.

Oops.

We put in one trouble call, and this maintenance man I like to refer to as “Jackass” for many reasons (not least of which that he just finishes smoking a cigarette before he comes into my house, and he smokes so much that it clings to his clothes and permeates through my smoke-free home) decided to make the tub drain more slowly in hopes that I would keep the water in the tub longer. It sounds good in theory, but the problem becomes clear when you go to take a shower — the tub couldn’t drain fast enough to keep up with the water coming out of the shower. By the time you were done with your shower, you were standing in at least four inches of water.

So we called Maintenance back and specifically asked for someone other than Jackass. In fact, we asked for Mike. Now Mike is a cool guy; he tries his best to get the work done with a minimum of money spent (because our housing authority will not spend any money at all on buildings that will most likely be demolished in five years or less), but he does try to do it right. He came in and reversed Jackass’s work, and while I still had the problem of my water level dropping during my bath, the shower drained properly.

Now we’re back to the shower not draining. The bath drain has one of those levers; push it up, and you stop up the tub. Push it down, and the tub will drain. The problem is, that lever is now hard to keep in the down position. It wants to hang out at the mid level, which means the tub doesn’t drain.

Part of the reason why I got up early is Mike likes to ignore my set appointment time and come no later than 9am. Several times we’ve set an afternoon appointment, and Mike’s caught me in my nightgown. He told me he likes to come as early as possible to get his work done quickly, which is really fine by me. But I have asked him not to come before 9am so I have a chance to get up and get ready. The last time he came in, he came at 8:45. I wasn’t even out of bed yet!

This morning I decided to thwart him and get the hell of out bed.

Result? Maintenance hasn’t shown up yet. Grrr.

I had to get up anyhow, though. We’ve reached another milestone in Grace’s life, in that she is now in a big girl’s bed!!

Gracie in her big bed!!!

Dead asleep in her new bed

It’s not that we didn’t want her in a big-girl bed. We’ve had this bed for quite some time, it being a gift from a friend of mine when her kids grew out of it.  But we never got around to putting her in it, and I was afraid she would get up at oh-dark-thirty and come into my room to wake me up.  Last night we told her to stay in her bed until I came to get her up, and surprisingly enough, she did exactly that!!

That was the other reason I wanted to get up early this morning.  I know she woke up at 8am, and I figured having her stay in her bed an extra 30 minutes wasn’t going to kill her.

Let’s just see if I can keep this up, getting up at a decent time.  I feel better having gotten out of bed before 9am, but the problem is, it’s just too easy to hit the snooze and go back to sleep.  I have zero willpower to get up when I have nowhere specific to go.  It’s an awful thing, but there you have it.

 

10 Responses to “Up and at ’em!”

  1. clairec23 Says:

    Aw, she must be delighted with herself in her big bed.

    I don’t get up early. I just can’t. Nobody can wake me. Luckily himself was off work today because I was up until it was time to get up working on that stupid blog. I eventually got some sleep and left him to mind the kids 🙂

  2. whatdayisit Says:

    Loved the picture of Gracie and her new big girl bed. So cute. I hope by now the maintenance guy showed up and fixed the problem. Maybe you need a new stopper thingee?
    Loved the previous blog about plastic surgery…You are so right. I often wonder how parents explain to their spouses or their children when the child is born with a huge nose and no one can figure out why. It seems as though the surgery is starting younger and younger too. Current “stars” are havng boob jobs, nose jobs and face lifts when they are barely 20. I can’t tell one from another for the most part anymore..they all look blonde and like an airhead. They will all look like robots in a few more years.

  3. acaldwell Says:

    congrats on the big girl bed!!! i bet she loves it!!!! i dont think you will have any probs with her getting up at o’dark thirty!

  4. sleepyjane Says:

    I hate getting up too. If I was left alone to sleep I’d only wake up around midday. Doesn’t matter how many hours I sleep I’m always so tired when I have to get up.

    Congrats to Grace! 🙂 Love the picture.

  5. MilitaryMom Says:

    Sleeping in is like a day at the spa for me! I love it, and on weekends I rarely get up before 10:00. My hubby is da bomb when it comes to letting me sleep on weekends because I get up at 0530 all during the week.

    Congrats to Grace on the big girl bed! That is a major milestone! Hope it goes smoothly for you. Mine were all little houdini’s when it came to beds and cribs.

  6. twisterjester Says:

    I’m glad for Gracie. She must feel like a little princess! And I hear ya on the hair. I’d gotten spoiled to just putting mine in a ponytail. Since I cut it, I can’t do that any more. Bleh, LOL!

  7. Terri Says:

    Thank goodness I’m not the only one who thinks getting up before 9 is a sin! My mom is a total early bird. Got up super early to have her coffee, some time to herself, etc. I don’t work that way. If I get up early, it takes me until about 9:30 or later to wake up and be coherent, so really. Why not just sleep until I’m ready? 🙂

  8. Margie Says:

    Hey, once you get your tub draining properly again, simply get one of those flat, rubber stoppers for your baths. That should solve that problem very inexpensively. Grace is so cute in her bed.

  9. Aimee Says:

    congrats on the big girl bed. I get up early to take the kids to school….but I fall back to sleep and nap all day.


Leave a Reply

