The Mind of Bluesleepy

Not lazy???? 11 January 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 2:12 pm

Wow.  I guess I’m not the only one who likes to sleep in.  I was so afraid to post that, since most people make fun of me and call me lazy for sleeping late.  Back in Washington, my friend J used to tease me all the time because I didn’t get up till 9am.  She’d get up no later than 6am most days.

Getting up before the sun is just not on my to-do list, thanks.

And one day Ms Cheez-It got stuck in the snow in her driveway, but she didn’t call me because she knew I wouldn’t be up!  She kept giving me crap about it too.  I would definitely get out of bed if someone needs me; I just don’t see the point of getting up at the ass-crack o’ dawn every morning.

So shoot me.

As it was, I did get up at 8:30am again this morning.  Things didn’t go quite as swimmingly as they did yesterday, though.

Once Grace was fed, I stashed her in my room to watch Game Show Network (gotta love those 70s game shows) while I showered.  Oh!!  The shower is FIXED.  I am so excited.  It was Mike who showed up yesterday afternoon, which made me so happy because I know he does a good job.  He replaced the entire mechanism to stop up the tub, the lever and all.  But when he first took the drain apart, it was clear what was stopping up the tub — lots and lots of hair.

Yuck.

I’m not even sure why the tub got that stopped up with just hair.  The drain cover is metal and covered with small-ish holes (I can’t buy a plastic tub stopper; I don’t have a hole in the bottom of my tub for a drain.  There’s a drain cover screwed into the drain), and after almost every shower, I clean out what little hair has accumulated on top of the cover.  Plus I now have short hair; it doesn’t even go to my shoulders anymore!  Then you add the fact that Maintenance was out here to fix the drain not more than two months ago, and it doesn’t make sense why I had a clog.

But I did, and now it’s fixed, so life is good.  The shower drained very quickly the whole time I was in the shower today.  I was standing in no water at all!

It’s the little things that please me.

I was all psyched to get some housework done too.  I was dragging Grace’s laundry basket into her room to finally fold her clean clothes (which have been languishing in said basket for three days now), when it dawned on me what time it was.

ACK!  I had to get dinner in the crockpot!

So then I raced back into the kitchen and started getting everything ready for the Pork Stew recipe kindly given to me by YankeeChick, which is oh, so good.  And boy, did I make a mess of the kitchen too!

I figured it was time to tkae a break to go do my makeup and hair, and shockingly enough, my hair cooperated with me.   Then it was time to tackle the kitchen.  I had to empty the dishwasher and the clean side of the sink, as well as reload the dishwasher and wash the largest pans.  I should have swept and mopped the floor too, but by the time I was done with all that, I really didn’t feel like it.

I figured I deserved a few moments to relax while Kurt reheated leftovers for lunch, so I grabbed the laptop and tried playing some Pogo.  And of course, it didn’t work!!  Gahhhh!!  I have some weird problem with Pogo where the game room will refuse to load.  And I’ve done everything that everyone has suggested.  I’ve shut down the firewall, I’ve restarted Firefox (and when I have this problem, Pogo doesn’t work in IE either, so switching to IE isn’t an option), I’ve cleared both the browser cache and the Java cache, I’ve restarted the computer, I’ve restarted the wireless, I’ve rebooted the modem, I’ve shut down almost every process in the Task Manager…  I wouldn’t mind so much if there was one guaranteed way to get it to work, like shutting off the firewall long enough to load a game.  Then I would just do that trick each and every time I had this problem, and while that would be slightly annoying, it would be manageable.

But sometimes this works and sometimes it doesn’t, and sometimes that works and sometimes it doesn’t, and sometimes nothing works at all!!  I’ve had a trouble call in to Pogo since before Christmas, and while the techies keep responding with answers, they don’t know what’s wrong.  I do know what’s wrong, though I have no idea how to fix it.  Somehow Java never starts up, so Pogo keeps waiting for my computer to start up Java.  I’ve uninstalled and reinstalled Java, but that doesn’t help.  I had several instances of Java on this computer, so I deleted the extra ones, and I’m still having this problem.  Funnily enough, I can go over to the Java webpage and play all sorts of Java applet games over there.

It’s almost enough to propel my fat butt off this couch and head to the Apple store to invest in an Apple laptop!!!

All that said, I don’t really want any more advice on how to fix it.  Trust me, I’ve tried it all.

I have half a mind not to renew my Pogo membership; I only play to get the badges, and I don’t really go in there for the social aspect anymore.  I only ever visit Art or Chaos when they’re playing, and I can always chat with them over IM if necessary.

Anyhow.

So that took up a good chunk of my motivation, and now I don’t feel like catching up on housework.  Grrrrr.  And I have a ton to do.

*sigh*

A woman’s work is never done.  I don’t know how you working mothers do it!

 

11 Responses to “Not lazy????”

  1. chaosdaily Says:

    yeah sometimes those computer things can suck up the whole day!!!

  2. sleepyjane Says:

    YAY for a fixed shower! 🙂

    And I have no idea what Pogo is but I’m sorry that you’re having problems with it.

    Sounds lke you has one busy day, Jeez. 🙂

  3. MilitaryMom Says:

    We don’t do it. We make our kids do it! Hehehe!
    Sorry you had a suckish day. I had a pretty long day myself. Now I am just trying to unwind so I can get to sleep tonight! Ciou!

  4. art Says:

    over at work, cleaning the showers, one of the tenants tole me about a shower drain that was draining slowly!! so, i unscrewed the metal plate with the tiny holes that the water goes down, and i grabbed the snake, and away i went!!! and i snaked up GOBS AND GOBS of HAIR!!! it dont matter how small them drain holes are, the hair goes down the drain and over time collects in bunches of GOBS and slows down and blocks the drain, like chorestoral inna artery! woooo!!!! funky too, ive been told!! thank god i cant smell nuffin!!!! i cant spel chorestoral either!!!!!!!!!!

  5. Terri Says:

    I’m scared of Pogo… I’m not sure why, but I am. AHHHH! LOL Do you chat on Yahoo? I’m irisheyes_r_smilin if you ever want to find me!

  6. twisterjester Says:

    I almost never sign into IM any more. And as to how working moms do anything at home – they don’t. It isn’t possible. I tried for years. Or at least it wasn’t possible for me.

  7. Aimee Says:

    That does suck. As a working mom mostly I don’t do it. Meaning if I am tired the housework waits. So our house gets messy but at least I have my sanity!

  8. Elle Says:

    Yup, me and Aimee, the houses with the herds of marauding dust bunnies. There aren’t enough hours in the day. Vacuuming and laundry on the horizon for my Saturday – maybe!

    Sharing joy at the fixed status of the shower and cooperating nature of hair, hope Pogo and Java learn to get along soon! Send pork stew recipe!

  9. michele Says:

    like i’ve mentioned before, 8 – 9am is not a lazy time in the morning to get up (for you especially). now, in my humble opinion if you were dragging your ass out of bed around noon that would be a little more on the lazy side since you have a child.

    personally, my natural bio-rhythm or whatever you call it is just set to want to wake up before the ass crack o’ dawn. i really like getting up and doing my morning routine (and chores) before the sun comes up. your bio-rhythm is to stay up late and not get up early. nuttin’ wrong with that!

    Love ya!

  10. whatdayisit Says:

    There is nothing like having the ambition and energy to get a lot of things done than to be stopped flat by something not working properly. Often, for me, it is my vacumn cleaner….Argh!!! it ruins the rest of the day for me. Hope you can figure out what is wrong is Pogo or else just quit trying to get it to work. And btw, I think you accomplished a lot that day…


Leave a Reply

