The Mind of Bluesleepy

And then there was Flickr 12 January 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 11:55 pm

Pardon my lack of posting all day today. We’ve had a busy day!

Today was getting the dog shaved. I always have to crack up when we pick up the dog after a trip to the groomer’s; he always looks like a drowned rate once he’s done. This was his first time at our local Petco (he’s always gone to a mom & pop pet store in Washington that had grooming facilities before), so I wasn’t sure what he was going to look like once he was done.

He turned out fairly well, except his face wasn’t trimmed enough. He is going to have a hard time seeing in just a month or two, instead of three months or more.

I would have photos to share of the dog, but Flickr went down!!

We’d just gotten home around 5:30pm this afternoon. We were to watch Ms Cheez-It’s son tonight while they went off to a post-Christmas party for the Chief Petty Officer Association (which Kurt hadn’t been told about), so I checked my email really quickly before the kid showed up and incited my daughter to make mad quantities of noise.

Okay, it was my daughter doing the inciting, but anyhow.

I also had to check what was going on in my Flickr group in case something unbearably funny was going on. I got a couple of “Flickr has the hiccups” messages, but usually when that happens, I refresh and the page comes right back.

This time, it went from “Flickr has the hiccups” to “Flickr is having a massage” — and “a massage” means the site is down.

Grrr.

It was down for five hours. Can you imagine my pain??? No??

I have no life. It’s sad.

But now it’s back up, and now I can post the photos I’ve been waiting all day to share with you.

Last night we were all sitting around, watching tv as we usually do, when we realized we were bored out of our skulls. I had the bright idea of playing games with Grace. We’d gotten her both Candyland and Chutes & Ladders for Christmas, but we still hadn’t gotten around to opening them. I figured it was time.

We started with Chutes & Ladders. Grace did pretty well, actually. I was surprised how well she takes turns! She even kept track of whose turn it was next, even when Kurt and I forgot. “It’s your turn, my Daddy!” she would shout once she was done.

But it was hard for her to know how to move forward. She understands counting square by square, but there are so many graphics all over the board that it’s hard for her to see where one square ends and the next begins. Then she kept wanting to put her piece on all the squares with the same little boy (for some reason she wanted one of the little boy game pieces!).

So I think Chutes & Ladders is out for a little while longer.

Next up, Candyland. That went much better. She understood the differentiation between spaces much better, and it made more sense to her. We all had a lot more fun.

(For the record, I won both games and Grace came in second. Kurt couldn’t even finish Candyland because he kept getting sent back so far.)

Kurt's red piece waves to my yellow piece

That’s Kurt’s red game piece waving to my yellow game piece. His game piece kept trying to molest mine! At one point, his piece was right behind mine, and he kept trying to snuggle up and kiss my game piece.

Gross. Cooties!!!

We kept playing, and all of a sudden I drew the card with the peanut on it. Here’s Grace’s reaction:

Why the sad face? “Mommy, I’m ‘lergic to peanuts!”

I kid you not; that is precisely what she said!  I am so glad she knows what peanuts look like.  I ask her every so often what will happen if she eats peanuts, and she always says, “I get sick!”

Hopefully that will be just one more level of protection to keep peanuts away from her.

And it made for quite the hilarious photo!!!

 

10 Responses to “And then there was Flickr”

  1. Catie Says:

    The Flickr outage was AWFUL. I cried and cried and cried.

  2. twisterjester Says:

    I don’t use Flickr but I know how frustrating it is when MY site is out!

  3. art Says:

    that is the best photo by far!!! love the new haircut too!!!

  4. clairec23 Says:

    She’s such a cutie 🙂 I think chutes and ladders must be like snakes and ladders but I don’t know what candyland is…We got Liam Hungry Hungry Hippos for xmas but the parts have all gone missing already :/

  5. michele Says:

    well ya know, even photo pages need a good massage every now and then! *wink*

    reading this entry makes me long for the day when i finally get to come for a visit. i think you and i need to start making some plans, Sis! i would *love* to play Candyland!!!

    *muah*

  6. Poolie Says:

    She is absolutely adorable!

  7. Elle Says:

    What a sweet little pout! Flickr is the next thing I have to investigate. I’m already starting to really mess up things without trying on my blog, so I need to branch out and see what other oopsies I can make!

  8. sleepyjane Says:

    She’s got the pout down pat! ( Couldn’t resist! 🙂 ) I love board games. I play them too little though.

  9. MilitaryMom Says:

    That little pout will be your downfall (well, your hubby’s at least) in a few years. Look out! She will be a heartbreaker!

  10. whatdayisit Says:

    Such a cute face…and her eyes even look sad! Hope you continue to play games and enjoy every second of her young years. And tell the Red guy to stop smooching the yellow guy.. or you might wind up with an Orange baby. .I think YOU should have had RED guy since you have red hair!!!!


Leave a Reply

