The Mind of Bluesleepy

Power outage 27 January 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 10:40 am

I woke up to a power outage this morning!  It was so weird too because there was no good reason for it.  It wasn’t raining or storming or anything, just overcast and chilly.  Kurt called the emergency maintenance line, and they said most of housing was out, but that they didn’t know what was wrong or how widely spread off the base the outage was.

The power was back on within the hour, so that was good.

I feel like crap right now.  I have no idea what my problem is either.  My chest feels like someone is sitting on it, and on occasion my heart starts to pound.  Also my stomach really hurts.  I had a really hard time sleeping last night, so I’m exhausted.  My brain kept racing, and I would wake up feeling as though I hadn’t yet been to sleep.

And what really confuses me is while these are usually symptoms of severe stress for me, I am not stressed at all!  I have nothing to worry about or be stressed about.  I’m completely confused, and I just hope I feel better soon.

Coffee helped somewhat.  I’m just going to keep drinking some and see what happens.

Yesterday was a complete and total blast!  I finally met up with one of my good internet friends.  We decided to meet in Salem, Massachusetts, about halfway between both of our homes.  We met right in front of the New England Pirate Museum, but the first order of business was to find some food.  We went to this little Mexican restaurant, where I accidentally ordered an appetizer instead of an actual meal.  But I more than made up for it with the two margaritas I had.  And boy, were they strong!!  The two I had were enough to render me rather drunk, and I wouldn’t consider myself a lightweight.

We sat talking after lunch for the longest time.  We even shut down the restaurant, since I guess it closes for an afternoon siesta before dinner.  Finally we left and wandered around Salem.  We weren’t really sure where we were going, but we finally ended up at the cemetery.  I love cemeteries, especially the old ones.  There were so many really old graves, from way back in the 1700s.  I love reading what they used to put on the gravestones; most of the epitaphs were really beautiful.

We also saw the memorial for those who had been put to death during the Salem Witch Trials.  Honestly, I never thought I would get to New England to see history like that.  Almost every day I am amazed that I am here in New England, where there is so much history!  One gets used to “old” being more than 100 years when you live in Washington state; here in New England, 100 years is practically brand new!

After a while, we started heading back to the parking garage where we had both parked.  However, it took us forever to get there, as we stood on the street corner and in the parking garage just talking.   Finally I suggested we pile into my van and go find something to do, since I could always get back to the parking garage.  Kurt just got himself a new GPS receiver, and I had had him program in the Pirate Museum so I wouldn’t get lost on the way.  We found our way to Friendly’s, where we had dinner.

Friendly’s on a Saturday night is a very amusing place to be.  All of the… well, for lack of a better word, “rednecks” come out to eat.  There was one family across the aisle from us that kept letting their toddler run rampant over the restaurant.  Then there was another family, a mother and her daughters, who came to eat and sat across the aisle as well.  The littlest had said something, and for whatever reason it caused my head to snap around, at which point the older sisters yelled at the little one that she was embarrassing them in public.  I felt kind of bad for the little one, as I had completely not meant to snap my head around, and I just hope it wasn’t one of those occasions that sticks with this little girl for the rest of her life.

Finally at 10pm we made it back to the parking garage where my friend’s car was parked, and we went our separate ways.  I can’t believe that we spent nine hours together yesterday — and really, it felt like we had known each other forever.  It was really awesome.  I can’t wait till I see her again in two weeks in San Jose!

In other most awesome news, Grace is starting to get the hang of this potty-training thing.  Kurt said she peed in the potty at least four times yesterday.  The stickers as a reward wasn’t working, so we decided to bribe her with Smarties.  Another friend of ours had used M&Ms, but Gracie can’t have M&Ms — the manufacturers aren’t that cautious about keeping the peanut and peanut butter flavors out of their plain ones.  That’s when I came up with the idea of Smarties, also because they’re my favorite candy.

And as my good buddy Art would say, “That’s all the news you can use for today!”  Have a good one!

 

13 Responses to “Power outage”

  1. chaosdaily Says:

    its funny, but i have trouble sleeping when i have alcohol.. well, most of the time. im sure i was snoring away after the margaritas we had in tombstone! i must have had enough to put me to sleep..

  2. MilitaryMom Says:

    Glad you had such a nice day! I have always wanted to go to Salem and see all the history of the witch trials and stuff. I have never been to New England. I hope you aren’t catching a version of the crud I am currently trying to get over, God it’s miserable. 9 days (and counting) of total suckage. I’m sure you will feel better later. Only ND seems to get these power flus.

  3. clairec23 Says:

    Glad you had a good time. I seriously need to taste a Margherita…

    Potty training started to work when we offered sweets as bribes too. She’ll probably start peeing in it every ten minutes now.

  4. art Says:

    thanks for the linky!! maybe over time during the day you will feel better. maybe the margaritas were the culprit!

  5. yankeechick Says:

    Sounds like you had a great day! For having been born and raised in upstate NY, I have never been to any of the “New England” states either……none of them! How lame is that? I would love to, but back when we were traveling outside of Alaska for the winter, in our motorhome, it was winter there too! Not conducive to motorhome vacationing! Someday…….I really want to go to Maine, especially to see Stephen Kings mansion!!

    Hope you just are having a temporary moment of the blahs and not coming down with something. ***Hugs**

  6. Andrea Says:

    Yay for extra-strong margaritas and non-stop talking!

  7. jen Says:

    yay, a fun janet day! you know, i grew up in Boston and I have been to Salem, but not the interesting witchy bits.

  8. sleepyjane Says:

    It does sound like you had a fabulous time.

    I hope you’re feeling better by the time I’m commenting on this post!

  9. michele Says:

    glad you had a good time with your new friend. maybe i should move to RI so I can have friends! 😉

    yay for Gracie starting to potty-train! cool!

  10. Angela Says:

    You MUST experience the complete lameness that is the Pirate Museum…I went through it about 2 years ago and had to work really really hard at not busting out laughing. The awesome part was that the tour guide really threw himself into his spiel to make it more entertaining. 😉

    There are 2-3 definitive “Salem Witch House”-type museums, if I remember right there was 1 that’s really good…I’ll ask Dad if he remembers so I can give you some tips for your next trip! 🙂

  11. oleandlena Says:

    Ole and I were in New England about 5 years ago and visited Salem during Halloween week. They celebrate and decorate for Halloween like the rest of the world decorates for Christmas. It was wonderful and so interesting. We also visited the cemetery you spoke about – I was in awe. The same as Washington, old here in Minnesota/North Dakota is 100 years.

  12. Blue Opal Says:

    Congratulations both on Grace’s potty training and on the friend day! It’s pretty amazing when you meet up with folks you know from online and discover they are exactly who their writing shows — only better!

  13. Aimee Says:

    I had boys so we played sink the Cheerios and bribed with M & M’s or smarties or whatever candies we had. I think with Gabe we used fruit snacks.
    Sounds like you had a blast!


Leave a Reply

