The Mind of Bluesleepy

Superbowl Sunday 3 February 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 6:49 pm

Yes, folks, if you live anywhere near the United States, you know that today is Superbowl Sunday. It’s nearly 6:15pm, and the game still hasn’t started. I’m getting somewhat frustrated with all the blah-blah-blah going on; it’ll probably be close to 7pm before the darn thing starts.

That’s one thing that was nice about living in Seattle. It was in the Pacific time zone, so we never had to worry about late games. Not that we worry about them here, since we are night owls, but I know others would prefer an earlier start time for the folks on the East Coast.

Ah well.

And yes, I am rooting for the New York Giants. I apologize to my fellow New Englanders, but I would really prefer to see the Patriots lose. I am really tired of their cockiness. Yes, they are a great football team. There’s no argument with that. But that doesn’t give the Patriots fans the right to heckle me when I go out in town wearing my Buccaneers jersey. That team isn’t even a rival to New England; there’s no good reason to heckle me. I wouldn’t dream of heckling someone I didn’t even know for wearing a particular jersey. Isn’t that sort of like grabbing a pregnant woman by her belly without her permission?

Anyhow. Enough of that.

Speaking of New England, yesterday we visited the Franklin Park Zoo in Boston. Holy cow, did you know Boston drivers cannot drive?? I have never seen such bad driving in all my days. Green lights were ignored, red lights were ignored, turn signals were never used. We’d be driving through an intersection and have to slam on our brakes because someone decided they should turn left right in front of us. We were also honked when we didn’t floor the gas the exact millisecond the light turned green. It was absolutely insane, and I am very thankful Kurt was driving instead of me.

We tried to eat at a Boston Market downtown, but there was simply no parking. It took us forever to get to the Boston Market, then it took us forever to get back to the zoo. By the time we entered the gates, it was already 2:45, and the zoo closes at 4 in the wintertime. There was no way we were giving up, however. We’d driven all that way; we were going to the zoo.

I was really looking forward to seeing the giraffes. Their sheer height always amazes me. They weren’t in their outdoor enclosure, though, so we headed towards the lion’s den.

Time for a bit of a snooze
Time for a bit of a snooze

I loved seeing the lion. He was just snoozing in the sun, enjoying the slight breeze that wafted through the air. We’d circled around his enclosure to view him through the glass, when he decided it was time to stand up and make his presence known. Deep-throated roars floated on the breeze, almost too low to hear. It was really very amazing. I would have loved to have gotten a great shot of him roaring, but by the time I got back to where I wasn’t behind glass, he was done and ready to snooze some more. My shots through the glass sucked royally. There was a man carrying around a Canon digital SLR with an enormous lens on it, the whole contraption attached to a tall tripod, and he kept shooting photos of the lion through the glass. Maybe he’s got a way to compensate for the glass, but my shots kept coming out badly exposed and metered because it was reading off the glass, not off the lion.

I love this shot, though. It’s almost like you can reach through the computer monitor and dig your fingers into the thick fur of his mane. It would probably not be a good idea; you’d probably end up missing a hand.

Around the paths we wandered until we found ourselves at the indoor rain forest. There were loads of cool animals to see in there, from white and black storks to mandrills to tapirs to warthogs (and boy, are those things ugly!) to pygmy falcons to crocodiles to anacondas. But the best part of the trip to the rain forest? The gorilla exhibit.

Pondering the imponderable
Pondering the imponderable

How amazing are gorillas? They’re so close to us that it’s impossible not to look at them and see ourselves reflected. Everything they do reminds us of ourselves. They have our gestures and our emotions. It’s impossible to look at a gorilla and not become fascinated with their similarity to us, and wonder how we’ve manage to progress so far while our gorilla cousins still live in the trees.

There was a mama and a baby gorilla that waltzed into the viewing area along with other members of their group. The baby, about the same size as Grace, kept crawling up onto his mama’s back. But then he would slide down again, and at one point his mama climbed up onto his back, as if he were going to give his mother a ride! Then they came to sit down for a few minutes, but it quickly got boring. So Mama reached over and started tickling Junior, and he rolled around in the straw. It was so close to what I would do with Grace if given the opportunity.

So what does that say about me? I’m very gorilla-like??

We had a good time, though there were some dark spots in the day. I’m not sure we’ll go up to Boston any time soon; those Boston drivers have scarred us for a while!

(More photos from the zoo can be seen HERE!)

 

10 Responses to “Superbowl Sunday”

  1. oldewoman Says:

    That gorilla picture is amazing.

  2. art Says:

    lookit them gorilla eyes!!! such humaness in them! i wonder what he was thinking about!!

  3. Fi Says:

    I love gorillas. They always look so mournful. Very appealling. And so very human. Thanks for sharing the pic and the wonderful story of the mum and baby.

  4. clairec23 Says:

    Your team won, right?

    The gorilla pic is excellent. Gorillas make me sad (in the zoo) because they always look trapped to me. Like they know what’s going on and they hate it.

    I love the lions but I prefer the tigers. That’s why I love the Lionman program. They are my favourites πŸ™‚ We wanted to go to the zoo for Isobel’s birthday but the weather here is horrible right now. Better save it for the summer, if we get one.

  5. sleepyjane Says:

    First of all, when I read that you support the New York Giants I immediately thought if Madagascar – the cartoon movie with the zoo animals. Where King Julian (the lemur king) asks them where they’re from and they say New York and he goes: ‘All hail the New York Giants!’ πŸ™‚

    Awesome shot of the Lion! You are so talented! And giraffes are beautiful, I can be very grateful that I get to see them whenever we go camping in their natural habitat. I have some cool photo’s of them this past Dec – I’ll upload it sometime this week on my flickr.

  6. oleandlena Says:

    Ole and I were in Boston a few years back. We, too, decided we’d probably never visit there again. Not only were the people rude, but the traffic was insane, and trying to find your way around is almost impossible. You could SEE where you wanted to go, but you couldn’t get there from here if you know what I mean. We have driven in cities all over the world. Ole drives and I read the map. We’ve even managed Athens, Greece with an entirely different alphabet successfully. But driving in Boston made me so frustrated I ended up in tears.

  7. Cosmic Says:

    I am from Maine but when I was I was growing up we used to say that Massachusettes had the world’s worst drivers because they made insurance mandatory. Therefore, they didn’t worry about fender benders. I doubt that was true, but that’s what was said.

  8. Angela Says:

    LOVE the zoo pictures!!!! When spring comes around we’ll have to make a date to hit the Stone Zoo…no Boston driving required for that one! πŸ™‚

    You know how I feel about driving in Boston so I won’t even go there, LOL….and I’d like to apologize to anyone who has had the misfortune to encounter a rude Bostonian…they are their own special breed and are not representative of the people of Massachusetts as a whole. πŸ˜‰

  9. michele Says:

    …yes you are like a gorilla. here’s a banana. πŸ˜‰

    And, once again, I agree with you about the Patriots. I was also rooting for the Patriots. Thanks for recognizing that some people on the east coast WOULD like an earlier start time. Either that, or change it to Superbowl Saturday and then you can still have the game at 6pm east coast time! I mean, it used to be unheard of to have a game in February, and now it seems to be the norm.

    That’s my 3 cents’ worth anyhow….

  10. Aimee Says:

    Amazing pictures! I love the zoo. I wan to go too, now.


Leave a Reply

