The Mind of Bluesleepy

We’re off to see the Wizard…! 8 February 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 2:59 pm

OK, so I’m not going to see the Wizard of Oz. But wouldn’t that be neat?? I always did love that movie, the way it started out in black and white and changed to color. And what color!!! That’s one thing I love about old Hollywood musicals, the eye-popping color. I am all about color; it’s why I love Ken Rockwell’s photos so much, and why I would aspire to be like him. From him I have learned to crank the color settings in my dSLR, which is why I can get such eye-popping color in my photos. It’s not always good to leave everything on their default settings.

So where are we going?? Nowhere!! We aren’t going anywhere. But I am going someplace. Without my husband, without my daughter. And I am so very excited to get some time for me! Maybe that’s a wee bit selfish, but hey, I haven’t been anywhere without Grace since she was born in October 2004.

I am heading off to California tomorrow! And I can’t wait! One of my friends is having a momentous birthday next week, and a bunch of us, I think twelve in total, have all decided to descend upon her to help her celebrate. Plus I got a way cheap ticket, so how could I not go??

San Jose, here I come!

This is going to be probably one of the most fun trips I’ve taken thus far in my life. I’ve very rarely gone somewhere without family, and while I love my family, it’s good to be with friends too. And these girls that are all going are the funniest, sweetest, and fun-loving group I have met in quite some time. We are going to rock San Jose.

The only downside to this trip, and one I’ll gladly put up with, is my 7:30am flight tomorrow morning. It’s really not all that bad; instead of the two-hour drive from my home to Sea-Tac Airport in Washington, I now have a half-hour drive to the airport that serves Providence. Then I’ll have a lay-over in Vegas, which ought to make for some fantastic people-watching, and I fly straight into San Jose. Door to door service! You can’t ask for much better.

Also it does mean I will not be posting again until Wednesday, or reading all you people either. I don’t want to take my laptop, so I will not have internet access. Four whole days without internet?!?! I should survive. We shall see.

I did get some sad news today, in the midst of all my excitement. Remember when I mentioned the maintenance guys for base housing? The one guy that I really like, Mike, has quit. Pardon me whilst I go sob in my Cheerios for a bit. OK, now I’m better. He had good reason to quit; he owns a bar, and he just recently opened up another location, and what with two bars to run he had no time for a day job. So I can’t really be mad at him. But dangit, I liked him!! He really knew what he was doing, and he did a great job. He actually tried to fix things, instead of just slapping a Band-Aid on the problem.

The other guy that loved to slap Band-Aids on things instead of doing the job right, the man I like to call “Jackass” because he is one, apparently he has been reassigned to another area. And I’m not the only one who has problems with him. I’m just glad to learn I probably won’t have to deal with him again!

Today we had Bill to snake out Grace’s toilet. He was cool; he’s the one who told me all of this. He seems like he knows what he’s doing, but he’s only assigned to my area temporarily until they hire a replacement for Mike. I can only hope we get another man as intelligent and hard-working as Mike.

I also found out that all the houses they razed in the other neighborhood north of us are not going to be rebuilt. It’s a shame, though. I think they should at least have sold the homes to Newport County to use as low-income housing. It’s really expensive to live here.

Anyhoo. And now, just because I can, I am posting a video of Grace again!! Enjoy!!

 

17 Responses to “We’re off to see the Wizard…!”

  1. Kym Ohmacht Says:

    Whoohoo—California! Have a great time. I haven’t been there since I was born.

    Four whole days without the Internet. What is a girl to do?

    Gracie’s video is adorable. She’s just simply adorable.

  2. chaosdaily Says:

    have a good time!!

  3. whatdayisit Says:

    Lucky you…have a wonderful trip…hope you ARE taking your camera so we can share in all the girly fun.

    Ok, I’m done! ::snicker::

  4. oldewoman Says:

    Wow, have a great time!

  5. Catie Says:

    Okay! I’m done.

    That kid kills me. Also- you will absolutely have Internet access. I can deny you nothing, Friend.

  6. yankeechick Says:

    “Okay! I’m done!” Classic! Gotta love it. And how cool you’re going on a big adventure. Be careful and have fun! But I must say, 4 days without posting or commenting…………maybe YOU will survive………….but will we??? I s’ppose it’s for a good cause. OH!! But wait!! Catie said internet access!!! Thanks Catie!! Now you guys can play all day and she can blog all night…..or the other way around. Heh!

  7. art Says:

    anutter great gracie video!!! wooo deee!!!! and san jose!!! i used to live there ya know!!! i know u r gonna hava wonderful time!!!

  8. clairec23 Says:

    Aw, I’m gonna miss you 😦

  9. MilitaryMom Says:

    Enjoy your trip, Blue! We’ll miss you! And yes, I am so jealous. I only get to go places a lone when I am TDY! And I never get to go anywhere fun. I know you’ll have a good time for the both of us, so I can live vicariously through you!

  10. Angela Says:

    Have a FANTASTIC trip creampuff — from what I hear the Vegas airport is full of slot machines, so maybe you’ll win big on the layover! 🙂 I know you are going to have a fantabulous time with the girls! Thank you for posting the extreme Gracie cuteness…it will tide me over until you’re back home. 😉 We need to teach her about Chicken Surprise!

  11. bitterwineuk Says:

    Have a wonderful break. Hope it all goes well.x

  12. sleepyjane Says:

    I hope you have a fantastic time Blue! 🙂

    A.D.O.R.A.B.L.E!!

    Okay…I’m done!

  13. YAY! Enjoy your vacation! I wish San Diego was closer to San Jose!

  14. Caroline Says:

    Have fun with your Janets!!!

  15. karmacat Says:

    Have a great trip! As important as family is, it’s also important to take time for yourself. Enjoy!

  16. Cosmic Says:

    I guess when she is done, she is really done!


Leave a Reply

