The Mind of Bluesleepy

Happy Valentine’s Day!! 14 February 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 10:21 pm

I hope you all had a fantastic Valentine’s Day!  We don’t usually do anything for it.  My birthday’s next week and then Kurt’s is two weeks after that, so we normally celebrate both birthdays right at the end of February or the beginning of March.  It makes the most sense to us.  And Valentine’s Day — it’s just sort of a commercialized holiday at this point.  I don’t want Kurt to feel obligated that he has to get me something expensive or big or full of bling.  It’s just not my style.

For example, our sixth wedding anniversary last October.  Kurt made me dinner.  He didn’t buy me anything; instead he researched some gourmet recipes and came up with grilled lobster tail with this amazing curry dipping sauce, and artichokes on the side.  It was just as amazing as something we could have gone to a restaurant for and paid twice as much!   That’s the kind of thing I like, though.  I mean, it’s nice to get something tangible, but it isn’t always necessary.

What with being in California all weekend and sort of losing track of the days, I almost completely forgot about Valentine’s Day.  In fact I did forget what day it was, until Kurt asked me last night what we wanted to do today.  I thought he meant in general, and he had to gently remind me that it was in fact a holiday.  Oh yeah, DUH.  Today I had to go to the commissary; we were entirely out of food.  So while there, I picked up a bag of caramel-filled Hershey’s Kisses, some orange-flavored Craisins, and a box of brownies that I promised I would make him tonight (which I have), all in honor of Valentine’s Day.

Kurt decided we really ought to go out to dinner at our favorite Japanese restaurant, where we sat at the hibachi and ate ourselves silly.  Mmm, edamame.  Finally he presented me with my gift as we sat at Starbucks later in the evening.  And what did he get me?  A matching necklace, bracelet, and earrings, all of chocolate (ie, brown) pearls.  They’re really quite lovely!

Now we just have to find an occasion to dress up so I can wear them!

Poor Kurt’s not feeling well.  He has been getting stomach cramps and been needing the restroom at least several times an hour.  He had the afternoon off today, but he was feeling so badly that he just slept for most of the afternoon.  Grace and I went to the commissary, and he told me that he hadn’t even noticed we were gone!  I just wish I knew if he had some kind of virus or it was something he ate.  I’m thinking it’s a virus; we’ve been eating the same things since I’ve been home.

Let’s just hope that if it is a virus I don’t come down with it too.  Kurt’s miserable.  I’ve got a house to run; I haven’t got time to be miserable.

Now I’m off to try to catch up on everyone’s blogs!  I’m still afraid to open my Google Reader, but I guess it has to be done sometime.

Wish me luck!

 

9 Responses to “Happy Valentine’s Day!!”

  1. Miss Hiss Says:

    What a delightful way to celebrate with your Valentine. It sounds positively lovely — your adventures always inspire me. (And I do hope Kurt feels better soon!) Love, R xxx

  2. Poolie Says:

    Nice way to say “I love you.” It’s neat that you two are so secure with each other.

  3. sleepyjane Says:

    By the time I’m reading this you’ve already made your way over to mine. 🙂

    I’m glad you had such a nice Valentine’s day! The dark brown pearls sound heavenly! 🙂

    Oh and I hope Kurt feels better soon and that you don’t get sick.

    (Ps – I showed J the video of Grace and he thinks she’s adorable! He turned to me and asked me: ‘Don’t you want one of those?! Me: *runs away screaming*) lol

  4. clairec23 Says:

    Ick, poor Kurt – hope he feels better by now.

    I’m glad you had a great time away, you know, NOT missing us 😉 Those pearls sound beautiful and really unusual (to me anyway). Dinner was made for me too, there must be some sort of instructional book going around this year 😉

  5. chaosdaily Says:

    BOX brownies??? you made BOX brownies?? dang, girl, next time ill send you a recipe for something good!

  6. Yankeechick Says:

    I’m so glad you had a nice Valentine’s Day….even if you didn’t do it on purpose! LOL I spent the evening getting all caught up on my blog reading and waiting…..and waiting……and waiting for you to post! 🙂 I guess I gave up about 5 minutes too soon. I should have realized you were busy “Valentining”. And, yeah….what Chaos said……YOU made BOX brownies???? Apparently some of us are appalled. Actually, you made the best choice in mixes…..they really are yummy. Hardly ever met a brownie I didn’t like 🙂

  7. Elle Says:

    A low key V-Day is always the best, I think. Your pearls are stunning! Chuck did really well with my card this year, (I did have a tear or two…) and we exchanged candy. We had Quizno’s together for lunch, I made us a steak dinner on the grill and I always make him a Valentine, so I gave it to him at lunch. He has been known to go crazy with flowers etc., but this year was good and low key and sweet.

    Hope the virus doesn’t run thru the house and all feel better soon!

  8. Kym Says:

    Sorry to hear that Kurt is sick. Hope he feels better soon.

    Your jewelry is lovely.

    Jack and I had a lovely Valentine’s Day. I surprised him with a scrimp scampi meal after work. I also gave him a gift card to Cabela’s, but didn’t get the reaction I was hoping for.

    He gave me my new camera and a box of chocolates. Yummy.

    I agree with you though, Valentine’s Day has gotten to commercialized. I think most holidays are have gotten that way lately.

  9. Violet Says:

    Lovely pearls, miss! Here’s to your good health. XOXOX


Leave a Reply

