The Mind of Bluesleepy

Big then little then big again 22 February 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 1:56 pm

It’s snowing, folks!! I am rather pleased with this development, though most of my friends are quite done with winter and all of its lovely whiteness. If I lived in Maine or Wisconsin or Minnesota, I would probably feel the same way. But here in Rhode Island, we seem to be in this weird area in which we don’t get any snow. Boston, just an hour north of us, can get completely hammered, and all we’ll get is rain. Sometimes freezing rain. But snow? Not likely.

The snow keeps changing, though. One minute we have those teeny little snowflakes that make it hard to see them as they come down, and then the next minute we’ll have huge flakes that float on the breeze. Soon it’s supposed to change to freezing rain. That should make things interesting. Kurt’s home for the day, which is nice. I don’t have to worry about him driving home in this mess, though he’s only got a mile and a half to go to get home.

Kurt’s just gone out back with Grace. We’re trying out her “new” snowsuit that we got at thrift store that will be kept at school. He had her come out to the living room, and, in the immortal words of the mother from A Christmas Story, tell me, “I’ll put my arms down when I get to school!”

I almost peed myself laughing.

Now they’re out front trying to build a snowman. I don’t know how successful they will be; the snow seems rather powdery. But they’re having fun. Kurt’s just a kid in a man’s body, didn’t you know?

This morning was my first OB appointment for this pregnancy. My OB is a woman who’s a little strange and off-the-wall, which is perfect for me because so am I! Kurt says she looks sort of like a Simpsons character, only minus the yellow skin. She carries around a laptop with her, which I thought was pretty cool. She was able to input all the pertinent data right there while I was in the office with her, and she even ordered tests for me as she discussed my next appointment with her nurse.

I did find it a bit strange to be seen in a doctor’s office. The last time I was pregnant, I was seen at the OB clinic at the naval hospital. When I got my first ultrasound, they did it right there in the nurse-midwife’s office. Any tests I had to have done were done right in the hospital’s lab, and once I went into labor, the nurse-midwife had to simply take an elevator up two floors to get to the labor & delivery floor. Now I go to a small little office, and my OB shares her space with a walk-in clinic and a pediatrician. The ultrasound I thought I was getting today was put off till the first week in March because I have to go to the Newport Hospital to have it done. Labs were done in the same building, but I had to exit my OB’s office and go to the lab, where I had to check in all over again. There’s nothing wrong with how things are done here; it’s just not what I am used to.

The appointment went well. My blood pressure is awesome, which always happens when I’m pregnant. I’m starting off a full 20 pounds lighter than I was with Grace, so hopefully I’ll gain just those 20 pounds and lose them as easily as I did with Grace. Apparently my uterus is just a bit smaller than a grapefruit, which tells the doctor I am nine weeks pregnant, exactly in line with the date of my last period. This gives me a due date of 25 September. That amuses me highly since Grace’s due date was 23 September, but she refused to put in an appearance until the doctors forced her to on 7 October.

I have a stubborn daughter, can you tell?

So things are going along swimmingly. I am quite a boring pregnant person; with Grace, I had no issues or complications to worry about. I’m crossing my fingers that this pregnancy is just as boring, and hopefully we’ll have a much less dramatic birth than we had with Grace!

And since so many of you asked, here is a photo of the purse Kurt bought me for my birthday!

My birthday present!

 

19 Responses to “Big then little then big again”

  1. Kym Says:

    I’m one of those friends who is ready for the bloom of Spring. I’m ready to see all the lovely signs of Spring…the flowers, the air, the crispness. Although I’m allergic to most of it, I’m still ready for it. March 20th is the first day of Spring and it can’t come soon enough.

    Your new purse is lovely. I’m not a pink person but it’s really cute. Hope you get lots of use out of it.

    September birthdays are that bad. I think they are pretty cool, personally. ;o) I hope you have an uneventful pregnancy too. Good luck!

    Hugs~

  2. Rosietoes Says:

    M.Rose (TheRatQueen) was due the 25th of October, but she appeared naturally on the 7th of October. E.Rose was due the 31st of July, but waited for the 15th of August. Guess I just have a comfy baby making place!

  3. karmacat Says:

    Your coastal location usually means milder weather, less snow. Northwestern RI typically gets a couple more inches than Aquidneck Island, and the stuff sticks around longer.

  4. michele Says:

    when i got off the phone with you right after you broke the news, i said to Ben: I bet she’s gonna be due around the time Gracie was originally due!

    Gee, i’m smart!!

    I think you’ll be very healthy this pregnancy, too. I bet you’ll only gain the weight you need. And, who knows..maybe your after preg. weight will be less than your before preg weight!

  5. hissandtell Says:

    What a gorgeous girly handbag — it’s too wonderful. And I’m loving reading about your baby’s progress. Love, R xxx

  6. art Says:

    im glad your dr. appt. went well!!! nice bag!! thats a future diaper bag!!

  7. clairec23 Says:

    Cute bag – thanks for the photo πŸ˜‰

    I love your little pregnancy widget by the way! I wish I could have one of those, it seems like the whole world is pregnant at the moment!

    You’ve been pregnant before so they probably won’t be too worried about you anyway – you’ll be able to tell them if you feel like anything isn’t right so I wouldn’t worry about the change in circumstances. You’ll still get a hell of a lot more attention than we do over here πŸ™‚

  8. Caroline Says:

    I’m glad you’re appt went well. I meant to call today to see how it went but I kept getting distracted by kids! LOL. Here’s to another good pregnancy for you. I’m so happy it’s you who is pregnant now. I love seeing other pregnant women! *grin*

  9. Elle Says:

    Glad the dr. visit went swimmingly… I wish we had a few snow days around here.

    Gracie is just too funny and precious… and I love love the PINK Coach bag!!!!!

  10. oleandlena Says:

    Happy Belated Birthday, Karyl. I haven’t been reading many blogs lately and I’m not in the process of catching up so I’ve missed a lot of things that have happened. The Coach purse in gorgeous. I don’t have one but Lovely Daughter has three I believe. I think she’d like to collect them!!

    I’m one that is definitely ready for the snow to go away and the temperatures to warm up. It’s been a long haul here in Minnesota this year. I don’t usually get cabin fever, but this year I’ve got a bad case of it, possibly due to some personal issues here at home.

    Anyway, again, belated happy birthday. Sounds and looks like you had a great one.

  11. oleandlena Says:

    Correction: Typo above – I meant to write I am NOW in the process of catching up – not NOT! Sorry.

  12. whatdayisit Says:

    I am glad you like your OB and got a date to aim for. It would be fun if both your children have birthdays close together or…maybe not!
    Hope the pregnancy continues to move smoothly and easily.

    Can’t wait to see your little bump in a picture…

  13. cardiogirl Says:

    Love the purse, love your smile more! That graphic of the belly and the countdown at time are so fun! Happy Birthday!

  14. Aimee Says:

    Me too…can’t wait for spring. But I am in Michigan and we are getting hit so hard with bad weather that we’ve run out of salt for the roads…also the whole ditch thing overnight has made me upset with the bad weather.
    I love the purse! Love, love, love it!

  15. sleepyjane Says:

    Love the handbag! I’ve had a look at your flickr pics and it looks like you guys had loads of fun! πŸ™‚

    Here’s to an unevenful and fun pregnancy! Can’t wait to read more! πŸ™‚

  16. bitterwineuk Says:

    I’m the reverse of Grace then, I was due (when my mum was pregnant) Oct 7 and then I was born Sept 23rd. Hehehe.

  17. Shear Says:

    I’m so excited that you’re sharing your pregnancy with us! I love me some babies. Awesome purse! You have the glow of pregnancy in that photo….beautiful!

  18. Chelle Says:

    I’m with you; spring can’t get here fast enough for me! (Also, I love your new purse AND your hair. You look beautiful!)


Leave a Reply

