The Mind of Bluesleepy

Of toast and snacks 27 February 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 6:01 pm

Today’s weather was just as rotten as yesterday’s. Last night it was pouring. The wind was flinging the rain against the windows, and it sounded really cool. Had I not wanted to stitch and watch Jane Austen so badly, I would have lain here in the office and read while listening to the rain.

But stitching and Jane Austen won, as it always will.

Today has been dry, no rain.

All I can say is that my life is pretty plain
I like watchin’ the puddles gather rain
And all I can do is just pour some tea for two
and speak my point of view

But it’s not sane, It’s not sane

I just want some one to say to me
I’ll always be there when you wake
Ya know I’d like to keep my cheeks* dry today
So stay with me and I’ll have it made

And I don’t understand why I sleep all day
And I start to complain that there’s no rain
And all I can do is read a book to stay awake
And it rips my life away, but it’s a great escape

escape……escape……escape……

All I can say is that my life is pretty plain
ya don’t like my point of view
ya think I’m insane
It’s not sane……it’s not sane.

Blind Melon, “No Rain”

*I always thought this line was “I’d like to keep my jeans dry today.” I have never been good at hearing lyrics properly. This is one of my all-time favorite songs, by the way. I have a weakness for early 90s alternative. Channel 54, Lucy, on XM holds my heart.

Also, click on the link above; the video is really good in my humble opinion.

KateMusgrove has suggested I dress Grace in a bumblebee costume for Halloween, which I may just have to do. She already has the goofy dance down; now all I’ll have to do is teach her how to sing “No Rain,” and we’re good.

Anyhow. If you haven’t noticed, I am back to my weird and wacky self today. Yesterday I sat in the house and moped. It’s never a good thing to do when you have the blues or blahs or whatever it is I have on occasion. So today I thought would be a great day to head up to Target to get some shopping done.

I even promised myself I could eat lunch at Target. Pizza and breadsticks… mmm yummy. Even though I feel badly for not finishing yesterday’s excellent egg salad. I might have to eat that as a snack. I have been so hungry this pregnancy. I’ve never been one to eat breakfast, but now I wake up starving to death. So I get a bowl of cereal, and I’m starving again by 12:30pm. I’ll also get hungry in the mid-afternoon, though I try my best not to snack then.

Too bad I can’t eat peanut butter and celery during this pregnancy. I swear, that’s what got me through the hunger pains when I was pregnant with Gracie.

Grace and I had a blast at Target. I really don’t care what people think of me while I’m out in town; we were chastised the very first time we went to Target here in New England for whistling at each other to try to locate where the other was in the store. So I know I’ll get looks, and even some comments if the person is feeling spunky enough. But you know, that’s their problem, not mine.

See, I like to play with Grace. I grabbed her nose and hid it, and today she ripped off both my arms and flung them down the aisle. So then I had to go retrieve my arms and pop them back on. She’ll grab me to hug me, but then I’ll back away so she can’t reach me, and her arms flail uselessly between us. The Tickle Monster will strike at any opportune moment as well, causing poor Grace to erupt into massive giggling.

And that, my friends, was the key to cheering myself up. Because really, how can you be full of the blahs when you’re listening to a toddler laugh herself silly?

It cannot be done.

 

13 Responses to “Of toast and snacks”

  1. twobecameone Says:

    If you are ever in need of some extra limbs — I know a guy. LOL!

  2. purple chai Says:

    I can’t imagine that all that really bothered someone, must have been a person with no life or sense of humor. I have a dear friend who has been married for nearly 50 years, and she and her husband have been whistling to find each other in stores since the beginning.

  3. chaosdaily Says:

    I would much rather hear a kid whistling in a store, or giggling than crying and screaming. I wish you could shop at my store, you would liven the place up!

  4. yankeechick Says:

    Something like that can always put a smile on my face when I’m on a mundane shopping trip! Now, the screaming & crying…….that makes me run from the store screaming & crying myself! LOL

  5. sleepyjane Says:

    It’s an awesome song Blue! I’m so going to er umm. buy… that cd! 🙂

    And I loved this entry. Sounds like you and Grace have so much fun! 🙂

  6. bitterwineuk Says:

    I love that song, havent heard it for years

  7. art Says:

    i didnt know that is a song, i thought it to be a poem, and was thinking that is nice!! a lot of retards live in new england, and they think whistling isnt allowed in stores, but, as others say, i’d rather hear whistling than yelling and screaming!!

  8. Elle Says:

    I’m glad you and Grace have fun in the store and got you out of the blah-zays! Max and I still do sometimes, but usually he is an annoyed big boy who wants all kinds of junk and I have to tell him no no noononono until he hits one yes.
    Love that song too, and I think Grace would be adorable in a bee suit!

  9. Aimee Says:

    I was actually directing that at Cardio and the people that are really on things every day because they need them. Plus, a friend who is an addict has a broken bone and she was worried I’d be mad if she got pain relief because of that post. I didn’t think she needed to tough it out for fear of me pointing an angry finger, you know? I agree though. I always go with motrin if I can. Ass effects he he he.

  10. Chelle Says:

    Yay! Glad you’re back. Don’t worry about what other people think…there are always those judge-y types out there who will find something wrong no matter what the situation. Dave and I do Marco-Polo in stores and I’m sure we’ve raised a few eyebrows a time or two!

  11. michele Says:

    Ben and I use “Marco.. Polo… Marco… Polo”–it’s highly amusing.

  12. whatdayisit Says:

    I have never heard anyone whistling or calling Marco Polo in the stores but I do admit it would be much less annoying than listening to some kid whining or crying or yelling at their parents and acting like little jerks.

    Glad you are feeling better today.

  13. Violet Says:

    The Keelhauler has a little whistle he does when he wants to find me in a store. No one’s ever commented on it. It’s very effective, and I recommend it.
    XOXOX


Leave a Reply

