The Mind of Bluesleepy

Where’s the sunshine?? 1 March 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 10:25 am

I had to take a day off from blogging. It was just one of those days where I didn’t have much to say. Then again, I don’t normally have a whole lot to say, but this time, there was nothing I could even ramble on and on about.

I spent the day either on the computer catching up on blogs, or playing some Pogo, or I was out here in the living room watching Jane Austen. It’s funny, though. I finished one episode of Pride and Prejudice and saw the special edition of the movie being advertised. I was thinking, “Boy, I’d love to have this edition on DVD,” because I just love Jennifer Ehle as Miss Eliza Bennet. Then I remembered my brother gave me Pride and Prejudice on DVD for Christmas one year. And sure enough, it is the BBC version! Score!!! I think I have the A&E version on VHS. Colin Firth plays Mr Darcy in both versions, so either way I get my fix. Gosh, that is one handsome man.

Also, since this edition of the BBC version is the special 10th anniversary edition, I am hoping it’s been a bit remastered. Watching it broadcast onto PBS, the quality isn’t that great. I suppose I really need to break out the DVD and just watch them already.

Kurt is home from his business trip to Florida. He figured they’d get done early enough on Friday to take an earlier flight home, for which I was very thankful. I was very eager for him to come home and take the pressure of Grace’s questions and attention off me. I don’t mind her most of the time, but all week, it was nothing but, “Mommy, hug me,” “Mommy, talk to me,” “Mommy, Mommy, Mommy!!” Now she’s got Daddy to bug, which is nice.

I offered to go get him from the airport so we could grab some dinner while we were out. Boy, am I loving how close we live to the airport!! In Washington, it was a two-hour drive (or a two-hour trip that incorporated a ferry ride) to the airport, so picking people up from the airport took all day. Now we live a mere thirty minutes from the airport, and it’s so easy to get to.

However, the airline lost Kurt’s luggage. It’s a good thing it was lost on the way home, instead of on the way to his business trip, but still. How do you lose baggage? I’ve never lost mine, knock on wood, though I was almost positive my luck would run out during my trip to San Jose. Fortunately, his suitcase was delivered to the house sometime in the middle of the night. We woke up to it on our front step, somewhat wet from the rain.

Last night he didn’t have a jacket with him, though. He’d packed his fleece jacket in his suitcase because he tends to run warm; there is no need for him to drag it on the plane with him. But here in Newport, it was in the 20s — a bit too cold not to have a coat. We just ran from the car to the restaurant, though. Poor guy.

The best part of the evening was after dinner. Grace fell asleep in her car seat before we even left Warwick, so there was no rush to hurry home and get her into bed. So I convinced Kurt to drive around Newport and look at the old houses. We ended up in the outer edges of Newport, where there are houses on larger parcels of land, and the houses are obviously not that old. We found some areas that had old, majestic homes, probably Victorian, but most had been chopped up into multiple family homes. I tried to peek into the windows to see how one would decorate such an old home, and some of them were really very lovely.

One day this week while Kurt was home, I drove through Fall River, Massachusetts (of Lizzie Borden fame), simply because I didn’t want to take the highway home. I get like that a lot. I get tired of going the same way every time, of seeing nothing but freeway, and I want to take the scenic route. Sure, it took me an hour to get home while normally it should only take thirty minutes, but I had nothing else on my agenda that day.

Fall River is full of enormous homes that are now multiple family units. It’s street upon street of huge homes. I don’t know if the homes were built that large in the heyday of Fall River, a town that has definitely seen better days, or if these homes were built with the intention of making them multiple family units.  Either way, it’s a refreshing change from seeing all high-rise apartment buildings clustered together.  But the narrow one-way streets make it difficult to navigate through Fall River at times.  It’s a good thing Kurt got that GPS system for the van.

I was hoping today we could walk around downtown Newport, around the area I had seen as I headed to the makeup boutique a few days ago.  But it’s raining!!!  Supposedly the rain is supposed to stop by 2pm, so maybe we can do that after lunch.  It’d be best to go down there after lunch anyhow; I don’t need to be spending more money going out for lunch!

Rain, rain, go away — let’s go do something fun today!

 

7 Responses to “Where’s the sunshine??”

  1. art Says:

    rain is rotten!! i never can understand the concept of “losing baggage” it just does not make sense to me.

  2. whatdayisit Says:

    Your little side trips make great adventures. I bet you will venture out, even if it is raining and come up with some great place you have discovered.

    by the way, you mentioned stitching a few times these past few blogs, so how about a picture of what you are working on?

  3. twobecameone Says:

    I love the last line of your blog. It’s perfect, although I’m wishing and hoping the snow goes away.

  4. Blue Opal Says:

    You can send the rain out here. This year we’ve had more rain than typical for the season, and everyone native is extremely grateful. We’re into early March and we just got out of a wet spell. With the drought, every drop of rain is precious!

  5. Chelle Says:

    The BBC version of Pride and Prejudice is my all-time favorite. I wish I was there to watch it with you!

  6. yankeechick Says:

    I have had my luggage lost 3 times. Once on my way to Alaska and twice on my way home. I was without it for 2 days when I went to AK when my Mom passed away, like things weren’t bad enough! Coming home isn’t so bad, just irritating as hell!

    I’ve been wondering about your stitching, too. Whatcha’ workin’ on?

    I love when you guys go ‘exploring’ and share your stories. I used to do that by myself sometimes, when we were traveling and Chuck would be off doing something else.

  7. michele Says:

    if you come to visit, we’ll head north to West Palm Beach via A1A…very scenic route and LOTS to take pics of! you’ll love it!


Leave a Reply

