The Mind of Bluesleepy

New baby photos! 3 March 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 6:04 pm

Today was ultrasound day!!

But first things first. Boy, is Newport Hospital a nice place to be! Kurt and I walked in there, and our jaws nearly dropped to the floor. We were surrounded by all things elegant and well-appointed. There was even an atrium (the secretary on the phone called it a “courtyard,” only she called it a “caht-yahd”) that we had to walk through to get to Diagnostic Imaging that was just amazing.

I guess that’s what happens when lots of really, really, really rich folks are treated at a particular hospital.

Hey, we’re used to military hospitals. They’re pretty much no frills, no muss, no fuss. If there isn’t a functional reason for something to be there, it doesn’t get to stay. Hence the lack of any kind of interior decorating.

Oh, they did try at the last base we were stationed at. The labor and delivery floor was remodeled to make it more comfortable and more up-to-date. I saw drawings of what the final rooms were to look like, and they were really nice. Unfortunately, when I delivered Grace, it was right when the labor and delivery floor was closed, so we laboring moms were shoved in amongst all the folks who were on the Surgery Recovery floor. It was a rather make-do situation, but at least I got to stay in the same room for the 36 hours I was there.

My only complaint with the Newport Hospital is the same complaint for the rest of Newport — no freakin’ parking. We were lucky in that someone was leaving the parking lot right when we arrived, else I have no idea where we were supposed to park.

We also saw a woman arrive who was in labor. The man behind the front desk brought out a wheelchair for her to sit in, while the husband raced around and tried to get everything they needed out of the trunk of the car. They were in such a hurry that the baby car seat wasn’t even installed yet; it was just flung into the trunk so the dad could come out and install it after the baby was born. I loved seeing the husband race around like that; he was the stereotypical husband trying to make everything right for his wife. It was a very sweet thing to have witnessed.

By this time, though, I felt like my eyeballs were floating. See, you have to go use the restroom three hours before your ultrasound, and then you can’t go again till after your appointment. To make matters worse, you need to drink 48oz of water an hour before your appointment! It’s to make sure the bladder is full enough that the uterus is in the proper position for the ultrasound. It makes for a very uncomfortable procedure, especially when the technician starts to dig into your belly to get a better view. Or maybe that’s just me, since I have quite a bit of belly fat.

I was able to visit the restroom as soon as I was finished, but I felt so waterlogged I had to go again not long after that. I still feel rather full of water, though I typically drink quite a bit of water each day.

We were also about to visit the labor and delivery floor at the hospital. The beauty of the hospital didn’t stop at the entrance; the labor and delivery floor is really lovely. Half the delivery rooms face over the Atlantic Ocean, and since L&D is on the seventh floor, the view is spectacular. We toured a delivery room as well, and it’s just absolutely lovely. It will be so nice to have such beautiful surroundings when I’m in labor — not that I will actually be paying attention to them.

You know what’s sad, though? The labor and delivery floor has to be locked down. You are buzzed in and buzzed off the floor. The newborns are fitted with a special bracelet that will set off the alarms if they get too close to one of the doors leading off the floor. It’s a sad commentary on the world around us these days, with desperate women making off with newborns that don’t belong to them. But I guess it’s something that has to be done.

So now I will share with you Baby’s first photo! Keep in mind, I am only roughly 11 weeks along. The dark area in the middle of the photo is the amniotic sac, and the bright area inside the sac is the baby. Its head points to the right with its feet on the left. We could even see the heart fluttering away at roughly 150 beats per minute! I know it’s all hard to see, but it’s the best that can be done at this early stage of the game.

Baby's first photo!

Now isn’t that just precious??

 

14 Responses to “New baby photos!”

  1. purple chai Says:

    I don’t think I’ve ever seen an ultrasound before at this stage that really looks like a baby. I could tell what was where before I even read your description.

  2. yankeechick Says:

    That is so awesome!! I was hoping you’d get a good ‘picture’ to show us! That is a good clear one, too. I’m so glad that the hospital is so pleasant and I sure hope the care you get is top notch as well! This is going to be fun, following along with your pregnancy. What did Gracie think of the picture?

  3. chaosdaily Says:

    cute pic… man had a fit, i’ll chat with you about it tomorrow!

  4. twisterjester Says:

    Awww, first baby pics! I’m loving it *G* It’s still too early to know if you are carrying a boy or a girl, though, darn it. Will you want to know?

  5. bitterwineuk Says:

    awwwwww, I love ultrascans. So glad all sounds like it is going well for you. πŸ™‚

  6. Caroline Says:

    Awwww!!! I love ultrasounds like this!!! I hope “he” is doing you well and not making you too sick or tired. πŸ™‚

  7. art Says:

    ITSA BOY!!! YAY!!!

  8. twobecameone Says:

    Lovely! I look forward to many more pictures of Baby. :o)

  9. whatdayisit Says:

    Very sweet. The hospital sounds lovely. I just read that the NYC hospital that JLo delivered in had a special suite painted in a color she selected…! Don’t know if it was true but also read that other patients were upset because of the group of people hanging around in her suite and “partying” all night.
    I am sure you will be a much nicer patient. Thanks for sharing all the personal stuff.

  10. sleepyjane Says:

    lol

    I giggled at Art’s comment. πŸ™‚

    It’s adorable Blue! Absolutely beautiful! πŸ™‚ OMG I’m SOOO excited!

  11. michele Says:

    Cute Blob!!!

    You still gonna stick to your guns and not find out till it comes out?

    (I hope so!) It’ll be such a surprise!

  12. Rosie Says:

    Congratulations! Beautiful pic.


Leave a Reply

