The Mind of Bluesleepy

Sunny days are here again 11 March 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 2:14 pm

Shadow play

Shadow play

I have been somewhat inspired by everyone’s favorite chocolate lover, Ms Chaos, to get off the couch and get moving.  Almost every day, she writes in her blog and describes the walk she has taken and the things she’s seen on her walk.  She’s very lucky to have such a beautiful area to walk through, and she’s taken some lovely photos.

Last week, I was sitting here on my couch, feeling sorry for myself and rather depressed, when I saw not one but two different ladies strolling by my house with their dogs.  I looked at my own dog and figured he could get some exercise along with me, so I grabbed his leash and Grace, and all three of us went for a walk.

The first day we kept to the neighborhood and walked for forty-five minutes.  When we got home, I felt so refreshed from the exercise and from the simple fact I had gotten up and done something with my time, instead of lounging on the couch, watching tv.  The fog of my depression had lifted a bit, and I felt more optimistic about things.  I figured this walking thing was really good for me.

The second day we headed to the neighborhood next to ours and walked for an hour.  I love the neighborhood next to mine; it’s full of small houses that are very well taken of, along with some really old houses that have been here for at least a hundred years.  The only problem with walking over there is there are no sidewalks, so keeping Grace and the dog close to me can be somewhat difficult.

I had to take the weekend off, as we were busy, but today we went out walking again.  Kurt suggested that we go right after lunch, and we walked for another hour around the apartment complex next to our neighborhood.

I’ve figured out some things along the way with this walking thing.  The main thing is, dress more warmly than you think you need to.  When we left today, the temperature said 45º.  Since I’m walking and producing my own heat, I would normally put on a fleece jacket instead of my down winter coat.  I tried that the first time we went for a walk and ended up freezing my tushie off!  The problem is the wind.  When we left the house today, I felt overly warm in my down coat, but by the time I got home, I was so thankful I had my heavy coat on.  The wind picks up and starts gusting, and the wind chill sends the temperature plummeting.  By the time I got home, my cheeks were ice cold.  But the rest of me was warm, thanks to my down coat.

Another reason for this walking thing, in addition to keeping me from spiraling down into depression, is weight management.  Obviously, I am pregnant, which means I will gain weight.  I really have no problem with that, and I love how I look when I am pregnant.  But I am already overweight (obese by the BMI charts), and my doctor suggests I keep my weight gain to a minimum.  It wasn’t that difficult with Grace (only 20 pounds gained with her) because Kurt was gone for my last trimester.  He wasn’t around to convince me, which isn’t really that hard, to go out to dinner all the time.  Instead I was home by myself, and I was cooking one dish of food that would last me at least three or four days, and each night I’d liven up the meal with a salad on the side.  If I got terribly peckish, I’d treat myself to celery with peanut butter.  Since I lived so far out from town, I couldn’t even call for delivery, so take-out was kept to a minimum.  It was so easy to keep my weight down without having to work at it.

This time, Kurt is home, and he loves to eat out, as do I.  Sure, there are healthy options, and I try to steer myself towards them, but it isn’t always easy to make the right choice.  Sometimes I’m craving something bad for me, and I give in.

That’s where the walking comes in.  Hopefully I’ll be able to keep my weight gain down to a reasonable amount, and I and the baby both will be healthier for it.

The downside to exercising??  Now I’m hungry.  FEED ME!!!

 

9 Responses to “Sunny days are here again”

  1. Caroline Says:

    I just made these pumpkin doughnuts. They were so good. I baked them (yes I have doughnut pans, how quaint am I?) I’ll have to send them to you. They are not too sweet, I think you’ll love them. 🙂 They also have sweet potatoe too but because of the pumpkin, you can’t really taste them. 🙂 And walking is good too. Helps in teaching Grace to keep active. 🙂

  2. twisterjester Says:

    Hehehe – I hear you about channeling the plant from Little Shop of Horrors! I’m not even pregnant and I swear sometimes I feel like yelping, “FEED ME!!”

  3. sleepyjane Says:

    A brisk walk does wonders for the soul. 🙂

  4. acaldwell Says:

    heres a cheeseburger!!! heheheee!! walking is good!!

  5. yankeechick Says:

    I walked everyday when I was pregnant for Terri. If memory serves me, it was a 2 mile walk….or maybe 3. It sure helped keep the weight down and my doctor said that it was good for all the muscles involved during delivery! I wish I could walk now…..before the snakes come out! Where we live I either have to walk in the woods or on the dirt road to our house, off the main road and either way, once the temps get up to ‘snake level’, no way am I walking ANY where! I even hate crossing the yard to go to the barn, but I have to admit that since we have had the horses I haven’t seen any snakes in our yard at all. I think they keep them away, but I’ve been told that’s not true. Believe me, I kick at a bale of hay and jump back before breaking it open. We have rattlers and mostly Copperheads here and Chuck has often killed Copperheads he’s found at the edge of the woods near our yard. Oh Gawd!! I hate it here !!!!!!!!!! Bwahhhhhh!!!

    Sorry about the snake tirade! I envy you and Chaos having nice places to take your walks. I’m just not brave enough!

  6. Chelle Says:

    Yay for walking! I just started doing this too, every day at lunch, and I already feel so much better. We can encourage each other to keep us accountable! And damn, you ain’t kidding about the hunger. By the time I get home in the evenings, I am STARVING!!

  7. michele Says:

    walking is so good for the soul!!! and when the baby is old enough, you can take both Gracie and Baby out for walks, too. how cool is that?

    now i’m all sorts of envious! LOL!
    *muah*

  8. Kym Says:

    I walk Mrs. Beasley three times every day. We don’t really have a back yard so we walk her. The neighbor know us from walking every day. Anyway, Jack walks her too when he’s home. It does wonders for both of…and Mrs. Beasley.

    Good job!

  9. whatdayisit Says:

    Walking is a wonderful form of exercise for the body and the mind. You and Gracie can have conversations, you get some fresh air, see what is going on in the area and the dog has some activity too. It sounds like a great plan. Good for you. Now if I could only get myself out there too!


Leave a Reply

