The Mind of Bluesleepy

Yay! It’s Friday! 14 March 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 6:40 pm

Of course, it doesn’t much matter to me what day of the week it is. I like the weekends because Kurt can sleep in, but he’s home so much during the week, what with coming home for lunch every day, that weekends aren’t really that different from weekdays.

Not that I’m complaining, mind you!! I am loving this. It’s such a wonderful change from the stress and long hours of our last duty station. When I look back on it, I’m not even sure how we made it. But somehow we did, and I suppose this is our reward.

This morning I actually had to wake Gracie up. Most days that she has preschool, she wakes up at 7:30am on her own. But this morning, she was still asleep. I gently shook her, and said, “Grace, do you want to get up?” and she replied, “Nooooooo.” When I reminded her she was going to school, she popped up like a Jack-in-the-box, totally awake and ready to go.

Now that’s a good way to start the day!

Once I dropped Grace off at school, I decided it was time to go for another walk. I hadn’t gone on a walk since Tuesday! But to be fair, it poured off and on all day Wednesday. I would look out the front door to see blue skies and sidewalks drying, but if I looked behind my house, there was nothing but grey clouds making their way towards me. Then in about five minutes, it would start to rain again. It even hailed! And yesterday we were just so busy running hither, thither, and yon.

Today I was gone for a full hour. I walked around the neighborhood next to mine, the one with the well-kept, smaller homes. There are three streets in this neighborhood that form somewhat of an E, except the top and bottom horizontal lines come together to exit the neighborhood. My plan was to walk down the middle horizontal line to its end, turn around, and come back up that street. But as I turned down the street, I noticed two pairs of older ladies, one pair on either side of the street, walking down the street and turning into the driveways. I wasn’t sure if they were Jehovah’s Witnesses or what, and I sure didn’t want to be accosted when I was on my walk. So I decided to alter my route.

It was a good walk, though. I figured out why I didn’t walk much when I was in Washington. My neighborhood was up on a bluff; to get into the neighborhood itself, you had to climb this really steep hill. The rest of the neighborhood was extremely hilly, and there were no sidewalks to boot. There was nowhere for me to go either. I lived in a development that off a busy road and surrounded by farms; there was nowhere to walk to. Fortunately I live in a town now, and there are sidewalks almost everywhere. I could even walk to my choice of burger joints!

This afternoon was dentist time!

It was Grace’s first time at the dentist. I wasn’t sure how she would handle it, but she was a champ! Kurt brought her back into the exam room as I was being examined, so she got to see me having my teeth cleaned and how relaxed I was. As soon as I was finished, she jumped into the chair and opened her mouth. The hygienist had asked her whether she wanted her to start on her bottom or top teeth first, but then asked Grace a bunch of chit-chatty questions to put her at her ease. Grace thought about her questions for a second, and then asked her to start on the bottom!

I think the dentist and the hygienist were both pleased at how easy it was to work with Grace.

We both received a clean bill of health (no cavities!), and the dentist even said we both have beautiful teeth. Yay!

The hygienist scrubs Grace's teeth!

 

6 Responses to “Yay! It’s Friday!”

  1. twisterjester Says:

    Gotta love it when a LITTLE one is good in the dentist’s chair!

  2. clairec23 Says:

    I have to bring Liam too. I was afraid to but this has filled me with confidence! đŸ™‚

  3. MilitaryMom Says:

    I am such a bad mom, I haven’t taken my kids to the dentist in over a year! But working with the military on dentists is no easy task. You have motivated me to get on the ball though, thanks!

  4. whatdayisit Says:

    I’m really glad that Gracie’s experience with the dentist was a good one. Hopefully, she won’t ever be afraid to go.
    I was sorry to hear about your former acquaintance TC. She sounds like a very difficult person to be friends with. I bet her antics are going to help her husband’s career much. Glad you are rid of her. I hope the new couple down the street with two little girls will turn out to be great playmates for Gracie. She might want some little friends once the new baby comes along.
    And I was thinking, why don’t you do a 7 day photo on a 9 month basis and show the changing of your body….the baby bump, your face and so on. I bet you would be surprised at how the changes come along but are not so obvious to you because you are living it day by day. It would be a wonderful treasure for the new baby to have too. Maybe you could show a visit at the dr’s, lying on the table for the ultrasound and so on.

  5. whatdayisit Says:

    that should have been TC’s antics are NOT going to help her husband’s career.

  6. MilitaryMom Says:

    I would LOVE for you to contribute to my blog! I was hoping you would be interested. All I need is a good e-mail address so I can invite you to be an author.


Leave a Reply

