The Mind of Bluesleepy

Lazy Saturday Night 15 March 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 10:50 pm

We are pooped.  Seriously.  We spent the day with my gorgeous friend Angela and her mother at the premium outlets.  There was much drooling over Kate Spade and Coach bags.  I was this close to getting a new Coach bag for a mere $78, and in red to boot!!  Bright, colorful, shocking red.

Gosh, I do love my color.

I put the bag on hold and went on with my shopping.  Because I ended up spending so much money on other things (including the soon-to-be-famous Dream Coat), I just couldn’t spend so much on a purse.  Not when I already have plenty of purses.  Shame on me.

Tonight Kurt and I sat down on the couch together with my legs up on his lap and us cuddled up together, and started watching videos on YouTube.  Is there any other way to watch them?  I’ve given up on watching them on tv; neither MTV nor VH-1 show a whole lot of videos anymore.  And it seems to be as though R&B and hip-hop are the only genres featured.  Not my kind of thing, thanks.

Apparently Nelly Furtado has redone “Maneater.”  Kurt had selected that song on the XM so I could listen to it, but it wasn’t coming up.  So Kurt gave up and showed me the video.  It’s… interesting.  Not really my kind of thing, but Kurt likes it.

Then Kurt made me giggle.

See, he tends to get people mixed up sometimes.  To be fair, I do the same thing, although I get bonus points tonight for knowing who Rupert Everett is, and the fact that he was in My Best Friend’s Wedding.  As we sat watching the Nelly Furtado video, he said, “Wow, she looks much different from how she looks in the ‘Clumsy’ video.”

He was getting Nelly Furtado mixed up with Fergie.  That, my friends, had me in giggles.

That’s how we ended up on Fergie videos, and of course, I had to check out “Pump It” by the Black-Eyed Peas (which Fergie had been a member of), since that is one of my all-time favorite songs.  Kurt asked me if Fergie had just been back-up, so I went looking for a song where she was more of a lead singer.

Which is how I landed on the “My Humps” video.   For the record, I abhorred this song for its sheer stupidity when I first heard it, and then once I looked up the lyrics I hated it even more.  The link takes you to a version of the video with the lyrics overlaid; you can watch just a few moments to see how materialistic and ridiculous the song is.  It’s Fergie bragging about how her shapely derrière and her bosom causes men to buy her all sorts of expensive gifts, and how she’ll date anyone who will buy her these sorts of presents.  Basically she’s selling her body just to convince men to cover her in name brands.

It’s disgusting, it really is.  And I would highly recommend not clicking on the link if you have children around.

As I was watching, I noticed a link to Alanis Morissette covering “My Humps.”  At first, we thought it was a joke, as many things on YouTube are.  But no — Alanis Morisette did indeed cover “My Humps,” and it is a very awesome video.  In it, she really slows down the song and mocks the original.  It really points out how stupid and materialistic the original song is, as well as the overly sexual tones of the original video, which is sadly not the exception to the rule.  Because it’s so slow, you can actually hear the lyrics.  It’s just like her to mock a song in this way; she’s not terribly fond of where music has gone.

If you’re interested, here is Alanis’s take on it.  It’s so refreshingly different from the original, and I’m glad someone in the world is speaking out against the vulgarity of music videos.

 

9 Responses to “Lazy Saturday Night”

  1. chaosdaily Says:

    Interesting videos.. and you have to buy something you like now and then, regardless of the price… well, within reason of course.. I like porsches, but that’s a bit extreme haha

  2. Elle Says:

    Love love the Dream Coat, too bad about the Coach bag. Ah well. Alanis has always been a fave. I saw this video a while back and thought, wow, she’s really firing a shot across the whole Fergie-hip-hop cultural bow. Favorite part, the head butt.

  3. MilitaryMom Says:

    I’ll have to go watch the video later when the kids aren’t around. You’re right though, The origonal “My Humps” is disgusting. I’m just not a fan of that sort of music.
    I’m sorry to say I have no idea what a coach bag looks like, or the Dream Coat. I have never been one for designer names, unless its Levi’s, Jaclyn Smith, or Nike’s. LOL. Too poor. I saw some bags at the BX over Christmas that cost like $200 and I was wondering just how many military families out there could afford to spend that much on a purse, but I guess there must be a few if they were carrying it, huh?

  4. acaldwell Says:

    i love the dream coat! it looks dreamy on you!! sharp, too!! my first thought was “thats a civilian pea coat”! i dont watch music videos either. there is no artistic value in them. like rap music, just a bunch of crap.

  5. sleepyjane Says:

    I know what you mean, I saw the video and I was like: “She really loves herself doesn’t she?” Gawd, talk about tacky. Some of these women really make fools of themselves.

    And Blue – the coat is GORGEOUS! *drools with envy*
    It looks PERFECT on you!

  6. terri t. Says:

    I loved the jacket/coat. It did suit you very well. As for the video…no comment. I find her voice very annoying….sorry.

  7. Angela Says:

    Mom and I spent most of the drive home talking about that coat and how FANTASTIC you look in it!!! I am so glad you got it, because seriously, it’s like it was MADE for you and it was so very flattering. The coat would go well with fishnets too! 😉

    We had such a great time with you yesterday — Mom always enjoys seeing you and Kurt and of course she is totally in love with Gracie! 🙂 I think her favorite part of the day was watching Kurt tolerate the ladybug stickers all over his head, LOL!

  8. michele Says:

    I think it’s a man thing… For years, Ben has always confused Elton John with Billy Joel. Don’t ask me how!

    You may not be a huge Fergie fan, but I really like the “Clumsy” video (very original and if you look carefully you can see that she uses MAC make-up!) as well as “Big Girls Don’t Cry”.

    Glad you had such a good time with Angela!

  9. clairec23 Says:

    Wow, I LOVE Alanis for that video! That’s the first time I’ve seen it and it’s the first time I’ve actually listened to the lyrics by the way. She looks so young by the way.


Leave a Reply

