The Mind of Bluesleepy

Big bucks no whammies 19 March 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 6:46 pm

Guess what??? I have been successful in my quest to find the full set of Laura Ingalls Wilder books, complete with illustrations by Garth Williams! And even better — they’re the exact same version that I had when I was a kid. I found them on eBay, and thus far I am the highest bidder at $8.99. I also found them used on Amazon.com for as little as $20, but that seller was in Canada and needed $20 in shipping. I’m just hoping I score this set from eBay. Keep your fingers crossed for me, especially since I have four more days till the auction is over.

I’m also bidding on a 1932 hardcover copy of Little House in the Big Woods. Another seller wanted $100 for it on BuyItNow, but I’m the highest bidder right now at $2.25. I’m just hoping no one else shows interest, but I have two more days to go.

I also would like to tell you of a new site I am contributing to.  My good friend Military Mom started up a military-themed blog over at Saluting S.A.M.S.  In this blog, we’re going to discuss all the ups and downs of military life, from the points of view of both the servicemembers and the spouses.  Come join us, won’t you?

I have been having a rough time of it lately. I haven’t wanted to talk about it here; I hate sounding like all I do is whine. I don’t know if I am hormonal because I’m pregnant, or if I’m just going through some sort of depression. It’s hard to stay upbeat, but I’m doing my best.

I mentioned it over at my discussion group, and Catie had awesome advice, as she always does. She suggested that I keep walking, that I eat only delicious foods, that I get plenty of sleep, and that I not hibernate, as I’m prone to do when I’m feeling down. I haven’t walked in the last few days, partly because I got busy and partly because it poured cats and dogs today.

Aside: Why do we get the crappiest weather on trash days???

And I do know I need to make walking a priority. Last week I was really looking forward to each time I could go, and I was eager to get moving. This week it’s harder. Tomorrow is supposed to be nicer (ie, no rain), so I am going to make time for a walk. And since I put it here, I am going to have to go, right?

The easiest part of Catie’s advice was the part about eating delicious food. Fortunately I do not have any picky eaters in my household, so pretty much anything that sounds tasty to me will be enjoyed by my family. In the spirit of eating deliciously, we went to the Pizza Hut buffet yesterday for lunch, where I enjoyed a hot slice of extra-cheese pizza fresh out of the oven. Of course, I ate more than that, but I enjoyed the cheese pizza the most. I couldn’t eat the crusts, though, which is a first for me. But they were awfully greasy, and when I’m pregnant, I can’t do greasy stuff. It seriously makes my gorge rise, which defeats the purpose of eating deliciously.

Last night we had our Saint Patrick’s Day celebration. Yes, I know. We’re a day off. Monday was a really awful day for me. But I did make corned beef, along with cabbage, carrots, and potatoes. I even ate the beef with a bit of grainy mustard, which made it oh so good. The cabbage was done just perfectly, too. I didn’t boil it as long as the recipe called for, as I don’t like my cabbage to be mush. It turned out still just a bit crunchy. Even thinking about it makes my mouth water. It definitely fell under the Delicious category.

Tonight I had no interest in cooking anything complicated, and I knew we still had frozen tortellini. Kurt had mentioned the last time we ate the tortellini that he felt it just needed butter and salt, no sauce (a man after my own heart! I still prefer butter and salt on my spaghetti to anything else). I looked up on MyRecipes.com for a brown butter recipe, and landed on Tortellini with Bacon, Greens, and and Brown Butter.

This recipe could not be easier. Boil tortellini, fry bacon, brown the butter, and chuck the bacon and greens (I used spinach) into the pan with the brown butter to wilt slightly. Toss with tortellini. It was amazing.

Behold:

Tortellini with Bacon, Greens, and Brown Butter

That, my friends, is one of the best things I have ever made. Incredily easy, yes, but amazingly tasty! I can still smell the brown butter lingering in the air, and every time I see this photo, my mouth waters for more. It was also an almost-vegetarian meal, if you just remove the bacon. You could even substitute veggie bacon if that’s your inclination, though I would make sure each crumble of veggie bacon was thoroughly tossed in the brown butter to recreate the yummy greasiness of pork bacon.

I love this idea of eating deliciously. Maybe it’s an obvious thing, but it’s really forcing me to find foods that I really love and concentrate on those foods. It’s helping my mood, knowing that I will only be eating the most delicious of foods. And you know, every little bit helps.

Hurray for delicious food!

 

10 Responses to “Big bucks no whammies”

  1. purple chai Says:

    Trust me, you are never whining. We’re all here to read whatever you need to get out and say.

  2. Blue Opal Says:

    Oooh, that looks yummithy to the max! I’ll try it if I ever get the ambition and the time to cook again, lol.

  3. sleepyjane Says:

    I’ll keep my fingers and toes crossed for your books on ebay!

    I’m really sorry you’re feeling down – I hope you feel better soon. Eating all those delicious foods is bound to help. And don’t ever think you whine – I love reading anything you write and days like these are a part of life isn’t it?

  4. michele Says:

    interesting… i was feeling down yesterday, too. hmm…
    anyway, i agree that it’s always best to try to get out and about and do a little bit of light “exercising” to beat the blahs. This morning I did NOT want to jump on my treadmill but I forced myself and when I was done and dripping with sweat, I felt a lot better. I realize that you can’t be out there jogging, etc. being pregnant and all, but those brisk walks will do a body good! Especially your mental body!! (Besides, it’s good for Gracie to get fresh air, no?)

    *muah*

  5. acaldwell Says:

    you are never whining, what you say here I care about, dont ever think you are whining!!! start an exercise regimen; start out slow by walking EVERY DAY. then join a gym and use them exercise machines they got there. what will happen as a result will be an easier pregnancy and delivery. “the more ya move, the more smooth it will be”!!!

  6. Chelle Says:

    I am sorry you are feeling down and I am glad you are taking Catie’s advice and pampering yourself. Also, that dish looks absoloopy delicious and I will be making it soon. Yay!

  7. Elle Says:

    Catie is a wise woman, and you’re cute when you whine. So there. Oooh the tortellini looks scrumptillyumptious. If you need any other tortellini ideas, I have a killer tortellini (EASY) spinach soup recipe that I’ll send you. Email me and it’s yours.

  8. karmacat Says:

    I hope your funk passes soon. Maybe reading the Little House books will help. I bought a set on eBay a few years ago. I still have a couple of volumes from my childhood, but I wanted the entire set. Just wanted it. If you miss this auction, don’t worry; there will be more. It took me a few tries to get a set without breaking the bank.

    Also, I am totally making that tortellini. Thanks for sharing the easy how-to!

  9. Yankeechick Says:

    You, my friend, are never a whiner!! And like Chai says, we’re all here to read what ever you need to get out. But, alas, I do know how you feel…..I often think that all I do is whine myself and believe me! I could do SO much more!

    I sure hope you snap out of your funk soon! If the new coats didnt help, maybe it’s time for some new shoes! LOL

  10. cardiogirl Says:

    Can you walk at the mall if it rains out? I know our malls open early, before the shops open so people can walk indoors to avoid bad weather.

    I feel your funk, sister. Right there with you. I’m considering purchasing a Full Spectrum Light Bulb, but they’re very costly. I should work out more at the Y, because I do feel better after. It’s just getting my stuff in gear to get outside of the house.

    I’m impressed that you have the energy to cook. I don’t. I don’t like cooking and I’m not very good at it. It all seems like so much work. Ugh.

    And last note, I’ve been watching too much SpongeBob SquarePants. Squidward’s last name is Tentacles but there’s an episode where they keep saying it wrong, like Tennis Balls and Tent Poles and at the end they call him Squidward Tortellini. And that’s immediately what I thought of when I saw your recipe.

    Enjoy your day!


Leave a Reply

