The Mind of Bluesleepy

No pranks here 1 April 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluesleepy @ 9:29 pm

Thanks, everyone, for your kind words about my college experiences.  I really wouldn’t have written anything about it, except that both Terri T. and YankeeChick asked.  It was just too long to write out in an email, and I figured I’d post it.  It’s actually been rather cleansing, though I’m sure you all probably knew that already.  I’d referred to all of this rather obliquely when it happened, as I started this diary about a year before things really hit the fan.  I didn’t want to talk about it directly because those people were reading this; we all had diaries over at Diaryland.  I’m the last one to have my original name.  I do know one person has another journal over at LiveJournal, but most people have given up writing.  It’s a shame, sometimes.  My roommate (aka, “That Girl,” as Elle has suggested) is actually a fantastic writer.  She really should have been an English major, but she went for biology instead.

Here’s a giggle from my college years.  My minor was linguistics, and most of my electives were English-related, which meant I spent a good deal of time in the English building.  I always hated having to wade through the cloud of smoke from the smokers standing on the porch before class.  Yet when I had classes over in the biology building (I started as a biology major, with an interest in pursuing genetics), I never had a cloud of smoke to wade through.  That always amused me.

I managed to make it though April Fool’s Day rather unscathed.  Art managed to get this close to fooling me with his Late Breaking News of the Day featuring the death of his favorite shock jock.  But in my defense, I was barely awake and hadn’t even had a cup of coffee yet!  Sure, I drink decaf now, but the heat of it does help to get the ol’ brain cells firing.

I’m just not much of a fan of April Fool’s.  I’m always so gullible that I get taken in by the prank, and then when someone yells, “April Fool’s!” at me, I feel so stupid.  I really hate feeling dumb, and to have people think I’m dumb.  I’ve been reading some folks’ previous pranks, and some are really thought out well and executed to perfection.   I wouldn’t mind being around some pranks, I just don’t like being the one to have them pulled on.

I’ve been taking everything I hear with a huge grain of salt today.  I don’t normally watch a whole lot of the news, and I rarely listen to the dj’s on the radio, so I’ve been pretty safe.  I do remember when some dj’s somewhere along the line tried to convince a town that their water supply was contaminated with dihydrogen oxide — a scientific name for water.  That’s not something to kid about, but I do think people should have done some research before they knee-jerked into full-blown panic attacks, concerned that their water supply was contaminated with a poison of some kind.

My own weak attempt at April Fool’s humor was to say to Kurt last night, just after midnight, “I’m pregnant!”  He applauded my cleverness.

I did learn something about this day.  Last night Kurt came into the living room with his combination cap in his hand.  He needed to change the fabric of the cap from white (like in this photo) back to khaki (like in this photo) so he could wear it with his khaki uniform today.  I was surprised by this; he always wears his garrison cap because he can simply tuck it into his belt when he’s not wearing it.  He explained that 1 April is the anniversary of the creation of the Chief Petty Officer in the Navy, and to commemorate it, he’s supposed to be wearing his combination cap all week.

If you’re interested in learning more about Chief Petty Officers and why they are a unique rank among the armed forces, please visit this entry I posted over at Saluting S.A.M.S.   Then you will understand why I am so proud to be a Chief’s wife.

 

7 Responses to “No pranks here”

  1. twisterjester Says:

    I don’t make a habit of playing April Fools’ Day jokes but the one I did pull off was perfectly harmless. I hope you don’t feel like I was in any way making fun of you! *Hugs*

  2. sleepyjane Says:

    I’m not much for April Fools to be honest. 🙂 And I haven’t been caught either.

    I see you’re reading The Time Traveler’s Wife. How is it? I was at the bookstore the other day and I *almost* bought it but then put it back down.

  3. michele Says:

    This is what you need to do: [ 🙂 ] Look in the mirror everytime you go to the bathroom (which may be several times a day if you’re anything like your BIL) and say to yourself, “I am smart. I ooze intellect. I am witty and fun, too!”

    You are NOT dumb. At. All. Not even close. Sure, we all do stoopid stuff, but you haven’t been dumb since the day you were born. Seriously. I remember when you were little and I’d teach you how to do something, it only took once or twice and you got it. You learned to tie your shoes from me, for example. I always aspire to be as smart and intellicutally witty as you are. I don’t know if I’ll ever get there, but I sure do try!

    *muah*

  4. chaosdaily Says:

    eh I bet the hat thing is just an April Fool’s joke!

  5. Elle Says:

    Yay for no April Fools’ jokes! Not really a fan. Most pranks I’ve ever enjoyed were more goofy responses to a person’s (either someone else’s or mine…) personality quirks, pulled at non-April Fools times and all had a great laugh about them. The local newspaper got me, (and Chuck too…) tho with a story about how the local roads dept. was going to exchange a huge overpass for the newly completed (and much delayed) bridge used daily by a great many commuters in town. Yikes, we were livid just for a moment…

  6. whatdayisit Says:

    I always hated April Fool’s jokes too. It just doesn’t make sense to me to make fun of or make a person feel foolish….so I guess I am just a stick-in-the-mud type of person.
    I read your blog about being a Chief. I was really impressed and learned a lot. Nice job.
    and that’s NO JOKE!

  7. WCD Says:

    Hey! I am following you on twitter:):) And I am glad to see you writing! I read and lurk a lot. I should post more.:):)


Leave a Reply

